We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful set-up for our family....Quaint, homey...”
other travellers have booked this property
1930's craftsman home next to the oldest tavern in Texas
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
1930's craftsman home next to the oldest tavern in Texas
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
8 reviews
1930's craftsman home next to the oldest tavern in Texas
Bedroom #2
Bathroom with Jacuzzi Tub
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
New Braunfels, Texas

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
MerrNeNe
Palmer, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful set-up for our family....Quaint, homey and nostalgic!”
Reviewed 13 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015
3
people found this review helpful

We had a great time here! We were able to grill and have S'mores one night. Went next door to the oldest tavern in Texas for a cold brew and great music. Watches the trains go by. Cooked as if we were at home. Two baths helped for no lines to wait in with small children! Only drawback, hard beds....great sleeping if that's your preference.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tonya S
Green Springs
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Would love to stay here again!”
Reviewed 16 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013
6
people found this review helpful

I stayed at the cottage for a week with my teeneage daughter. The beds were very comfortable and everything was really clean. The shower had amazing water pressure and the towels were big and soft. The cottage is close to RR tracks and there is alot of truck traffic but neither bothered me as I have the same at home. There is a bar next door but even on band nights it wasn't overly loud and the music ended at a reasonable hour. I just kept my fan on that I brought from home and had no trouble sleeping. The location of the cottage is roughly 45 minutes from San Antonio and it's minutes from Schlitterbahn waterpark and the shopping outlets. If you plan on cooking I recommend bringing your own pans - other than that the cottage is well furnished. There are security lights over both doors that are left on all night. Overall I felt safe. The only thing I didn't like was the internet connection only worked if I was in a bedroom, and the signal was weak but I rarely needed it anyway.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Service
Liked best: The beds and overall decor.
Liked least: Lack of pots and pans.
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
txaggiegr...
Cypress, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“It worked for us!!!!!”
Reviewed 23 July 2013 for a stay in July 2013
4
people found this review helpful

It is not the Ritz!!! But as parents of teenagers in this entitled generation, it worked for us. We were able to cook our meals and not go out to eat every night. This saved us a lot of $$$$$. It is close to Schlitterbahn, Natural Bridge Caverns, Prime Outlet Mall, and Spring Loaded (a trampoline park). The kids were able to go in the bar and play pool. The wifi was spotty which was GREAT!!!! We had to find other ways to be entertained. We hosted our own karaoke night in the living room. The winner each night got an itunes card. They LOVED it! It was so much fun!!!!
There were some issues.....the train. It is loud!!!! It is very close to the house. Our girls went out on the tracks and took some great pictures. The bar.....the music plays until late into the night. There are not enough bath towels for 6 people...but there is a washer and dryer so that was not much of a problem. There are basically no washcloths....so bring some from home.
As parents, we liked it. It would not be the kids favorite place to stay. But it was cost effective and convenient.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: could cook our meals
Liked least: train and bar noise
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StacyLKB
Burleson, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“It Was Okay...But”
Reviewed 8 July 2013 for a stay in June 2013
8
people found this review helpful

We really enjoyed our stay, but there were a few things that we wish we would have known before hand. We knew about the train, but there is not just one track, but two on both sides of the cottage, so there are trains coming and going 24/7. There is also a cement factory and rock quarry up the road from the cottage in which there were 18 wheelers coming and going all day long which was very loud and nerve wracking. A quiet and relaxing stay is not going to happen during business hours with the trucks coming and going as the cottage is right at the road. The wi-fi went out daily and had to be rebooted in which we contributed to the heat as the box was located outside. The bartenders were all very nice and accommodating and never once complained when we asked to have the wi-fi rebooted (although they did have to call the owner to ask what to do in this situation). The bar patrons did not keep us awake as the bar seemed very quiet at night. If you want to cook, bring your own cooking pots and utensils as what is provided is very old and just about unusable. We would recommend this cottage for older folks or those without children unless you do not plan on being there other than to sleep as there is nothing to do for the kids. The cottage is very old and could use a really good spring cleaning throughout. San Marcos outlets are just up the road and very convenient. All in all it was a good stay and thank Joel for his hospitality.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Adventure Of It All
Liked least: 18 Wheeler Traffic
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers People with pets
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
weirdtexa...
Pasadena, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Loved It!”
Reviewed 21 August 2012 for a stay in August 2012

We just returned from a stay at this cottage and absouloutly loved it, the house sits on a beautiful lot with large shade trees and outdoor seating for relaxing on the porch or in the yard. Inside is comfy and for me brought to mind several old family homes/memories. The location as the pictures show is near an active railroad track and we enjoyed watching the trains go by. Riley’s Tavern sits directly next door and while you can hear the music at times from inside the house it was not disruptive to our stay and the Tavern closed @ 11pm weeknights and 1am Saturday making sleeping no problem for night owls like us. We loved that we were 10 minutes to Gruene and 10 minutes from San Marcos, along with easy day drives to Wimberley, Luling, Austin or San Antonio for day trips. If looking for a carefree, casual, relaxing location this one is it; we’re looking forward to returning here soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: No assigned parking - this was only an issue on Saturday Night.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing