We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We stayed at Sol Tenerife 7th- 16th July 2012” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sol Tenerife

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sol Tenerife
Plymouth, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“We stayed at Sol Tenerife 7th- 16th July 2012”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2012

Myself age 36 my father age 62 and two brothers aged 33 and 29 stayed at the Sol Tenerife from 7th July - 16th July All Inclusive. The hotel was excellent a big thank you for Vesna for checking us in. On July 15th it was my brothers birthday they gave him a bottle o fchampagne. We were on the 6th floor in rooms 622 and 623 The food was excellent the staff were very polite and friendly The entertainment was very good Cara doing the mini Disco made us all smile The michael Jacson show was really good and Grease is the word. A big thank you to all the staff at the Sol Tenerife for a nice holiday.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Stephen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlos F, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sol Tenerife, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Dear Stephen W,

Kind Greetings from the Sol Tenerife!!

I would like to thank you for your great comments regarding your stay between us, especially the words you have used to describe our staff and services we provide. Be assured that your review will encourage all our team to keep working and providing to every guest with the best of our attentions.

We are very glad to know that our Hotel reaches completely your expectations and needs, and we sincerely hope to welcome you back again soon!

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,794 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    490
    953
    711
    362
    277
See reviews for
478
1,427
106
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (486)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
PORNIC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2012

This hotel is a cash machine. To my knowledge, they regularly practice overbooking, so you can imagine their occupancy ratio is around 100% year to year.

They have one of the best possible location in Tenerife: looking south, by the sea (beach nearby), along the very touristic footh path (most popular attraction by far).

Also the area is quite flat (no cliff) unusual for the whole Canary Islands, and convenient for disabled / ederly pensioners looking for sun (especialy in winter - see what i mean ? this is the hottest european place you can find in winter with modern hospitals and services (appart from french overseas territories, but quite pricey to visit: Martinique Guadeloupe, Reunion, Guyane). Don't forget your home health insurance MAY not cover all your cost if you go outside Europe,such as in Morocco, Tunisia, Egypt or in more exotic places - in case your turn ill, or worse need emergency services - things to think about if your health is fragile.

To me, Sol Melia know this an make anything possible to make just the highest profit possible, they know some people would come again and again because of their perfect situation.

Food is generaly OK and safe - Fish, poultry, is usually frozen and imported (world food you name it). You can check this, because the lorry delivers in the morning all their food supply.
There are lots of italians, and they usually stole bananas by dozen, so sometimes they put a sign "don't take food out of the restaurant".
Be sure to arrive in advance because it's sometimes difficult to find a seat at restaurant.
They have nice live cooking "a la plancha".
Croaches can be easily found everywhere in the hotel and even in the restaurant (easy if you get there very early in the morning, or at night, very big: up to 2" !, brownish specy anyway).
Also the restaurant is exceptionaly noisy (again the italians: the older they are the louder they speak; scandinavians NEVER speak loud !).

They have a fitness room which is completly crappy, it's a SHAME for a 3 star hotel to have such poor equipment and partially broken: Sol Melia profits again go to share holders instead of refurbishing or just maintaining this hotel in a good running condition.

This remark is also for the rooms which are really noisy. You can hear the neighbourg speaking nearby. Really ! I don't mention the discos at night everybody reading tripadvisor advices on Sol Tenerife knows it (take ear plugs !).
Insulating between rooms is made of paper (see pictures).

The iron fence (sea side) is partially broken and heavilly rusted (see picture) also the security is (thanks to Sol Melia) widly "invisible" (no security guard, just one or two CCTV cameras), so be sure not to bring your gold lace or rolex if you come in this hotel !

Good luck and enjoy your stay !

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank PERMANENTRAVELER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlos F, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sol Tenerife, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
Dear PERMANENTRAVELER,

Thank you for posting your comments on Tripadvisor. We regret to see that the hotel services didn´t met your expectations. This is not the standard of service that we use to so rest assured that your feedback has been shared with all the staff in order to improve our service.

Please do not hesitate to contact us for any further assistance that you may need. Looking forward to have other opportunity to welcome you to the Sol Tenerife.

Kind Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Playa de las Americas hotels

Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2012

room o.k but the noise from the stage at night was too much--do the crew, especially the girl in charge have to shout SO much and SO loud!!! Going all-inclusive as a hotel has certainly cut down the food quality and variety of which there was very little and quite often was cold. When I asked why the scrambled eggs were cold the manager said that the thermostat must have cut out as temp reached--I said it had switched off!!!.The hotel was a bit dated but the staff were really good, especially Antonia who ran the pool-side bar on her own against " the all- inclusiver drinkers" but stayed calm and smiling. Outside of the hotel, people running the local bars all said that the main gripe about this hotel that they heard from guests was the food was poor and a lot ate out--i agree.

Room Tip: Refuse room 513 if you want a good nights sleep!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank david s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlos F, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sol Tenerife, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Dear David S,

Thank you for sharing with us your experience in the Sol Tenerife Hotel. It is really important for us to know how was your stay, because give our guest the best service is our most important commitment.

Hoping we will have other oportunity to welcome you in the Sol Tenerife and provide you with the best of our attentions. Thank you very much again.

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Londonderry
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2012

Just back last night after staying for a week at this Hotel.My daughter and I decided we needed a quiet break, but this is the last thing we got.Admittedly I asked for a high floor, and we were situated in a small corner room,1172 was the number of it.This was obviously a part of a family room or a group room as there was an interconnecting door in the middle of the wall opposite the bed.When the residents of the next room were talking we could hear every word that was being said, it was almost as if we were sitting in the room with them.A couple of nigthts they came in around 3 o'clock, and of course our sleep was interrupted again with their high spirits({laughing shouting etc).It was a bit concerning and frightening that complete strangers were so near with just a door between us.The noise coming from Veronicas Strip was also very loud , with Pubs and Night clubs thumping out music to all hours of the morning,I also had a very trying experience of having a small evening bag taken from my sliderobe wardrobe.Although it was of little value, it was distressing that someone had gone into my wardrobe., I could not prove anything, I only know I had it out on the first night we arrived, and when I went to get it the next night it was gone. I of course reported it , and spoke to the manager,who apologised, but that is all he could do about it. I think from my experience, it is worth noting not to leave anything of any value lying around.The location of the Hotel is good ,with a gate opening out on to the promenade, but the nearness of Veronicas Strip cancels out this convenience.The staff in the dining-room were not very pleasant, although all staff are really hard workers.In my opinion this Hotel should not be rated as a 4 star as the decor needs to be updated.To be honest I think this Hotel would suit young people who want to be near the Night -Clubs on Veronicas Strip, but if you want some peace and quiet, I'm afraid this is not for you. I would never go back to the Sol Tenerife Hotel, all my experiences have put me off completely.

Room Tip: Corner rooms are small and calustrophobiac, and the balcony is also small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Margaret C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlos F, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sol Tenerife, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Dear Margaret C,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay at the Sol Tenerife. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

At Sol Tenerife, we continuously strive to meet your needs and expectations; therefore your feedback is very important to us.

We appreciate the time you took to share your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the future as well as provide you the best of our attention.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

we went 28th june 2012 in 43 years young ,partner of 29 , son of 22 and his gf 18 , the hotel is beautiful rooms lovely,clean, staff very polite and friendly, food at meal times for us werent great i found that a lot of it was under cooked but the snack time meals were great if u like burgers, hotdogs, pizza, chips and nuggets we ate out a lot mcdonalds, burger king and subway 2 minutes away nightlife was a stone through away we were straight out onto the bar strip and across the road from numerous clubs ! the only downside to it was the harrasment fron the p,r's tryna drag u in !! weather was amazing did find the sunbeds were always taken early but by about 2pm every1 had had enough so could get plenty then we will be going back same hotel aswell

Room Tip: we had low floor next to clubs so if want quieter mayb a higher floor may be better
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Teri23898
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlos F, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sol Tenerife, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Dear Teri23898,

Thank you very much for sharing your comments with us!!It is a pleasure to know that you had a great time in the Sol Tenerife Hotel.

We hope to see you soon in Tenerife and welcome you again soon in our hotel.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa de las Americas hotels
0.5 km away
Hotel Ole Tropical
Hotel Ole Tropical
#18 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 989 reviews
1.1 km away
Mediterranean Palace Hotel
Mediterranean Palace Hotel
#28 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,605 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel Troya
Hotel Troya
#26 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Cleopatra Palace Hotel
Cleopatra Palace Hotel
#12 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,569 reviews
0.5 km away
Catalonia Oro Negro
Catalonia Oro Negro
#24 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,733 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Gala
Hotel Gala
#29 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sol Tenerife? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol Tenerife

Property: Sol Tenerife
Address: Avda Rafael Puig Lliviana S/N, 38660 Playa de las Americas, Tenerife, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Playa de las Americas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Playa de las Americas
#23 Luxury Hotel in Playa de las Americas
Price range (per night): ₹ 8,114 - ₹ 22,228
Hotel Class:4 star — Sol Tenerife 4*
Number of rooms: 522
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This property is 3 minutes walk from the beach. Sol Tenerife is located 200 m from the beach in Tenerife's Playa de las Américas Resort. It offers 3 outdoor pools with sun loungers, a tennis court and rooms with a furnished balcony with partial or frontal sea views. The air-conditioned rooms at Hotel Sol Tenerife feature tiled floors and cheerful colours. They are equipped with satellite TV, fridge, desk and chair. The private bathrooms come with a hairdryer. There is free Wi-Fi available in the rooms. The hotel has a kids' club, hairdresser and supermarket on site. Sports facilities include a volleyball court and a small football pitch. There is also a massage service. The Tenerife Sol's restaurant serves international buffet meals. There are also 2 bars, including a poolside bar. Las Américas Golf Course is 500 m away from the hotel. Tenerife Sur Airport is 14 km away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Melia Hotels APAC and Expedia so you can book your Sol Tenerife reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Tenerife Hotel Playa De Las Americas
Hotel Sol Tenerife
Sol Tenerife Playa De Las Americas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing