We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good, four star stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Riu Palmeras / Bung Riu Palmitos
Ranked #17 of 134 Hotels in Playa del Ingles
Certificate of Excellence
Basingstoke
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“good, four star stay”
Reviewed 16 April 2012

It's the staff that make this hotel. Bar, resturant and pool staff are friendly, efficient and put in a lot of work to ensure your stay is enjoyable. The rooms, common areas and pool are very, very clean.
I had a couple of problems on check in (not the hotel's fault) and everything was put right for me by the reception staff/manager.
The Riu central reservation system left something to be desired in my experience - I had my booking cancelled with no notification. Once I discovered the cancellation (by a lucky chance), it took a few phone calls to get it reinstated. This could be a one-off problem though.
Rooms are small and, yes, you can sometimes hear your neighbours. But I wasn't disturbed at night by noise (inside or outside the hotel) at all - could be something to do with the measures in the bar!
The timed dinner sitting and the fact that you are allocated a table for your stay seem slightly odd and not something I have experienced in any other hotel. But this is not a big issue.

Room Tip: If you want a view of the sea, try to get a room on the upper floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HammyHants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

473 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    205
    213
    44
    7
    4
See reviews for
109
232
40
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wales
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2012

An excellent hotel, well organised, helpful staff, good food especially as it is cooked for large numbers of people eating at more a less the same time. It is about 20 years old and had a refurbishment about three years ago. Continuing maintenance is good and very little looks worn in comparison with some hotels which appear to have a blitz every so often. It is owned by a German group and is very popular with Germans. So what is the one thing. The sleep quality is abysmal. The walls of the rooms are so thin you can hear everything and I mean everything. Also there is a bar across the road which bumps into the early hours so much so that the bedrooms are fitted with a double front door to keep the noise out. My partner does not entirely agree with this but she takes her hearing aid out at night. Even then she can detect sounds. The silk purse and sow's ear metaphor is so true. For all the efforts of management and staff the miserly saving on sound proofing spoils the lot. So if you are deciding about this hotel, if your hearing is not as good as it used to be, you'll like it. If you are an insomniac you will not care. The people next door do not have to be particularly noisy but you will hear them snoring, walking about at night, talking, coughing. Oh and the tvs do not have any sound control which a lot of hotels have.

Room Tip: If you like the sun in the evening go for the South end. The opposite is true.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ResilientWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedfordshire
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2012

we have just come back from 2 weeks at the Riu Palmeras we thought the food and service excellent, waiting staff seem permanently cheerful. The reception staff helpful and the whole hotel spotless . The location isn't great as it stands back from the beach but the gardens are pretty and there are always plenty of loungers and seating to accommodate everyone. This was our first experience of a Riu Hotel, but were told all Riu Hotels are run equally efficiently. We shall certainly look out for a Riu Hotel at other resorts.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CaroleABedfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2012

We just stayed here for a weeks winter break and had high expectations reading the reviews on here.
Agreed that the location is good - close to shops restaurants and 10 minutes to the beach and great walks on the dunes.
Rooms are clean all with balcony and pool view.
The food is of a high standard for buffet fare, plenty of choice but we did decide to have a couple of meals out towards the end of our week.
Guess the only thing that let it down was inconsistent levels of service. In particular the checkout was really poor and we didn't find the staff to be friendly as reported on here but the were overall professional. We felt quite constrained that you are assigned to a particular sitting And table for dinner and it seemed like a hassle to the hotel staff and hard work when we asked if we could swap sittings one night as we were told it was busy but there seemed to be plenty of space. Guess though these arrangements suit some guests more than others.
Overall though it didn't impact on our holiday and we had an enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Leedsnicos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penarth, South Wales
Level Contributor
110 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2012

We have just returned from a week's stay at the Riu Palmeras and would thoroughly recommend it.

The staff are excellent, very friendly and attentive. The hotel is spotlessly clean and the food in the restaurant is good quality. My only criticism is that the exercise equipment is looking rather tired and the lack of showers & water dispenser in the gym area lets it down. I would say that the hotel attracts an older crowd, maybe 80% German, 20% British. Pool area & Bar are also lovely.The Palmeras is in a good location in the heart of Play del Ingles. Stay here and you won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: Request a higher floor for sea views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AndrewJohnH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Ingles hotels
1.2 km away
Hotel Riu Palace Maspalomas
Hotel Riu Palace Maspalomas
#4 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,565 reviews
0.2 km away
Seaside Sandy Beach
Seaside Sandy Beach
#5 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,202 reviews
0.1 km away
Gold By Marina
Gold By Marina
#1 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Bohemia Suites & Spa
Bohemia Suites & Spa
#2 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,271 reviews
1.2 km away
Occidental Margaritas
Occidental Margaritas
#21 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,213 reviews
0.9 km away
ClubHotel Riu Papayas
ClubHotel Riu Papayas
#10 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Palmeras / Bung Riu Palmitos? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Palmeras / Bung Riu Palmitos

Property: Hotel Riu Palmeras / Bung Riu Palmitos
Address: Avda. Estados Unidos de America,1 | Gran Canaria, 35100 Playa del Ingles, Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Maspalomas > Playa del Ingles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Ingles
#13 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Ingles
#16 Family Hotel in Playa del Ingles
#19 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Ingles
Price range (per night): ₹ 8,856 - ₹ 13,963
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Palmeras / Bung Riu Palmitos 4*
Number of rooms: 231
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Riu Palmeras/Riu Palmitos is located in Gran Canaria, Spain, and is ideal for enjoying holidays as a family, couple or with friends and soaking up the good atmosphere radiated by the island. In the calm and central resort of Playa del Ingles beach, you will find this comfortable 4 star complex that offers the service and quality that can be expected of RIU Hotels & Resorts. Everything you could need for relaxing and fun-filled holidays is within easy reach. It includes a fresh water swimming pool, a solarium-terrace and a gym as well as many water sports and two golf courses. In the surrounding area you can also rent a bike, play squash, mini golf or tennis.Credit cards accepted: Visa, MasterCard, Amex, Diners ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Riu Palmeras / Bung Riu Palmitos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Palmeras Hotel
Hotel Riu Palmeras / Bung Riu Palmitos Playa Del Ingles, Gran Canaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing