We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,797)
Filter reviews
3,797 results
Traveller rating
1,077
1,472
805
263
180
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,077
1,472
805
263
180
Show reviews that mention
All reviews animation team british bar no air con banana bar honolulu bar quiet pool quiet side salad gran canaria snack bar great holiday large hotel pool area slush puppies busy hotel plenty of choice half board
Filter
Updating list...
2,002 - 2,007 of 3,797 reviews
Reviewed 19 March 2012

After reading the reviews on this hotel was abit nervous about going but when we arrived it was a pleasant suprise until we were directed to our room, it had to be one of the furthest away rooms you could have and was on the main road and very noisy. Was abit dissapointed that we didnt really get a good nights sleep due to the noise and also maids cleaning rooms above you could hear everything beling pulled along the floor..... if your up and the crack of dawn then not a problem but when your suffering from a night out and theres no air con and also no fridge in the room so your water is warm it does tend to get abit annoying. Other than that everything else was brilliant, didnt really explore the hotel but just stayed in the quiet pool, all the entertainment was aimed at German/ Scandy people so was very hard to watch any entertainment at the hotel so found ourselves at the yumbo centre most nights where the drinks are very cheap. We usually stay in the Bueno Aires but thought we would try somthing different will defo be going bk to bueno aires next time. Top notch hotel but not for English people this time of the year. Just to add the rooms were spotless and cleaned everyday.

Room Tip: Do not choose room only as it literally means room only. No fridge or any amenities to help you save money eating out when you are self catering
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank danielle159
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2012

We chose this hotel as my wife and her mum stayed here a couple of years ago.
Good clean hotel and ideally located - 5 mins walk from the Kasbah Centre, 15 mins from the beach and 20 mins from Yumbo Centre.
Not 5 star but rooms clean and plenty of hot water. Could have done with a fridge.
We went half-board which was good value with the Euro rate. Buffet style restaurent.
Lots of nice fruits and salads. Hot food alright but slanting towards Scandinavian/German tastes whom were the great majority of the guests.
Meal times are in 3 sittings which is allocated on arrival and the key-card is swiped at the till as you enter the restaurent. Our time was 730pm. It does say to attend at the correct time.
The first few nights we were able to go in early at 710-715 but the last night, the computer said no and we had to wait until almost 730.
The bars within the hotel reasonably priced.
Pool area clean.
Would stay here again if going back to Playa del Ingles.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2012

Not a good experience for anyone looking for a reasonable priced holiday.
Anyone thinking of booking here try and up your budget because this Hotel exploits you and charges you for every thing that you would regard as standard. If your okay with just having a ‘very’ basic room with no amenities and a rock hard bed with a very small flat pillow then this is for you. This hotel will charge you for everything else from renting towels, Kettle, TV remote /TV channels, Fridge, Fan yes a Fan (as there is no air conditioning in the rooms) and the list goes on. So by the time we added a few basic comforts to our holiday we came to the conclusion it would have been cheaper paying more for a higher spec hotel that offered the basics as standard.

Check in was a farce and although when we booked we had requested an elevated quiet non smoking room, but were given a room over the noisy part of the hotel. We went and asked for a quieter room, which they gave us, but were then later summoned to reception where they tried to charge us ‘extra’ (see earlier comments) for this room. It was only after a tense discussion that the female receptionist allowed the move at no charge, but the male clerk would have. Not a pleasant start to our holiday. They punished us later in the week by putting some lads from a football team next door, who were loud and noisy until 3.30 in the morning. We had only a couple of nights left so endured this because we felt it would have been a waste of time pursuing a complaint about the disturbance. They smile and understand you when they are taking your money, but are totally opposite when you enquire or try and raise a concern!

The hotel is a huge complex and very impersonal. The size of the recreational/sunbathing pool area is totally inadequate to the size of the accommodation. The result of this is there is not enough room for sun bathing and everybody is on top of each other making it impossible to relax or enjoy and the general behaviour of some grown people showing lack of consideration to others in such a tight environment was appalling. Also if you’re a non-smoker then it becomes very uncomfortable when all the others around you are smoking, as we found out every day and at different locations.

Restaurant was a disgrace and why the guests put up with it is unbelievable. There are long queues and trying to find a table was equally as bad. The food was okay; as long as you limit to one type of meal each day then there was a choice. The down side was trying to get at the food because to summarise the experience you could relate it to a rabid dog frenzy at feeding time.

We did not see/hear any English there and for once couldn’t say that it was the English who were the problem. There were a lot of people from the Scandinavian countries like Finland who outnumbered the Germans and the not so many Russians.

I did get the feeling the English are not preferred there by the hotel and the guests and I am a frequent traveller and can say that this hotel would certainly not be a place I would want to return to or recommend to anyone else.

Some of the issues written could be just bad luck, but equally the overall experience was disappointing.

Holiday 27th Feb to Mon 5th March as a couple.

Room Tip: Ask for a room over the quiet pool, but walls very thin and only luck if your guests next door are considerate!
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KevinandNatalie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2012

Ok so this is a 3 star hotel so understandably you are not going to be expecting the ritz plus points its relatively cheap & well located. We went as a party of 6 adults & 3 children HB, it took us an hour to check in!! It was 8pm at night after a very long day travelling they had put the cot in the wrong room, no apology just attitude for an hour from the receptionist. We also had to tell her then what time we wanted dinner all week 6.30/7.30 or 8.30 which i found strange? We chose 7.30. BIG MISTAKE
Rooms are fine clean & basic what you would expect from a 3 star.
Pools are all nice & clean, usual fight for sun loungers. Very few people swimming as water was ice cold esp in baby pool. The bed & pillow was the worst i have ever slept in, you are better off lying on the tiled floor.
Advertises a kids club, this never opened once?
Normally in a hotel you have someone showing you to the available tables, even in a 3star.
Oh not here, its a major free for all! We go for dinner at 7.30 but people had been going in since 6.30 /7pm so was they the 6.30 people or 7.30 people i dont know but nobody stuck to their times or got stopped? Well not 1 night did we find a table where we could sit together & we walked round & round for half an hour a night?! When we finally did sit down (all spread out in different places) the food was rubbish & total chaos, forget trying to get a fried egg for breakfast or some thing fresh for dinner as 500 Germans are barging you out the way. We complained to reception 1 night as we could not sit down at all any where even when we spilt up the 3 families, but they wasnt much help they got us a table that night but it was 8.30 by then far too late with 3 children under 5!! We ended up eating out every night so all in all we should have spent a bit more and gone some where else!! 1 night a man run out of the chaos dinner hall & was sick all over the floor, we went & told them in the dinner hall & they just shrugged! So people kept walking all through this sick to get in there. We put chairs over it (as we had been sitting having a drink near by) & told some 1 else & still no one came to clear it up! An hour later a cleaner turned up & there was none left on the floor because it had all been walked through & spread in to the dining area. Would not return, would not recommend to anybody.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Hayley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2012

I stayed here a year ago. It was a busy hotel with alot of germans staying here. I found the hotel staff to be rude at times and they often found it hard to understand what you were saying.

The location was superb for Molly Malones near the pit and the Irish Centre.

The rooms were basic but were kept clean. A couple of times the bed sheets had holes in them but we spoke to the front desk and they eventually sorted this for us. The only english tv channel was BBC World News which was a bit annoying after 2 days especially when your trying to recover from a hangover.

The best part of the hotel was Daisy's British Pub!! what a lovely lady and we spent some amaing nights there. Daisy and her staff went out of their way to help you. It is because of this fact we are travelling back here next saturday (25th) with 3 friends to celebrate my 29th birthday.

Lets hope the staff in the hotel are as nice to us as they are the other nationalities

Room Tip: Highier floors are better for less noise
  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bigborisbushkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews