We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“well worth a visit”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mediterranean Palace Hotel
wednesbury
Level Contributor
47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“well worth a visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

stayed here a few times and all i can say is wow wow, lovely hotel friendly staff excellent amenities and location have been upgraded because of over booking problem (not my fault) lol would highly reccomend this hotel.

Room Tip: pool view superb
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kymjo123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,839 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    835
    1,044
    598
    213
    149
See reviews for
859
1,392
50
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (730)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

Right, let me start by saying that the hotel is a lovely building with an excellent pool area and good pool entertainment. Nice location with plenty of nice restaurants and bars close by. The room was clean and the mountain view room was ok. Room size is quite small in my opinion and had two single beds rather than the double I requested. As far as drinks and food it's rather pricey especially as my grilled chicken sandwich came free with metal pot scourer wires inside it for 7euro and my hotdog was a colddog for 4euros. Local beer they serve is ok. They advertise a policy where sunbirds can't be reserved by the pool, this is an untruth as they were reserved every morning whilst people were eating breakfast. The pool aerobics and free scuba diving lessons are fun and a good thing. Right let me get on to what really bothered me, the reception staff weren't very good at all to be honest. Plus everyone around us was greeted with a champagne reception (except me and my gf) probably because we're not OAPs like everybody else in the hotel. Felt the staff didn't take me seriously due to my young age. Also on 3 separate occasions I had cleaners let themselves into my room, once whilst naked in the shower and my girlfriend was in bed. Again when we left a do not disturb sign on the door handle we came back and they had been in the room. My girlfriend had left her iPhone and tiffany jewellery on the side on this occasion, and in the hotels words 'we do not accept responsibility for any items not locked in the safe' don't go into my room then when asked not to!!! And the 3rd occasion was on our last day when we were supposed to be checking out and we are both in bed with nasty hangovers and the cleaner raps briskly on the door at 8.40am walking into our bedroom. I won't repeat what was said to her. My other major problem was the noise. Cab drivers shouting outside at 8am, paper thin walls and doors. Air con noisy. No extractor fan in bathroom wasn't always pleasant. Food was mediocre but not great. And the entertainment is ok for OAPs not much of a young couples holiday really. Doubt I'll go back again...

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James86mills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

Make sure you aren't in a room overlooking the the roundabout as the traffic noise starts very early in the morning. Charging for the use of the fridge in the room, I wasn't impressed with. I didn't find the staff particularly friendly, more business-like. The food certainly was a long was from 5* though adequate. The Mediterranean Palace was maybe worth half the €1000 we paid and in my opinion a 2* to 3* hotel

Room Tip: Not overlooking the roundabout
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Noel A H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teesside
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2012

This hotel is in a superb location, however on arriving at the room with our very big two year old son, we found a cot in the corner of our very small hotel room. we booked this hotel for two adults and a child not a baby. We asked for a bed to be put in the room, and a camp bed was brought in and squeezed into the room, after this there was no floor space. It was a Saturday night when we arrived, and this was the worst night sleep we have ever had, music was blaring until after midnight, motorbikes speeding up and down the road, we could hear every single noise, as if there wasnt any glass in the balcony doors. I enquired about the size of the room, and we were told we could upgarde to a suite for £260 for 6 nights. We decided to pay this, as our very active 2 year old son would have more room and less likely to bang his head on the shelves and drawers etc.

The decor in the hotel is very outdated, and expected more from our upgarded room- this is by no means a 5 star hotel, I have stayed in better 3 stars, yet there was nothing else to offer from our upgraded room except extra floor space. after our second night in our second room, our son woke up with a red rash on his face and arms, and was very itchy, we thought it could be a number of things, but he hadnt been in the sun much, we thought it could be the detergent they wash the sheets in. This rash got progressively worse as the week went on, yet he seemed fine in himself, so did not visit a doctor and we bought some calamine lotion (for 11 euros!) from the nearest pharmacy. On our 5th night at the hotel we returned to our room to find a swarm of insects crawling over the black tv stand, at first we thought they might be ants but on closer inspeaction they looked like some sort of lice. The tv stand was next to our sons bed. Upon closer inspection the insects were on the floor next to the stand and on the arm of the sofa bed. My wife and I complained at reception and a cleaner came to spray insect spray in the room, and our son slept in our bed. We felt sick that these creatures could have caused his rash. the next morning we went to reception to speak to the customer relations manager who we had spoke to the day before, when we asked them to change the sheets in the room because of our sons rash. She tried to palm his rash off as a childhood illness, but our son wasnt ill, he was just scratching his skin a lot and had been kept out of the son, after an hour of complaining, the only compensation she could give us was an upgrade and 60 euros refund of our £260 we had already paid to upgrade.

My wife wanted to go home, eventually I thought we would stay in the 3rd room for the remaining two nights and try and make the best of things. We returned to the room that evening to find the bedside table swarming with the same insects that were in the last room. I've got photographs and videos of the insects if anyone wants to see them in the future. I was told its a sub tropical climate but I have stayed in hotels all around the world and never seen that amount of insects in a hotel room. We have returned home very disappointed with our hotel experience.

The positives of this hotel - the location is excellent, the kids club is very good with a disco and nice play area & the staff are mostly polite and work hard. the bad's of this trip far outweighed the good's so it's hard to give a balanced opinion at this stage.

Room Tip: A tip to get a good room is to book into another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank michaelst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Letterkenny, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2012

We have stayed here a number of times, I do not have many faults with this hotel of the resort in general, I cant wait to return there. However, the bar and entertainment is poor to be fair. The rooms are exceptionally clean and the staff is very friendly and helpfull. We stayed here last summer ( 2011 ) with our 1 year old who got sick and came out in a rash, we went to the receptionist who was a young american girl who simply couldnt be more helpful and advised us to use a particular powder on our son before taking him to the hospital to see if it helps. Later that evening the young american receptionist came to out room with a bottle of this powder and explained she went to a pharmacy and purchased it when she finished her shift!.. I couldnt believe she took it upon herself to do this and as I offered to reemburse her she totally refused. A model employee !.. Would advise anyone to stay here, It is not a 5 star as they claim but the service sure is and rooms are comfortable, pool area is tidy and the resort do not allow you reserve a lounger with a towel ect. The pool at the clepatra hotel within the resort is amazing !.. excellent place to stay.

Room Tip: Pool Veiw rooms are quite good but expencive
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sean B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa de las Americas
0.1 km away
Cleopatra Palace Hotel
Cleopatra Palace Hotel
#12 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,792 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Sir Anthony
Hotel Sir Anthony
#3 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 572 reviews
1.8 km away
TRYP Tenerife
TRYP Tenerife
#7 of 14 in Los Cristianos
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,085 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Europe Villa Cortes
Europe Villa Cortes
#4 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,090 reviews
0.7 km away
Tigotan Lovers & Friends Playa de las Americas
Tigotan Lovers & Friends Playa d...
#10 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
0.6 km away
H10 Conquistador
H10 Conquistador
#24 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mediterranean Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mediterranean Palace Hotel

Property: Mediterranean Palace Hotel
Address: Avda de las Americas s/n | Playa del Camison, 38660 Playa de las Americas, Tenerife, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Playa de las Americas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Playa de las Americas
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Playa de las Americas
#20 Luxury Hotel in Playa de las Americas
#22 Family Hotel in Playa de las Americas
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,848 - ₹ 11,321
Hotel Class:5 star — Mediterranean Palace Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 535
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The perfect choice for a family vacation, this gorgeous hotel on the Playa de las Americas - the best beach in Southern Tenerife - has the largest, most exciting and safest Kids Club on the island. It is located right next to the best leisure center and shopping area of Tenerife - making it the ideal place for all members of the family to spend an unforgettable holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mediterranean Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mediterranean Palace Tenerife
Mediterranean Palace Hotel Tenerife/Playa De Las Americas
Hotel Mediterranean Palace Tenerife
Med Palace Tenerife

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing