We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“$159/night for Mediocre is Highway Robbery!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
La Quinta Inn Midland
Ranked #32 of 45 Hotels in Midland
Cypress, Texas
Level Contributor
105 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“$159/night for Mediocre is Highway Robbery!!”
Reviewed 22 December 2011

Well, you can sure tell the oil boom has hit Midland when the weeknight rate of a run-of-the mill hotel is $159, while the weekend nightly rate is $79. I have never paid so much for so little. No business center, no fitness center, no shampoo in the bathrooms. (Hooray - they at least provide soap!). Towels are cheap and flimsy. Rooms do have a nice flat screen TV and HD cable service, which is the only thing that keeps this review from being worse than "poor."

The "Free Bright Side Breakfast" consists of stale-looking flakes, gourmet cheerios (Fruit Loops), or old bagels, plus bad coffee, and watery orange juice. No hot items.

This place makes La Quinta look bad, as normally I like their facilities. I recommend planning your trip so you don't have to stay in what is nearly the most expensive place in Midland.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheInveterates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

173 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    25
    37
    34
    59
See reviews for
36
18
20
90
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Roswell, New Mexico
Level Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2011

The breakfast was not good . The waffle maker was dirty. There were no eggs and the juice machine was out of order. Then the maintenance man was throwing water out from painting around my pickup. The bathtub was in poor repair and there was not much hot water. Room was clean. House keeping just walked in without even saying who they were. It made me so angry I just left. Not a good experience.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NMWildfire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 9 December 2011

The only reason I stayed here was because the government paid for it. The place was filthy and in need of many repairs. Walking to my room I noticed five rooms being sprayed for insects; all the box springs and mattresses were being sprayed as well. Management couldn't get the bill right and there was no manager on site to resolve my issues. Bad experience; avoid at all cost.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adam3632
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abilene, Texas
Level Contributor
91 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2011

I've stayed here a number of times in the last few years (50+ nights) just out of necessity as the oil boom is making it impossible to get rooms in Midland-Odessa.

Many of the complaints registered previously are legit............

BUT --- yesterday's stay (11-17-11) showed marked improvement under the new mgmt.
- There is fresh paint inside and out, and the room was sparkling clean.
- Triple-sheeted bed.
- New flat screen with all the high-def channels (including the NFL channel - a real rarity !),
- Better internet (had been a problem).
- The bed even felt like it was a new mattress. I was amazed.

Also much friendlier faces with great attitudes at the front desk. In spite of being fully-booked, a request for a fridge produced a brand new one delivered (sticker still on it) in less than five minutes.

It is still an older LQ, not in the newest part of town - so I'll keep it at a 3 star, but I'll stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LoboTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2011

Went to Midland without a hotel reservation, finally got one at the La Quinta at about $150 a night. Hotels are scare because of the oil boom going on, so had few options. For the price, it was very disappointing. The motel was worn, needs refurbishing, but doubt that will happen during the current boom. Not really dirty, just old worn, and needing some maintenance. Would stay there again only if no other option or price more representative of value - i.e. was much lower.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Acme Tools
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Midland hotels
4.9 km away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Midland North
6.1 km away
Mainstay Suites
Mainstay Suites
#16 of 45 in Midland
15 reviews
2.1 km away
Wyndham Garden Midland
Wyndham Garden Midland
#30 of 45 in Midland
237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 km away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Midland
2.7 km away
Hawthorn Suites By Wyndham Midland
4.9 km away
Candlewood Suites Midland SW
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn Midland? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn Midland

Property: La Quinta Inn Midland
Address: 4130 West Wall Street, Midland, TX 79703-7718
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Midland
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 45 Hotels in Midland
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,664 - ₹ 6,478
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn Midland 2.5*
Number of rooms: 146
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your La Quinta Inn Midland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Midland
Midland La Quinta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing