We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adequate”
Review of Super 8 Midland

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Super 8 Midland
Ranked #35 of 46 Hotels in Midland
Reviewed 1 April 2012

Picked this hotel for the fact it is close to the airport and it has a pool. Maybe the web page mentioned the fact that the pool is not open, but don't remember that. The check-in person said it wasn't the season yet.
The check-in woman was going off shift and was curt; I think it was the young man's first shift. He gave my room number verbally and there were people present and later on couldn't answer some basic questions we had.

Smoking rooms and nonsmoking rooms are on the same floor so the hallways were smelly. Our room was clean and we appreciated the microwave and fridge.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank draePDX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (88)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

80 - 84 of 88 reviews

Reviewed 28 November 2011

Admittedly, we canceled a hotel room at the one-block-away Days Inn (it was HORRIBLE), so we were just happy to have a clean room where everything worked. The lighting was kind of weird (fluorescent overhead lighting on both sides of the wall; nothing dimmable nor subtle if one person wants to read and the other wants to sleep) but the microwave and fridge were new, clean, and quite handy. The overall style of the room was a bit strange; there was no tub, but the weird shower compartment was roomy, clean, and had hot water with good pressure. The bedding seemed old but clean - sheets were white and just fine, but the comforter and blanket beneath it had definitely been around the block a few times. Breakfast was mediocre, as most chain 'continental breakfasts' are. Eggo waffles and packaged muffins seemed to be the staples. Bright side: this place is MUCH quieter than some of the other local hotels; a few hall noises and parking lot noises were heard in the morning, but not a peep in the evening!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ellewlw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2011

I checked in on the night of 10-2-11. I waited at the counter for over 15 minutes before i decided to call the hotel because know one was at the counter. When i called the phone was just ringing off the hook for an additional 5minutes, still no one. I first thought something was going on so i should leave, and find another hotel to stay at, but it was to late and i had been driving all day plus i already had reservations here. So i walked down the hallway looking for an hotel repasentive, i made it half way down the hall and could hear loud moaning coming from one of the rooms, didn't think much of it cause its non of my business so i walked back to the desk. 5 minutes later the hotel Clark came walking out of the same room. I was in discussed. She then came to the counter and ask me have i been waiting long, i replied yes. Her name tag said Jennifer. She then checked me in, by that point i really didn't have too much to say, i just went to my room. Through out the night i could here alot of activity going on around the second floor, i even heard the girls next doors phones ringing and they would answer in call or out call 30minutes or an hour. I mean come on now what kind of place is this, from the desk clark coming out of a guest room to me being next door to a couple of hookers. After that i said the hell with it i left and drove to the next town and found a room in Odessa, Texas. I think this hotel should be under investigation by the local police for illegal activity and the owners or management should be fired!!!

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank oklasooner11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2011

First of all, there was a conference in Midland so nearly every quality hotel was sold out. We checked in, went to our stuffy room and could feel the coils in the mattress, I am not sure if the sheets had been washed. My fiance sat in a wooden chair, the leg broke off resulting in a 3 inch in diameter, 1.5 foot spear. He twisted his knee as he was dumped from the chair. The manager, over the phone, acted irritated to be bothered. The manager refused to talk to my fiance and said "do whatever you have to do".

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank oilman69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2010

The shower was incredible. Instead of the typical square layout this fiberglass unit had an extended rounded section with a grab bar that allowed you to stand out of the water. The large head could be pointed down toward the front of pointed at the back. This was great for the times when the water temp was adjusting. The water was controlled by a Delta faucet that allowed you to choose the temperature separately from the water volume. It was by far the best designed shower compact or otherwise I've ever seen. I want one if I ever build a new home for myself.

If you are staying there while making working class money as most of the people there seemed to be you'll appreciated the small fridge and a microwave that would allow for in room eating on the cheap. We didn't try the wireless connection but were disappointed that the computer downstairs was not on the web, They said someone had stolen a part and no one could tell us if there was a plan to get it fixed. I know there's a Best Buy in Midland so I don't know why they didn't fix it right away. The ice dispenser allowed for small coolers to be filled up with only a medium amount of hassle. It wasn't impossible.

The muffin and raisin bran breakfast was light but much better than nothing and they put it out at quarter to 6 which allowed us to get on the job before the brutal sun rose. The pool was somehow broken as well but the A/C was good and cool and the curtains blocked the light well. The inside hallway layout made for more walking but also more security and temperature comfort.

The room was clean and apparently the price was good for my employer. But we had to leave a note for housekeeping to get them to replace the cups and coffee we used. The hotel is not within walking distance of a grocery but Denny's and DQ are close by.

This is a good working person's hotel. If you have to be in Midland to earn your living during the week it is a good place to stay. There are other value motels closer to more restaurants and the Walmart which might be better for a long stay but this isn't bad especially if you have transportation.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FairObserver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Midland hotels
7.5 km away
Plaza Inn Midland
Plaza Inn Midland
#31 of 46 in Midland
56 reviews
1.3 km away
Wyndham Garden Midland
Wyndham Garden Midland
#33 of 46 in Midland
277 reviews
5.9 km away
Hampton Inn Midland
Hampton Inn Midland
#7 of 46 in Midland
293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 km away
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Midland, TX
4.4 km away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Midland
4.6 km away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Midland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Midland? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Midland

Address: 3828 W Wall St, Midland, TX 79703-7712
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Midland
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 46 Hotels in Midland
Price Range: ₹ 6,561 - ₹ 17,962 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Midland 2*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Super 8 Midland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Midland Hotel Midland
Super Eight Midland
Midland Super Eight
Midland Super 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing