We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,865)
Filter reviews
3,865 results
Traveller rating
1,107
1,485
821
268
184
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,107
1,485
821
268
184
Show reviews that mention
All reviews animation team british bar no air con banana bar honolulu bar quiet pool quiet side snack bar salad gran canaria big hotel great holiday pool area plenty of choice half board bar staff something for everyone
Filter
Updating list...
2,144 - 2,149 of 3,865 reviews
Reviewed 8 December 2010

thank god we only had to endure one night after a delay with our flight the recepition staff were RUDE the rooms smelled damp beds were awful i slept on the couch the food was the worst ever i could only eat chips and you had to collect your own cutlery
had to keep the veranda door open because of wind noise headbanning music till late
do yourself a favour and up to a 4 star if your looking for a relaxing break then avoid this hotel
mrs bell scotland

Date of stay: December 2010
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cramp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2010

We normally spend ages reading reviews before deciding on a holiday hotel. However, due to a clash of dates with a family wedding, we had to re-book for later in the year. The travel agent could only offer a limited choice of resort and hotel for the dates we needed and so we found ourselves at the IFA Buenaventura.
We normally prefer to be right on the beach, so wouldn't have picked the Buenaventura ourselves, but are so glad we ended up there!
Check-in was quick and easy and our room was clean and bright. The layout was a bit strange because there were three of us, meaning that the sofa bed was permanently pulled out and in the middle of the room, leaving all the other furniture crammed in to one corner. There's no air-conditioning. Ask for extra pillows - you get one very thin pillow each and we all had sore necks the next morning!
It was a LONG walk to the restaurant and the way out - if we go again, we will definitely ask to be closer. There are two main pools - one 'chill-out' pool with jacuzzis, and one lively one where all the entertainment takes place. Both had pool bars and there were plenty of sunbeds, no matter what time of the day we turned up.
There is a Thai massage centre beside the quiet pool, where you can also have a fish pedicure for 15 euro, which was a brilliant experience. Book early for massages as the appointments fill up quickly. I had my hair cut in the hotel salon by a hairdresser who had been in German Big Brother and gone on to become a singer. He'll play you his songs if you ask! Best haircut I ever had too!
When you receive your room swipe card, the wallet it comes in is marked with the time you are supposed to be at dinner, as there are meant to be 3 sittings. We didn't notice this until the day we were leaving and although we turned up at a different time every night, no-one ever mentioned it!
Breakfast and dinner were both buffet-style, with all the usual choices. The menu leaned slightly towards the German guests but the food was good and there was plenty of choice, even for a fussy 12 year old.
If you fancy a change, the Las Piramides restaurant around the corner is very good.
The staff in the hotel are all very helpful and friendly. Nothing seemed to be too much trouble.
The resort is pleasant enough, though showing its age. Rather than streets of bars and restaurants, they are all grouped together in centres dotted around the resort. Kasbah has the liveliest bars. The Yumbo is the gay centre and up until about midnight is great for families. Later on though, it gets much seedier, so if you're someone who's offended by guys walking around in G-strings or fetish gear, better leave early! Also in the Yumbo are some good shops and the best bar on the island - Sparkles Showbar. It's a drag bar and the shows are amazing. Again, not for the easily-offended, but if you're up for a laugh, you'll have a great night out. Nothing really filthy but definitely smutty!
Another word of warning - walking back to the hotel around three in the morning, we discovered that the area between the Kasbah and the Buenaventura turns in to a red-light zone very late at night. Even with the prostitutes and potential customers hanging around, we never felt we were in a dangerous area. Of course, you can always avoid it all together by getting a taxi home.
All in all, we had a great time and would go back to the Buenaventura again.

Date of stay: October 2010
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kessyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2010

On arrival check in took 35 minutes and then when we got our key finding the room with the directions given was confusing to say the least and took another 10 minutes of wandering around. When we did locate the room the key card had not been activated and I had to go back to the reception so all in all it took an hour before we were settled into the room.
Finding cutlery and crockery at mealtimes was a bit of a challenge as they were in places which were away from the serving area and the layout did not help the free flow of customers. For instance peach and pineapple slices next to the pickled herrings. However we found the food very good and by the end of the week the odd quirk did not bother us.
The rooms were fine and quiet and a little updating would not go amiss. Missed tea or coffee making facilities and would have appreciated something more than just soap in the bathrooms. Got used to the hard beds and pillows.
Staff were helpful and friendly and entertainment was quite good.
It was a good half mile to the beach but there is a courtesy bus.
Have stayed in better hotels but I have stayed in a lot worse

Date of stay: November 2010
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rod D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2010

We stayed here in Feb 2009 and were really looking forward to this trip as we'd so enjoyed it before.
Our arrival was greeted with frosty receptionists who gave our room key which we knew was overlooking the cabaret pool so we asked for another room as we like to siesta in the evening. We asked for one on the west wing and was told that this would attract an extra charge of 50 Euros which got you the room and also a few mainly unnecessary bits like shoe horns, combs, sewing kits etc. Reluctantly we agreed for the sake of getting our much cherished peace & quiet.
The food has definitely gone downhill with any special treats and themed evenings all gone. The salad bar was very basic and identical every evening. No avocados or egg mayo which we'd had previously. Everywhere was evidence of cutting corners and economies being made - you could almost hear the accountants working away in the background.
The staff (barring the lovely chambermaids) were stand-offish and seemed overworked & unhappy especially at the restaurant. One evening there were no wine glasses left but no-one seemed bothered to help when I asked for one. I had to ask the head waiter and was made to feel like a nuisance! One evening we asked to use the wine which was part of our upgrade (and so paid-for at the hotel). We were refused its use in the restaurant - even though it was the hotel's own wine !!
The hotel also caters mainly for German clientele and does appear to favour them above other nationalities. I'm afraid all the stereotypical behaviour traits were evident by the dozen - some were even reserving prime location tables in the restaurant for when they were ready to come down!
All in all then a disappointment and we will stay elsewhere on our next visit.

Date of stay: November 2010
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank luvmyhols_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2010

This was the fourth occasion we stayed at the Buenaventura. Since the last time we stayed, the main road near the hotel has been partially pedestrianised so it means there is less traffic around the hotel. In advance we asked for a high floor room and was advised that the hotel was offering a 'Comfort' deal for €25 per person per week which included a room on the 6th, 7th or 8th floor, bottle of wine, beach bags, a set of toiletries and the option of a late checkout to 3pm. On arrival we paid for this and was given Room 858 on the top floor of the hotel. We also hired a fridge for the week at a rate of €21 which is perfect for buying food and drink at the 'Superdino' supermarket down the road and keeping cold.
The view from the room was great. Perfect for the stage for the evening entertainment and you could see as far as the lighthouse in Maspalomas and the dunes.
A previous reviewer complained about the noise - yes it is noisy during the day on the party pool side and as this is where the bar which is open until 2am is located, it will be noisy in the evening. However, on arrival the hotel usually offer you a choice of a room on the party pool side or the other sides of the hotel - if I had been the previous reviewer, I would have asked to move rooms - I am sure the hotel would have been accommodating.
Since our last visit, the pool side now has umbrellas - a welcome addition. Happy Hour was in place for all the hotel bars between 4-5pm - all drinks were half price and if you use the credit card you are given as your hotel room key (topped-up at reception) to pay for drinks, you now get a 5% discount (this has reduced since last year when it was 10%).
The food was once again great. There was plenty of choice at breakfast and dinner. We ate at different times for each meal and there was plenty of choice at all times.
Not sure if the hotel had this in place in 2009, but if you take a wi-fi device (iPad or iPhone) you can buy an hour of internet access from the reception for €1. The wi-fi coverage included the party pool side and our room and it is better value than using the computers in the reception (€1 for 10 minutes). Remember if you are using wi-fi to turn off your 3G to avoid paying for accessing the internet using 3G when the wi-fi has run out.
We would thoroughly recommend the hotel to others.

Date of stay: November 2010
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sheffnick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews