We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“VERY good value for money!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
IFA Buenaventura Hotel
Ranked #30 of 135 Hotels in Playa del Ingles
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 26 July 2011

Stayed here for a week in July with 4 friends (all female aged 21-24). The hotel was fantastic value for money! We went half board but all inclusive was available... the drinks at the bar/vending machines/hotel shop are a bit pricey but then again they are everywhere else too! Would recommend buying drinks from a local supermarket where they are very cheap and renting a fridge for something like 3 euros a day (which we didn't find out we could do until the last day!).
The rooms and bathrooms are what you would expect from a 3 star hotel... clean, neat, TV present and working, but nothing extravagant. Plenty of storage. Beds a bit uncomfortable but what can you expect really!? As there are two pools, most rooms in this big hotel come with a pool view. Room and bathroom were kept very clean by the maid, towels replaced every day and 'do not disturb' signs were observed. The maid even left me an extra pillow after seeing i'd used an extra blanket as a pillow. Re the complaint about the lack of air conditioning: Most hotels in gran canaria do not have air con... as a group of 5 girls with hairdryers and straighteners etc on the go we were a bit concerned that the rooms would be too hot to bear but as long as you shut the curtains during the day, then open the patio doors at night it was not a problem at all. Slept with the doors closed and we werent too hot to sleep either! Gran Canaria is fairly cool at night so it's not a big issue unless you like your room to be freezing.... in which case book 4 star+ next time. Found all staff very polite and courteous. Slight issue... werent being picked up for the airport until 23.00, but had to be out of our room at 12pm. Couldnt book a room for an extra day because the hotel was fully booked, which I found a bit hard to believe in such a massive hotel. The usual cost of this is 25 euros which isnt bad if there happens to be a room available, but if you dont ask they dont even offer it. Courtesy room available to book for half an hour but we ended up getting ready in the room of another group we met so it was fine for us. Could be a bit tricky for families with children though!

Restaurant open from 8.30-11am in morning and from 6.30-9.30pm in the evening. You're meant to follow sitting allocated to you in the evening e.g. from 6.30-7.30pm... we didn't because we didn't even realise so I don't think it's something the hotel would make a fuss about! Food is what you'd normally expect for a 3 star... lots of fruit, toast, cereals, bakery goods, cooked breakfast. In the evening, salads, cooked veg, meats, etc! A bit boring, as the menus rarely changed but it was edible (I'm a fussy eater) and value for money. If you're expecting a la carte book 5 star not 3 star... you get what you pay for. Snacks available in the day for all inclusive, and reasonably priced if half board!
The animation team were a bit naff as far as I'm concerned but didnt really bother me... ok for the kids who were staying there. Seemed to be catered for the germans/spanish more so than brits. Water aerobics, volley ball etc at the pool everyday. Entertainment in the evenings seemed to be slightly better, suited for families, but we didnt really watch the shows! There are two pools, one mainly for families and one for younger groups.
The hotel seemed to be mainly comprised of... a few groups of young brits, germans, spanish, a few couples and german/spanish families. We didnt book with escapades but we had the escapades (thomas cook for 18-30s) rep anyway who got us to book trips. We booked the bar crawl (10 euros) and booze cruise (45 euros)... wouldnt pay for the bar crawl as you dont get anything from it... free entrance to pacha nightclub but you can get this from various bars anyway! Booze cruise was ok but still overpriced so try and knock them down on the price if you can!

Room Tip: there must be hundreds of rooms with a pool view so ask for one and you'll probably get one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank l123415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (3,332)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,784 - 1,788 of 3,332 reviews

Reviewed 25 July 2011

Overall the hotel is fine. Great location, clean and good pools. Entertainment was for my taste a little dated, the food in this hotel was a big let down. The "restaurant" where the buffet was felt more like a school canteen and was all to rushed. But my biggest let down was that there was no fans or air conditioning in the rooms!! You could hire an air con machine fir 60euros a week!! Or a fan for 35(which just blew hot air about). This made it extremely hard to sleep and was pretty uncomfortable. I live in Scotland and when people come
Here to hotels they dont have to pay for the heating to go on so I thot this was extreme. Im a
Regular traveller and have never come
Across this before. If I'd been told
This before booking I'd have changed hotels.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Nicolicious9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2011

Although the rooms were very nice and the food was good (we went all inclusive)the noise from the music bar on site was absolutley terrible. it was like being in a massive stadium with amplified music all the time, the music was played from 8am to 2am the next morning all day everyday. there are two wings to the hotel, the on the right is the noisy part the one on left you hear the music but not as loud, we aksed to be moved and although they did this for us, even on the so called quiet side when you closed your balcony doors you could hear the music word for word. I'm in my thirtys and enjoy music but this was terrible. there are many pubs and clubs near by and they all come flooding out at 3am -4am and this is where the noise becomes a problem.

I have been to gran canaria 8 times now and stayed at different places, i wanted to give this one a try, however i would not return for the simple point that if i wanted to not get any sleep at all then i would gladly pay to stay here. when your sleep is effected it does ruin your holiday.

I would not recfommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MattyMoo1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2011

Just back from a fantastic holiday at ifa buenaventure hotel, on arrival staff were very pleasant and helpfull and rooms were ready very quick, on an all exclusive package ,,the food was excellent and plenty of choice, The british bar next to the dining area was a great place to go at night,,staff very friendly and brian on the guitar was great. I would recommend this hotel for any age group, as there is something for everyone.A great holiday enjoyed by me and my partner.

Room Tip: rooms were large and very clean
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maureenking26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2011

Just got back from a week at the Ifa Buenaventura FABULOUS HOLIDAY every thing about it was excellant ,weather, food,staff ,rooms are spotless,if you get chance visit the English bar next to the dineing room they sell carling and old english cider

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank coventrykid4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Ingles hotels
0.7 km away
IFA Continental Hotel
IFA Continental Hotel
#24 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
2,627 reviews
1.2 km away
Occidental Margaritas
Occidental Margaritas
#19 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
5,278 reviews
1 km away
AxelBeach Maspalomas
AxelBeach Maspalomas
#8 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
1,692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Hotel Green Field
Hotel Green Field
#55 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
1,041 reviews
0.8 km away
IFA Dunamar Hotel
IFA Dunamar Hotel
#21 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
818 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel Maritim Playa
Hotel Maritim Playa
#78 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to IFA Buenaventura Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about IFA Buenaventura Hotel

Address: Calle Ganigo, 6 | Plaza de Ansite, 35100 Playa del Ingles, Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Maspalomas > Playa del Ingles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Ingles
#3 Green Hotel in Playa del Ingles
#22 Family Hotel in Playa del Ingles
#28 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Ingles
Price Range: ₹ 5,167 - ₹ 15,050 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — IFA Buenaventura Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 724
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your IFA Buenaventura Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ifa Buenaventura Resort
Hotel Ifa Buenaventura
IFA Buenaventura Hotel Playa Del Ingles, Gran Canaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing