We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Austere and characterless”
Review of Las Tartanas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Las Tartanas
Ranked #105 of 134 Hotels in Playa del Ingles
London
Level 5 Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Austere and characterless”
Reviewed 10 March 2012

This bungalow complex is close the Yumbo less than 5 minutes walk. The bungalows are well fitted with nice kitchen,microwave,toaster,coffee machine,fridge etc. Mine accomodtion had been recently decorated.
The beds were ancient metal frames but comforable. The pastic matress cover was annoying.
What really lets this complex down in a complete lack style,colour or extras.A good number of the bungalows have been sold and are private. Most of these have high fences and netting to make them private. Most of the shrubs and plants have been cut down making the whole complex very austere and almost prison- like.
During the day despite having a large pool the place was deserted. Despite being central Playa my bungalow was generally very quiet at night. During the day there was building work going on which was very annoying and noisy from 8.30 am.

Staff were friendly and helpfull especially the cleaner.
Reception is basic and only open certain hours of the day. There is no bar or refreshment area.There is a pay internet station at reception but no wi fi.
If you are not bothered about the complex being so dreary then this is good clean basic and very cheap.I found it rather depressing.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dabdoob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200

73 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    20
    19
    5
    11
See reviews for
4
34
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2012

The hotel (bungalows) is situated between the Kasbah and Jumbo cc:s about 10 minutes from the beach. Ordinary bungalows, one bedroom one livingroom, some have probably two bedrooms. Some noice from traffic in the outer parts of the area. Sunshine hours depends on the situation of the bungalow. Number 148 has sunshine from 9am to 3pm. Number 145 only from 3 pm onwards. Reception open in mornings and afternoons (siesta). Klean friendly staff.
Even friendly cats and pigeons. The wlan from Cafe Florin reaches the area.

Room Tip: The bungalows are mostly in blocks of four. ry to get one that faces south.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WHISKY1943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2012

“BEWARE OF THIS DONT STAY HERE”


Reviewed 10 December 2011




i read the reviews and decided the good outweighed the bad, i could not have been more wrong. i went self catering i know they supply the basics but although had 3 sauce pans there was no cooking utensils except a spatular and a ladel and i wasn't prepared to eat fried eggs or soup for 16 days, the bungalow was dirty, there was no opening/closing times for reception, there is no onsite shop bar or restaurant as advertised, i travelled with a disabled friend and asked to be located either near reception or another entrance/ exit, we were shoved to the other side of the complex but there was a gate leading to the street but it was locked we asked about a key and were told no we could not have one. within 5 hours yes 5 whole hours i was on the phone to the onsite rep telling them we wanted out of the god forsaken place i could hyave listed more things we hated about this place but it would have taken forever my advise find somewhere else we moved to the carmen appartments and it was so different, very helpful in all aspects this made up for the dreadfull start to our holidays

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank duchovny6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Playa del Ingles hotels

marsden
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2011

Contacted Tartanas to advise we would be arriving late evenig/early morning. They replied `no problem ring gate buzzer `you will be let in and key to bungalow will be in door` Bungalow no. will be on notice board. Failing this ring one of two emergency relephone numbers(supplied) Not convinced however, we arrived at 2..00 a.m., gate locked, as feared no reply on buzzer nor any reply on either telephone number. We were locked out until 7.00a.m. until an early rising resident let us in! Complained tis o manager and left written report of incident, which I have since e mailed to them without response. Not a good start to the holiday as we were only there for five days and lost the first night. However, in spite of this, we thoroughly enjoyed these charming bungalows, which are well located, spacious with a great pool and amenities. would definitelt stay there again, but recveption needs to review, accessibility.

Room Tip: definitley request a roonm with a pool view, otherwise some bungalows face the perimeter street wall...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank d115817k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belfast
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2011

We arrived late so reception was closed we were buzzed in there was a note to tell us where to go bungalow113.
It was basic,clean and quiet lots of hot water and because it was October the pool was tranquil no kids and loads of sun beds.
The beach is a 20 minute stroll and the main centres are both 5 minutes walk.
The guy on reception is a real gent could not be more helpfull and would be ay home in a five star hotel with his customer service.
To sum up is cheap n cheerfull good value for money central and quiet,check other reviews about the dog owners lol we never heard a bark too far away!!

Room Tip: Aparently in July August ask for a room away from the pool as is full of noisy families
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank paul meekin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Ingles hotels
0.4 km away
Cordial Biarritz Bungalows
Cordial Biarritz Bungalows
#32 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
225 reviews
0.4 km away
Santa Fe Bungalows
Santa Fe Bungalows
#53 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
69 reviews
0.5 km away
AxelBeach Maspalomas
AxelBeach Maspalomas
#8 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
1,566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Los Tilos
Los Tilos
#86 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
78 reviews
1.4 km away
IFA Continental Hotel
IFA Continental Hotel
#23 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
2,429 reviews
0.5 km away
Hotel Riu Don Miguel
Hotel Riu Don Miguel
#17 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
1,422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Las Tartanas? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Las Tartanas

Property: Las Tartanas
Address: Avenida Tenerife 21, 35100 Playa del Ingles, Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Maspalomas > Playa del Ingles
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #105 of 134 Hotels in Playa del Ingles
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Las Tartanas 1.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Las Tartanas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Las Tartanas Hotel Playa Del Ingles
Las Tartanas Grand Canary
Las Tartanas Playa Del Ingles, Gran Canaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing