We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Place for Parents and Kids”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
La Torretta Lake Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Montgomery
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Place for Parents and Kids”
Reviewed 26 March 2012

My wife and kids (11, 10 & 2) spent a Sat/Sun at La Torretta. We had been here years ago when it was still Del Lago and in desperate need of renovation, but with the new name and features we decided to give it a try. We booked a Tower Lake View King room and requested a sleeper sofa for the kids. We booked a rate that included the $20 resort fee and a $75 resort credit, so we were in for around $280 before walking thru the door.

The entire check in process from pulling up the car to valet (no self park) until the time we were in our room with our luggage was 10 minutes. It couldn't have been any easier. It's also worth noting that we could tell as soon as we walked in the door that the place had been completely redone. The lobby area was very nice. When we got to our room on the 15th floor we were very impressed with the room. Everything looked new and it was nicely decorated. The bathroom was large with a separate shower and large tub. There was also plenty of storage in the room for clothes, bags, etc. There wasn't anything more we could have expected in the room.

The water park area is great for the kids. Except for the heated pool the water was very cold, but it did warm up a little as the day went on. The poolside service was very good and it is easy to run up the tab. The food and drinks seemed reasonably priced for the most part, but the menu selection was limited. We spent most of the day in the water area and time just flew by. The kids had a blast all day.

We ate dinner onsite at Prime which was in the building adjacent to the tower. You can tell most of the money went to renovating the tower. The building with the restaurant and meeting rooms had the old Del Lago feel to them. Anyway, Prime had a dinner buffet plus a full menu available. The buffet was average, but the kids ate pizza and it was very good. Dinner was expensive for 5 people, but not unexpected since it is a resort.

After dinner there was a movie for the kids out in the pool area with smores. The kids could watch while swimming or just sit on the deck. It was really nice and a great idea. The only thing they should have done is had wait staff available for food and/or drinks. I had to walk to the piano bar for drinks.

Overall our 24 hour stay was extremely enjoyable. It was expensive, but worth every penny. The staff around the pool area was very helpful and friendly and they are definitely making an effort ensure the kids have a good time. If the kids have a good time that makes a parents job that much easier. We will be back this summer.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank landomo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,305 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    448
    341
    239
    164
    113
See reviews for
555
269
16
221
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (406)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2012

Even though I was pretty disapointed that they only have one heated pool for the kids.... I still love this hotel. Staff goes out of their way to make your stay enjoyable- extremely friendly and accomodating. If you are going with children, wait till the weather has been warm for a while so you can use the other pool areas without freezing- great slides and toddler area.

Room Tip: Lake view (sun comes up on the Marina side) above the 6th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ratherbeinhawaiinow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 March 2012

It is a great place, the staff is very friendly (eventhough on saturday they were kind of understaff for the en of sprign break), the facilities are totally new. It was sorry that the toddlers' pool was closed, but anyway we stayed at the adults pool as it was heated.
The food is very good, not great, but very good: good value for the money. The rooms in the tower are very spacious and the bathroom is elegant and nice.
I'll come back when the water tempeture will let us all play in the lazy river and the kids pool.
BTW: the pianist in the lobby bar and the suhi there are really good too... while the little one was busy palying with the ipad.
Use your AAA discount... if you stay 2 nights, it will pay for the suscription.

Room Tip: any one in the tower is great... all seem to have a good view..
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Juan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2012

If you are looking to host a company retreat or other business function, you have come to the right place. La Torretta Lake Resort & Spa was by far one of the best facilities I have encountered locally and across the country. The amenities were first class and the staff second to none. All were courteous , friendly, and sincerely made you feel very welcome. The food provided for our company retreat was excellent. The variety was superb and there was something for everyone to choose; from those "counting points" or calories, to those who could enjoy hearty portions - everyone was pleased and well satisfied with the selections and quality.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mitch H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hendersonville
Level Contributor
70 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2012

This is a beautiful setting and a great property. The rooms are wonderful and the spa is outstanding.

The only thing that needs work is dining room organization. While friendly it lacked system and efficiency.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mikebaer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montgomery
6.9 km away
Best Western Lake Conroe Inn
6.2 km away
Super 8 Montgomery/ Lake Conroe
29.7 km away
Embassy Suites by Hilton The Woodlands at Hughes Landing
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.6 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Houston Conroe Near The WoodlandsR
15.1 km away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Conroe
15.0 km away
Days Inn & Suites Conroe North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Torretta Lake Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Torretta Lake Resort & Spa

Property: La Torretta Lake Resort & Spa
Address: 600 La Torretta Blvd, Lake Conroe, Montgomery, TX 77356-5309
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Montgomery
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Montgomery
Price range (per night): ₹ 9,072 - ₹ 19,375
Hotel Class:4 star — La Torretta Lake Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 445
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Designed as the perfect retreat for a team building experience or a family getaway, La Torretta Lake Resort & Spa is an escape destination located on beautiful Lake Conroe an easy hour north of downtown Houston that provides the ideal setting for highly productive business functions, extraordinary social gatherings, rejuvenating family vacations, and romantic couples getaways. La Torretta is an easy getaway – a place to go for a great meal, a workout, a round of golf, or for some pampering at the Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your La Torretta Lake Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Torretta Lake Resort & Spa, Lake Conroe, Texas Hotel Montgomery
La Torretta Lake Resort And Spa, Lake Conroe, Texas
La Torretta Del Lago Hotel
La Torretta Del Lago Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing