We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another Bucket List Item checked-off”

Monahans Sandhills State Park
Ranked #1 of 3 things to do in Monahans
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Nearly 4,000 acres of sand dunes with activities including "surfing", camping, hiking, picnicking and bird and wildlife watching.
Reviewed 24 April 2018

Had always heard about the Monahan's Sandhills since I was a child, but had never been there. While visiting family, decided to see some things in Texas that we had missed while growing up here. We were nearby and made a special trip to Midland-Odessa to visit. It is a small area, but very impressive. The park ranger's are very informative and helpful. This is a wonderful geologic phenomena and definitely worth a visit. God is so fantastic in His creation.

Date of experience: April 2018
2  Thank HoopFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (168)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"sand dunes"
in 39 reviews
"covered picnic tables"
in 5 reviews
"west texas"
in 9 reviews
"animal tracks"
in 3 reviews
"interesting critters"
in 2 reviews
"texas bucket list"
in 2 reviews
"visitor's center"
in 6 reviews
"bring plenty of water"
in 2 reviews
"great exercise"
in 2 reviews
"rv sites"
in 3 reviews
"dump station"
in 3 reviews
"per adult"
in 2 reviews
"big bend"
in 6 reviews
"whole family"
in 3 reviews
"gift shop"
in 4 reviews
"discs"
in 30 reviews
"sledding"
in 18 reviews
Filter

10 - 14 of 168 reviews

Reviewed 16 April 2018

We had a great time climbing the sand dunes. It's pretty hard to believe these dunes are in the middle of West Texas, but they are.

The park is easy to find. Park rangers were well-informed and helpful. Lots of people came to sand surf. It's also a very large forest of oak trees which have adjusted to the arid climate and grow no taller than four feet.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank mmmrun81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2018

There are only a handful of places in the US to experience huge sand dunes and this is one of them. The State Park is not very big and doesn't take long to see. There are sandy hills at the front of the park, but it you want to see the dunes you must drive to the back. We stopped for an hour, hiked a couple dunes and got a satisfying look, however, you could spend several hours here if you want to hike up and down several sand dunes. Also, "sleds" may be rented at the information center and you can try your hand and riding the dunes. We didn't try it, but saw a few other people giving it a go. Sometimes they had good luck sliding down a dune, other times they were a bit stuck. There is camping on site, but personally I would only spend a night or two here. There just isn't much to see beyond the dunes. Oh, and be prepared for sand to get everywhere!

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank SLWS1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2018

At first we only saw the small hills covered with dead vegetation. We reached the dunes and they are lovely. Had I been younger I would've rented a disc and gone "sledding." The discs for rent are sturdy, heavy-duty plastic and rent for a reasonable rate. The picnic areas were fine, with good restroom.

Date of experience: February 2018
2  Thank LB-TX-2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 21 January 2018 via mobile

Going to the sandhills is always eventful. We normally take everything we need for the day and to cookout. You can rent sand boards for kids to ride. Always remember to take your sunscreen and be ready to clean your car the next day lol

Date of experience: January 2018
2  Thank wendethummel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Monahans Sandhills State Park also viewed

 

Been to Monahans Sandhills State Park? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing