We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
IFA Buenaventura Hotel
Ranked #32 of 135 Hotels in Playa del Ingles
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 10 December 2010

Second time at this hotel in 2 yrs. Food fine even for two weeks half board. Nice touches e.g. cava on Sunday mornings. Smoothies and pancakes at various times. Hugh hotel but the evening entertainment is the only downside as its not our thing and it just seemed noisey. Great value, friendly staff, clean rooms. Fridge and safe cost extra and no toiletries a neg. but would def recom this hotel..... Wifi only avail on 1st floor but only 1euro per hr...

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Irishandfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (3,409)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,859 - 1,863 of 3,409 reviews

Reviewed 8 December 2010

thank god we only had to endure one night after a delay with our flight the recepition staff were RUDE the rooms smelled damp beds were awful i slept on the couch the food was the worst ever i could only eat chips and you had to collect your own cutlery
had to keep the veranda door open because of wind noise headbanning music till late
do yourself a favour and up to a 4 star if your looking for a relaxing break then avoid this hotel
mrs bell scotland

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cramp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2010

We normally spend ages reading reviews before deciding on a holiday hotel. However, due to a clash of dates with a family wedding, we had to re-book for later in the year. The travel agent could only offer a limited choice of resort and hotel for the dates we needed and so we found ourselves at the IFA Buenaventura.
We normally prefer to be right on the beach, so wouldn't have picked the Buenaventura ourselves, but are so glad we ended up there!
Check-in was quick and easy and our room was clean and bright. The layout was a bit strange because there were three of us, meaning that the sofa bed was permanently pulled out and in the middle of the room, leaving all the other furniture crammed in to one corner. There's no air-conditioning. Ask for extra pillows - you get one very thin pillow each and we all had sore necks the next morning!
It was a LONG walk to the restaurant and the way out - if we go again, we will definitely ask to be closer. There are two main pools - one 'chill-out' pool with jacuzzis, and one lively one where all the entertainment takes place. Both had pool bars and there were plenty of sunbeds, no matter what time of the day we turned up.
There is a Thai massage centre beside the quiet pool, where you can also have a fish pedicure for 15 euro, which was a brilliant experience. Book early for massages as the appointments fill up quickly. I had my hair cut in the hotel salon by a hairdresser who had been in German Big Brother and gone on to become a singer. He'll play you his songs if you ask! Best haircut I ever had too!
When you receive your room swipe card, the wallet it comes in is marked with the time you are supposed to be at dinner, as there are meant to be 3 sittings. We didn't notice this until the day we were leaving and although we turned up at a different time every night, no-one ever mentioned it!
Breakfast and dinner were both buffet-style, with all the usual choices. The menu leaned slightly towards the German guests but the food was good and there was plenty of choice, even for a fussy 12 year old.
If you fancy a change, the Las Piramides restaurant around the corner is very good.
The staff in the hotel are all very helpful and friendly. Nothing seemed to be too much trouble.
The resort is pleasant enough, though showing its age. Rather than streets of bars and restaurants, they are all grouped together in centres dotted around the resort. Kasbah has the liveliest bars. The Yumbo is the gay centre and up until about midnight is great for families. Later on though, it gets much seedier, so if you're someone who's offended by guys walking around in G-strings or fetish gear, better leave early! Also in the Yumbo are some good shops and the best bar on the island - Sparkles Showbar. It's a drag bar and the shows are amazing. Again, not for the easily-offended, but if you're up for a laugh, you'll have a great night out. Nothing really filthy but definitely smutty!
Another word of warning - walking back to the hotel around three in the morning, we discovered that the area between the Kasbah and the Buenaventura turns in to a red-light zone very late at night. Even with the prostitutes and potential customers hanging around, we never felt we were in a dangerous area. Of course, you can always avoid it all together by getting a taxi home.
All in all, we had a great time and would go back to the Buenaventura again.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kessyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2010

On arrival check in took 35 minutes and then when we got our key finding the room with the directions given was confusing to say the least and took another 10 minutes of wandering around. When we did locate the room the key card had not been activated and I had to go back to the reception so all in all it took an hour before we were settled into the room.
Finding cutlery and crockery at mealtimes was a bit of a challenge as they were in places which were away from the serving area and the layout did not help the free flow of customers. For instance peach and pineapple slices next to the pickled herrings. However we found the food very good and by the end of the week the odd quirk did not bother us.
The rooms were fine and quiet and a little updating would not go amiss. Missed tea or coffee making facilities and would have appreciated something more than just soap in the bathrooms. Got used to the hard beds and pillows.
Staff were helpful and friendly and entertainment was quite good.
It was a good half mile to the beach but there is a courtesy bus.
Have stayed in better hotels but I have stayed in a lot worse

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank maddor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2010

We stayed here in Feb 2009 and were really looking forward to this trip as we'd so enjoyed it before.
Our arrival was greeted with frosty receptionists who gave our room key which we knew was overlooking the cabaret pool so we asked for another room as we like to siesta in the evening. We asked for one on the west wing and was told that this would attract an extra charge of 50 Euros which got you the room and also a few mainly unnecessary bits like shoe horns, combs, sewing kits etc. Reluctantly we agreed for the sake of getting our much cherished peace & quiet.
The food has definitely gone downhill with any special treats and themed evenings all gone. The salad bar was very basic and identical every evening. No avocados or egg mayo which we'd had previously. Everywhere was evidence of cutting corners and economies being made - you could almost hear the accountants working away in the background.
The staff (barring the lovely chambermaids) were stand-offish and seemed overworked & unhappy especially at the restaurant. One evening there were no wine glasses left but no-one seemed bothered to help when I asked for one. I had to ask the head waiter and was made to feel like a nuisance! One evening we asked to use the wine which was part of our upgrade (and so paid-for at the hotel). We were refused its use in the restaurant - even though it was the hotel's own wine !!
The hotel also caters mainly for German clientele and does appear to favour them above other nationalities. I'm afraid all the stereotypical behaviour traits were evident by the dozen - some were even reserving prime location tables in the restaurant for when they were ready to come down!
All in all then a disappointment and we will stay elsewhere on our next visit.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank luvmyhols_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Ingles hotels
0.7 km away
IFA Continental Hotel
IFA Continental Hotel
#25 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
2,688 reviews
1.2 km away
Occidental Margaritas
Occidental Margaritas
#18 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
5,536 reviews
0.7 km away
Seaside Sandy Beach
Seaside Sandy Beach
#8 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
1,336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 km away
AxelBeach Maspalomas
AxelBeach Maspalomas
#9 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
1,754 reviews
0.4 km away
LABRANDA Playa Bonita
LABRANDA Playa Bonita
#17 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
1,252 reviews
0.6 km away
Bull Eugenia Victoria & Spa
Bull Eugenia Victoria & Spa
#28 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
1,633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to IFA Buenaventura Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about IFA Buenaventura Hotel

Address: Calle Ganigo, 6 | Plaza de Ansite, 35100 Playa del Ingles, Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Maspalomas > Playa del Ingles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Ingles
#4 Green Hotel in Playa del Ingles
#14 Family Hotel in Playa del Ingles
#28 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Ingles
Price Range: ₹ 6,023 - ₹ 14,119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — IFA Buenaventura Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 724
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your IFA Buenaventura Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ifa Buenaventura Resort
Hotel Ifa Buenaventura
IFA Buenaventura Hotel Playa Del Ingles, Gran Canaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing