We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,792)
Filter reviews
2,792 results
Traveller rating
971
1,186
445
112
78
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
971
1,186
445
112
78
Show reviews that mention
All reviews premium room half board air con plenty of choice pool area busy road family room star hotel every night plenty of sunbeds great holiday breakfast and dinner cleaned every day three star lovely hotel main road reception staff
Filter
Updating list...
24 - 29 of 2,792 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed at the Oro Negro in January for two weeks the hotel is lovely however the hotel is located in a very busy Road with heavy traffic in both directions, the transfer coaches drop and pick you up from a car park across the hotel, from there you have to make your way across this busy road luggage in tour , therefore l would not recommend this hotel to people with walking difficulties and families with very young children, once you get over this hurdle it is a really nice hotel to stay in

We stayed half board and the food was nice with something different each day , the cooking stations had a variety of food on offer from chicken, beef,fish etc breakfast was a bit manic for the simple reason that the sunbed grabbers are out by the pool area waiting for the sun beds to be unlocked which took place every morning at around 9.00, then all rushing in for breakfast, it was quite hilarious to watch just like a carry on movie this ritual took place ever morning, so it’s best to come early for breakfast to avoid this rush

The activities during the day was good and the evening entertainment you could take your pick ,we did not take part in all activities during the day, as we like to venture out of the hotel and enjoy the scenery, from the location of the hotel you could walk to Las Cristianos, or hop on a bus we took a taxi it cost around 8 euros for four of us, and this true if you want to go to Costa Adeje which is lovey and upmarket, lots of cafes and a market on Tuesdays

We took a couple of trips a Island Tour, and a trip on the Cable Car up to Mount Teide, where you could get out and see the mountain views it is spectacular and not to be missed cost around 27 Euros well worth it

Back to the hotel the rooms are lovely cleaned everyday , the staff are pleasant and friendly, some not so, the dining room staff work really hard to keep it clean and very attentive nothing is too much
Finally l would like to say thank you to the following staff

Elizabeth front office for been helpful at checking in

Dining room staff Simone, Juan Carlos and the lovely Vanessa who was at the pasta cooking station who served you with a smile

One disappointment and that goes to Jefe De Parada so rude and arrogant from day one you will find him at the cooking station tall so hard to miss, don’t whatever you do ask him to cook your food the way you like it cooked ,his way or nothing.

We did enjoy our holiday at the Ore Negro we won’t be going back unlike so many of the other guests who seem to be returning year after year, we like change, but have no hesitation in recommending this hotel

Thank you Ore Negro

Room tip: All rooms seem okay
Date of stay: January 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank marieanj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Firstly the pool view that we requested turned out to be pipe above the kitchen. The hotel categorically stated that no request had been made, which has been refuted by the travel agent and we have seen the email to the hotel.
The hotel also stated that they had no room to move us to, however the Kay card states that you can upgrade 'at a price!'

The highlight of the stay was my wife being refused entry to the restaurant by a very arrogant and unhelpful waiter, wearing the shoes that, not only had she worn for three evenings but, were also the same as a number of the women in there.
The manager was excellent, however we ended up eating elsewhere and also pointed out to the staff ever time consequently, any guest that I noticed that had been allowed in, wearing 'inappropriate' footwear.
It should be stated that no mention of a dress code is made in any of the hotel's literature.

We had a great holiday in Teneriffe, despite the hotel's attempts to thwart it.
We will visit the country again but will give the Oro Negro, a wide birth!

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank nigels190
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2019

i have stayed in the oro negro hotel more than eight times the last time was jan 22nd 2019 .I have no complaints at allI love this hotel and the staff.I will be back to the hotel later in the year.p.s.if you're thinking of comming to tenerife come and stay at the oro negro hotel you won't be disappointed.peter

Date of stay: January 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank PETER M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2019 via mobile

The staff are the main asset of this hotel, all friendly and efficient. ( Barusso in particular) The number of return guests speaks for itself, and reflects value for money and a well run hotel with good food and facilities. Our room could do with a bit of attention in the bathroom as a bit tired looking, but it was immaculately clean, and the sea view from the high floors is worth requesting.
Despite a large pool area and plenty sun beds it was quite irritating that a large number of gents had a very organised system to commandeer their choice of beds. These were then left empty until they decided with their wives to use them. Totally unnecessary. We just let them get on with it rather than join the scrum, we always got 4 together anyway.
On the whole we think the hotel is more 4 than 3 star, and recommend.

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
4  Thank Joasi23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2019

My Wife and i stayed at the Oro Negro from the 6th to 13th December 2018 and were given room 222 which was in a good position overlooking the pool however we soon realised we were sharing the room with an infestation of black mites which are similar to pin head size spiders. These mites were everywhere in all the furniture joints, tables, bathroom ,wardrobe even the bedside tables .I placed a drink on my bedside table and it was quickly covered in the mites coming out of the table joints.We had to keep our clothes in suitcases the entire holiday. I reported the infestation twice to reception, the first man, who appeared to be in charge, was aware of the problem and said the room would be attended to by a special clean however this never happened. I made an official complaint in writing to the TUI hotel rep and again when we returned home only to receive a reply from the Customer Report Team at TUI stating that in warmer climates it is acceptable to experience a few cockroaches etc. This was not the odd cockroach but thousands of black mites which ruined our holiday experience and would Ms Shaddha Purohit at TUI who made the cockroach comment appreciate staying in room 222. We expected better from TUI and the Hotel Oro Nero.

Room tip: Ground floor rooms have problems with insects .
Date of stay: December 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
4  Thank goldfield2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews