We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great if you like partying, pool & food”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
IFA Buenaventura Hotel
Ranked #31 of 135 Hotels in Playa del Ingles
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 17 July 2011

For the young at heart, not those wanting a quiet life. The food is very good, the pools are very nice, the rooms are fine and everything is very clean BUT there are a lot of people here - we estimated about a 1000. The town is a 1960's urban jungle - an excuse for an all night party, the beach is big, brash and heaving.
Luckily we had booked a car so went out touring most days around the island to find some wonderful bays and restaurants, hiked up the the hills etc.
NO sure car parking so arrive after 9pm and cross your fingers!
Woken up most nights by late returning guests so take some earplugs!

Room Tip: Ask for a room over the toddlers pool -goes quieter after the hotel next door ents shut around 11.30
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank keith186223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (3,409)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,823 - 1,827 of 3,409 reviews

Reviewed 17 July 2011

weve been to this hotel 4 times now and this was our worst time
seems to have changed to be a 18-30s hotel
very noisy at night (well early hours in the moring 4-5) overlooking the main pool area as we had a room on that side
entertainment bit bland at night
main pool had bread floating in and also had a strange smell
overall not bad value
food good
maid service good
defo not be going back to this hotel

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jellybean205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2011

We are a family of two adults and three teenagers from 16 -18. Like many people we were a little nervous after reading some previous reviews. But we were impressed. And overall the hotel exceeded our expectations from arrival to departure.
We arrived before the official check in time and our rooms were not ready. But we were given our all inclusive bands which allowed us to get lunch and our bags were left in the luggage room provided until the rooms were ready. A good start. We didn't like the All Inclusive wrist bands at first but soon got used to them and found that far from branding us as second class citizens they were more like vip access to everything. And in fact we felt naked when they were removed on departure and wished that they still worked at the airport!
The staff were all friendly and polite. Sandra Santana on reception deserves a special mention, she was charming always had a smile for us and went the extra mile to assist with any problem or enquiry.
The hotel was spotless from the bedrooms to the pool area. The maid cleaned our rooms every day and all the public areas were kept scrupulously clean.
Being All inclusive we were concerned that the food may be restricted and repetative. But we soon realised that we were eating exactly the same food as the half board customers, with the added benefit of eating at anytime instead of timed sittings. The restaurant was pleasant and spacious and although always busy as a party of five we always found a table with ease. The staff were very efficient at clearing tables to ease the pressure and in fact would clear away your plate the minute you put your knife and fork down, to enable you to get you next course.
The food was varied with both hot and cold at breakfast,lunch and dinner. If you were a vegetarian or fussy eater you would find something to eat. It was good quality, well cooked and presented and always plenty to go round. There were queues for hot food but not very long and you are an holiday so whats the hurry? One negative was the juice at breakfast. very weak and watery.
The pools were excellent with a noisy one on one side and a separate quieter one on the other. beautifully designed with palm trees, a bridge and Jacuzzi's, very relaxing.
Unfortunately the hotel is prodominately full of Germans. This was no problem except that inevitably you had to get up early to get a decent sunbed. The hotel has a no sun bed reservation rule which doesn't seen to apply first thing in the morning. But later if a lounger is not used for over an hour the hotel can remove the towel to reception. I saw this enforced several times but in reality it was only when people took the mickey with several beds reserved but not used for long periods.
The animation team were brilliant and the entertainment was varied and good fun. Our teenagers enjoyed the evening shows which varied from full on musicals to karaoke and snake shows. Also interspersed with professional acts. The Chinese acrobats were amazing. We spent most evenings at the hotel, with free drinks and good shows why wouldn't you? To get a good table for the later shows you need to get there early which means watching the mini mini disco!! by the end of the holiday we were all singing' Head shoulders knees and toes' and a very catchy spanish singalong! well, we were on holiday and even the teenagers forgot to be cool!
The rooms are very spacious and clean with a good size balcony and a drying rack for your towels etc. We had been concerned about the lack of air conditioning. But we found that with the curtains shut against the sun and if you left the slidding doors open there is a gentle breeze most of the time so the room temperature remained comfortable. Amazingly there appear to be no mosquito's so you can leave doors open.
The only major negative we found was the noise. Not so much from the entertainment which generally was quiet by 12.15am.. But more from inconsiderate young guests who would make a lot of noise in the coridors when returning from a night out. Any time from 2.00am to 6.00am some would even continue their party with music and shouting on their balcony. After a bad first night We found that the answer was earplugs. But it is surprising how selfish some people can be. This is not the hotels fault but it might be possible for them to tell guests to be more considerate and quiet when returning to their rooms when other guests are clearly trying to sleep. Or to try to keep the young party goers to a separate wing in the hotel from young families and the over forties.
We found the area had a lot to offer for fun excursions, camel rides, aqualand, Sioux city to name a few. Plus the beach which is easily accessed by a free bus from the hotel every hour. Also if you miss the last bus back and don't want to walk the Taxi's are very reasonable.
Overall we were sad to leave and will definitely go back, and I would recommend this hotel to anyone as being excellent value for money and probably deserving more than its three star status.
One Tip, if you like cold drink at night and were considering hiring a fridge. It will cost you €5 per day. If you are all inclusive you will have access to free cold drink all day so no need and at night you can buy cold bottled water for € 1.20 from machines at reception and 2nd floor etc.

Room Tip: If you want quieter evenings ask for a room facing the quiet pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lewpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2011

Just got back from a weeks all inclusive and was so impressed I felt compelled to write a review! We are a group of 5 essex lads aged between 21-25 so were a little concerned before we got there that the Buenaventura would either be a) all germans or b) quiet....not the case on either points!!

The all inclusive is all you could really want alcohol wise and the staff literally serve whoever is next in line (whoever said that they only serve non all inclusive must be very meek!)

Maybe just when we stayed but there were atleast 5 groups of young,lively but to be fair all respectful british adults who we had a great laugh with!! Everyones very friendly and after all your on holiday!!

Nightlife is exceptional,'the pit' is full of up for a laugh young people and i did not see one crossed word between any holidaymakers in the entire week! (couldnt say that about magaluf,malia et al' though could you?!)

If young you MUST do the MTV boattrip...best laugh we had all holiday! Met some great people who we will keep in touch with no doubt!!

I can only speak as a young 25 year old brit but I would definitely reccommend this hotel and resort to a similar up for it crowd. For families...not sure,it probably depends on the age of your kids.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank JamesEssex9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2011

Just returned from a week at the Buenaventura, check in quick, rooms large and spacious. Beds undoubtedly hard ! Staff friendly especially the animation team that were great. Shower room provided for late check out free of charge, just ask at reception.
Safe available for 14 Euros per week. which I thought was reasonable.
Restaurant is self service, and food has a good choice, although slightly repetitive. For AI guests dinner can be taken at any time, otherwise you are allocated one of three sittings. There seemed no one in charge of the restaurant and at dinner it could be chaotic, people wandering around looking for a table and one guy serving drinks for the whole restaurant.
AI drinks were not great, to be honest the worst AI drinks I have experienced, watered down, and no bottled water included.
Three lovely swimming pools, towards the end of our stay,the no reserving of sunbeds rule was being enforced, which was a good thing, as some had been reserved early morning and not used until the afternoon!
The hotel was very noisy some nights, people returning at 5,6 am and being VERY loud, and rowdy, running down corridoors, slamming doors,shouting across the balconies. I would be really concerned if I had, had small children asleep.
Overall a good hotel, but more suitable for families out of peak season. As we left the hotel, the wide range of ages and nationalities of the guests was being overtaken by younger larger groups.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank l65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Ingles hotels
0.7 km away
IFA Continental Hotel
IFA Continental Hotel
#25 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
2,688 reviews
1.2 km away
Occidental Margaritas
Occidental Margaritas
#18 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
5,533 reviews
0.7 km away
Seaside Sandy Beach
Seaside Sandy Beach
#8 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
1,336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 km away
AxelBeach Maspalomas
AxelBeach Maspalomas
#9 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
1,751 reviews
0.4 km away
LABRANDA Playa Bonita
LABRANDA Playa Bonita
#17 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
1,251 reviews
0.6 km away
Bull Eugenia Victoria & Spa
Bull Eugenia Victoria & Spa
#27 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
1,631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to IFA Buenaventura Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about IFA Buenaventura Hotel

Address: Calle Ganigo, 6 | Plaza de Ansite, 35100 Playa del Ingles, Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Maspalomas > Playa del Ingles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Ingles
#4 Green Hotel in Playa del Ingles
#14 Family Hotel in Playa del Ingles
#28 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Ingles
Price Range: ₹ 5,932 - ₹ 14,249 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — IFA Buenaventura Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 724
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your IFA Buenaventura Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ifa Buenaventura Resort
Hotel Ifa Buenaventura
IFA Buenaventura Hotel Playa Del Ingles, Gran Canaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing