We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
H10 Las Palmeras(Playa de las Americas)
US$ 175
US$ 170
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Apartamentos Oro Blanco(Playa de las Americas)
US$ 77
US$ 75
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Cleopatra Palace Hotel(Playa de las Americas)
US$ 170
US$ 162
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Aparthotel Udalla Park(Playa de las Americas)
US$ 123
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Iberostar Las Dalias(Playa de las Americas)
US$ 248
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Europe Villa Cortes(Playa de las Americas)
US$ 294
US$ 265
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
US$ 657
US$ 167
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
HD Parque Cristobal Tenerife(Playa de las Americas)
US$ 283
US$ 277
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Apartamentos Vistasur(Playa de las Americas)
US$ 122
US$ 113
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (1,981)
Filter reviews
1,981 results
Traveller rating
1,140
554
186
58
43
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,140
554
186
58
43
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssiam parkself cateringsahara restauranttotschildren's entertainermonkey beachmini marketfree busevery nightpool areafamily holidayliving roomlovely resortwater poloon site shopastro turfgames room
Filter
Updating list...
1,310 - 1,315 of 1,981 reviews
Reviewed 17 August 2011

I want to echo everything written in the 'Paradise' review before me. I too was worried having read some of the reviews on here but came away convinced some people will never be happy and/or have champagne tastes on a white wine budget. This is a lovely, lovely friendly hotel. Run by quite a small team with the logo of 'Be Happy' and we certainly were. The food (my biggest concern) was wonderful...our 6 year old daughter could have chosen burger, pizza, nuggets and chips (always on offer) had she wanted but instead had clams (27 of them, we counted), squid, prawns and tuna...and she loved it all! She also had at least 1 hotdog a day and numerous 'kids cocktails'....she had such a brilliant time that she was quite distressed at leaving. George (kids club) does a fab job and is great with the children. I ate so well that despite eating loads I never gained an ounce because it's all pretty healthy stuff...rice, pasta, salads, grilled meats....themes most nights e.g Mexican, Chinese, Italian..fantastic!
If I had to find negatives (and it's a struggle)...not much for teenagers and a long way to any beach so bus or taxi required. But this really is fault finding for the sake of it. Plus I'm sure it doesn't describe/market itself as such. The evening entertainment was surprisingly good for a fairly small complex. And there are no sunbed wars, in August..how good is that??! Our apartment was huge (small house) and initial minor problems (balcony door not locking) were dealt with within 10 minutes of reporting to reception. We really loved this hotel (its smallish size is part of its character and charm) and unusually for us will quite possibly go back.
Tip - go to Siam Park at the weekend, much quieter

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Originalpatsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2011

My there are some sad sad people who write reviews on here who are very hard to please.

Got back yesterday from 10 days at this resort, was worried before we arrived as to whether we'd enjoy it but this was easily the best family holiday we have had.

The resort is excellent, ideal size.... not too large, no queues or camping overnight for sun beds, great pools and the food was overall excellent.....not 5 star A la carte but what do you expect?! Certainly plenty good enough for us and the kids.

If you are staying here All Inclusive is a must as it is a little set back from the main town of Playas and the restaurants, and the beer or wine flows from 11am to 11pm.

Entertainment was there every night, this is perfect for families with young kids who dont want to tear off on trips every day but want somewhere peaceful and quiet to lounge around the pool with the kids safe.

Would definitely come back, staff very friendly and overall this is an excellent resort

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank will4710red
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2011

First ever online review here...so be kind to me lol

OK, we Stayed at the Green Golf Resort for the first time, in June this year. Prior to going here, I watched this site for approximately a year, as it was our first ever holiday with our two young girls aged 5 and 7(so I wanted something special for them to remember it by).

The resort is an all inclusive resort (but can also be self catering), comprising of both bungalow style apartments around the outside of the perimeter, and some two storey apartments in the middle of the complex. (one apartment on top of another)

There is a small onsite shop, enabling you to be able to buy those little bits and pieces (groceries, sun cream, drinks etc) if you so wish too.

There is also a small games room, consisting of a few arcade machines, some pay per hour internet access PC's and 2 pool tables. But in general it's a little poor, and kids will get pretty disinterested in this area pretty quickly (unless they are young teenagers addicted to facebook lol)

There is also a "childrens play area". Great....if you think that one small slide, and a small plastic house can be considered a "play area". This we did think was pretty disappointing...and should be seriously addressed or described adequately in the holiday brochure.

The Green Garden Resort is a bit out of the way from the town. It's advertised as the town being accessible by foot . I would NOT advise this, the route is down some pretty busy roads. Instead , you can EASILY get a taxi into the town for about £8.00 return, with the journey taking no more than 10 minutes. But DO go into the town, and DO take a walk along the seafront (or venture out to try some alternative food).
We walked from Los Cristianos to Playa De La Americas, it was a great walk and a nice day out. Also DO go to the market...it's quite an amazing little place, but the funny thing is that it is mostly ex-pats on the stalls. Very strange listening to a "cockney geezer" trying to sell car window cleaning stuff ha ha ha.

OK, on to the food...hmmm. Always a tricky one when young children are concerned. The food was (I must admit) a bit hit and miss. Breakfast was probably the best time for food, plenty for children to eat, and very much the same as you would get at home (bacon, sausages, scrambled egg, toast etc) in fact it was a pretty big spread in the mornings.
One tip...the individual rolls are rock hard, but there is french loaf sticks in a basket. Take one of these and cut it up...they were lovely and fresh and soft inside...very few people discovered this.
Favourite breakfast meal of the holiday, french stick loaded with bacon and sausages !!

With respect to food being all inclusive all day, it is not actually available all day. the "free through out the day" food didn't start until about 10.00am to 11.00am. And the variety was just either a burger or hotdog and some crisps. Obviously drinks (self service) were on tap pretty much all day from the time mentioned above, and consisted of beer, coke, orangeade, lemonade and wine (local varieties), all of which are served in plastic cups. If you wanted spirits you had to go to the bar, but there was limits of the type of spirits you could have. You could extend the range of spirits by paying an additional charge to "unlock" the full range.

Afternoon lunch was OK, but it was still a bit hit and miss with the children. So it was maybe chips a bit of salad and some nuggets or something. For adults, it was similarly just as awkward. Lots of strange things to try (or not). But generally, we normally get something from around the childrens side of the restaurant (as this area seemed less...adventurous!!). In general you should just about be able to meddle by and put a meal together.

Evening meals was the worse time for children. The food is mainly aimed towards adults, but although this is the case, there was nothing that was very familiar. Don't get me wrong, I do not expect pie and mash. But there were some strange dishes indeed (and the Spanish certainly love herbs with EVERYTHING) Chidren WOULD suffer at this meal time. The only saving grace was that the puddings were great, with some amazingly tasty ice creams (try the coconut flavor...yummy!!). I ended up mostly eating salads during the stay (of which there IS a good spread) the tomatoes were delicious. But do be warned, if your children are fussy eaters you will struggle a little here.

During the evening there is local entertainment. This was different for the first week, but repeats on the second week. Things like snake show, parrot show, Bingo, dancers etc. Good to keep the young ones occupied for a while at least (although these shows did start quite late 9.00pm etc).

There is a kids disco...hmmm another interesting event. This consisted of two Spanish people and a small stereo doing things like the macarana/YMCA etc. This normally took place by the pool. Don't expect a dance floor or lights. So again another slight disappointment.

The accommodation. We had an apartment in one of the two story buildings. We had the ground floor apartment, which in fact was right next to the pool. The rooms were bright, clean and stayed quite cool throughout the day (bearing in mind this was June). The staff were very quick to address any problems we had, and appeared polite and courteous. I requested that the childrens mattress be changed on one of our fold up beds 9due to it feeling lumpy). They attended this almost immediately. and all was fixed and comfy.
Childrens beds are fold up single bed type affairs. They are comfortable and easy to put up and down. Our two girls had no problem sleeping during the duration of our holiday (which was quite amazing to be honest...wish they would sleep like that at home!!!).

All apartments have a fitted kitchen, which does have some pots and pans, cutlery plates, glasses etc. Along with a fridge freezer. Being we went all inclusive we didn't use any of this, but it was handy to have if you didn't go down that route.

There is also a flat screen TV in the main lounge area, which we found handy for the children after coming back from the pool in the afternoon. Note: NOT ALL CHANNELS ARE FREE, YOU HAVE TO PAY ADDITIONAL COSTS FOR SKY SPORTS AND MOVIE CHANNELS.

The main lounge is well furnished and appointed. Ours had 2 bamboo style sofas, a machine coffee table and a dining table with 4 chairs. All of which were in good condition

The bathroom looked a little dated, with signs of wear and tear (one of the cabinet hinges were broken, cracked tiles here and there). The shower was always hot and powerful. Towels were supplied and changed daily.

Notes and hints on accommodation. If you want absolute peace and quite, specify a room away from the pool and in a bungalow style apartment. If you end up in one of the two story apartments, and you are in the ground floor one, it can get pretty noisy at night !!.

The pool area. This was pretty awesome. The pool was just the right size...BUT beware, if you have children that can't quite swim, then you are going to need armbands. Both sides of the pools are NOT inclined. They are one depth all the way across. Bear this in mind, it could be dangerous. There IS a lifeguard, although they appear to be there sometimes and not other times!!. There is a baby pool, but this is solely for babies, with a max depth of about 3ft.

So only one last thing to comment on. If you choose the all inclusive you also have FREE ENTRY to SIAM PARK. Tenerife's major water park. You will be given a swimming pool style bracelet by the hotel reception on your arrival. You take this with you (along with your passports) on the first visit to the park. The (free) coach journey is no longer than 5 minutes to the entrance of the park.

Siam Park is just amazing, but be aware that there ARE height restrictions to the rides. Most start at 1.2m height, and they are strict on that height. If you have little ones (under 1.2m) then there is the "LOST CITY" at the top of the park. Your little ones will truly love this area. At least six big slides and loads of water cascades, fountains etc (and places with buckets where they can ambush you).
BEST TIP FOR SIAM PARK IF YOU HAVE SMALL CHILDREN UNDER 1.2M.
Get to the park on the first coach in the morning. Head straight up to the "Lost City" and grab the deck chairs up there. You keep pretty shaded under the umbrellas and can see your children at all times. It is also near "Siam Beach", which is the main area for food and a locker location (and the massive Tidal wave BEACH).
Siam Park is very expensive to get in to. A family of four for one day would cost in excess of £100, so taking the all inclusive option can save you a fortune....we went 3 time during our stay.

So, after spending hours reading this how would I sum this holiday up??. Firstly DON'T imagine all inclusive as luxury. The food is bearable, but children will struggle (unless they are junk food addicts). The things for children to do ARE limited, but the pool IS EXCELLENT (but take note of the depth warning above!!). Free all inclusive self serve snack food throughout the day IS also limited (in variety).
Accommodation is GOOD and CLEAN....the main complex walkway floors are so clean the actually reflect like mirrors (BE WARNED...WET FEET AND SHINY FLOORS = DANGEROUS... DON'T LET YOUR CHILDREN RUN!!!).
The main selling point of this resort is SIAM PARK...use it as much as you can. NOT the selling point...THE FOOD. Do go into town and try some of the restaurants, they are good value and relatively cheap.
Did we enjoy ourselves????? Hell yes, if you can battle through the food issue, then you are home and dry. Would we go here again....possibly. What rating would we give the resort hhmmmm 6/10. What rating on the actual holiday itself 10/10 for sure. Just don't go here with visions of grandeur and you will be just fine.

To show you a few images I put together a trip adviser photo montage of most of what I have mentioned above. Please feel free to take a look, add me to you watch list and see where we head next ;O).

Thanks for reading this review. Here is the link to the trip advisor montage

http://tripwow.tripadvisor.com/tripwow/ta-0269-f906-3eaa?lb

Best regards.......and enjoy where ever you finally decide to go on your hols.

Yours

Crazygeezer :O)

PS Moderators: If my trip Advisor vidoe montage link infringes any rights please remove it at your earliest opportunity. Thank you

Room Tip: Do not stay in a two storey apartment. The noise from above can be quite loud.
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank crazeegeezer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2011

Travelled here with friends, had a great long weekend. Had a two bedroom apartment over two floors, apartment was great. Food, drink and staff all really good. Not the near the pubs and shops but only 7 euro for a taxi

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SophieC8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2011

spanish members of staff were so rude! no proper kidsworld/kidsclub as advertised! snacks between meals= hot dogs(14 days and it was hot dogs every day!!!) mini disco outside where u couldnt keep an eye on your kids without losing your table! not exactly the cleanest place we have been to. reception staff were not helpful at all. a long walk from shops, beach etc. A large group of us went and wasnt able to sit together for our meals or the evening entertainment as staff refused to either reserve a table or move tables together..staff wernt aware i spoke some spanish and they were talking about us in a derogatory way,we were told by certain members of non-spanish staff (who were brilliant) that it was because we were english and if we were spanish it would have been a different story! food was absolutely dire even for us adults who are willing to give anything a try...there was complaints all round from most of the guests while we were there....our family spent £17,000 on this holdiday alltogether and feel totally ripped off!!never again! waste of money!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shellzjj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews