We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love the Sandhills!!!”

Monahans Sandhills State Park
Ranked #1 of 3 things to do in Monahans
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Nearly 4,000 acres of sand dunes with activities including "surfing", camping, hiking, picnicking and bird and wildlife watching.
Reviewed 1 October 2018 via mobile

I love to camp out there, it’s the perfect time of year for it. I’ve been going there all of my life, for birthdays, for campouts. It’s so much fun!

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank dgreen621
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (168)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"sand dunes"
in 39 reviews
"covered picnic tables"
in 5 reviews
"west texas"
in 9 reviews
"animal tracks"
in 3 reviews
"interesting critters"
in 2 reviews
"texas bucket list"
in 2 reviews
"visitor's center"
in 6 reviews
"bring plenty of water"
in 2 reviews
"great exercise"
in 2 reviews
"rv sites"
in 3 reviews
"dump station"
in 3 reviews
"per adult"
in 2 reviews
"big bend"
in 6 reviews
"whole family"
in 3 reviews
"gift shop"
in 4 reviews
"discs"
in 30 reviews
"sledding"
in 18 reviews
Filter

2 - 6 of 168 reviews

Reviewed 30 September 2018

The park entry fee is reasonable. There are camping and picnicking facilities. Be prepared for fine size sand in your shoes.

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank Gerald G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2018 via mobile

This is a small state park that protects an interesting area of sandunes. A small but informative visitor center, a short trail and a small campground are part of this park amenities. The campground has all electric sites and there are showers. Interesting vegetation including flowers in late summer on some of the dunes. Camping is $15 per night and the entrance fee is $4 per person per day. Beautiful for sunset and sunrise views. Close to the freeway so a bit of traffic noise at night.

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank Sarracenia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2018

We were traveling with 8 and 10 year old children. We went first thing in the morning while it was still somewhat cool and had the place almost to ourselves. The kids had wonderful fun surfing the dunes on the plastic saucers that we rented at the park concession and information center.
The exhibits there were good covering history, flora, fauna, etc. I would have liked an exhibit on animal tracks in the dunes. When we first got there we did a lot of guessing about which tracks might belong to which animal.
The restrooms were clean and within walking distance of the dunes.
We had a picnic at a covered picnic table before leaving around noon when it was beginning to get hot. I would recommend this park to anyone traveling through the area with children. It was a good break from the hours of travel it takes to go places in that part of Texas.

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank Mayelle12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 13 May 2018 via mobile

Interesting place with decent w/e camping. Only about a half dozen sites occupied on a Saturday night

Date of experience: May 2018
Thank 401allenv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Monahans Sandhills State Park also viewed

 

Been to Monahans Sandhills State Park? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing