We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,800)
Filter reviews
3,800 results
Traveller rating
1,077
1,472
808
263
180
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,077
1,472
808
263
180
Show reviews that mention
All reviews animation team british bar no air con banana bar honolulu bar quiet pool quiet side salad gran canaria snack bar great holiday large hotel pool area slush puppies busy hotel plenty of choice half board
Filter
Updating list...
2,063 - 2,068 of 3,800 reviews
Reviewed 17 July 2011

We are a family of two adults and three teenagers from 16 -18. Like many people we were a little nervous after reading some previous reviews. But we were impressed. And overall the hotel exceeded our expectations from arrival to departure.
We arrived before the official check in time and our rooms were not ready. But we were given our all inclusive bands which allowed us to get lunch and our bags were left in the luggage room provided until the rooms were ready. A good start. We didn't like the All Inclusive wrist bands at first but soon got used to them and found that far from branding us as second class citizens they were more like vip access to everything. And in fact we felt naked when they were removed on departure and wished that they still worked at the airport!
The staff were all friendly and polite. Sandra Santana on reception deserves a special mention, she was charming always had a smile for us and went the extra mile to assist with any problem or enquiry.
The hotel was spotless from the bedrooms to the pool area. The maid cleaned our rooms every day and all the public areas were kept scrupulously clean.
Being All inclusive we were concerned that the food may be restricted and repetative. But we soon realised that we were eating exactly the same food as the half board customers, with the added benefit of eating at anytime instead of timed sittings. The restaurant was pleasant and spacious and although always busy as a party of five we always found a table with ease. The staff were very efficient at clearing tables to ease the pressure and in fact would clear away your plate the minute you put your knife and fork down, to enable you to get you next course.
The food was varied with both hot and cold at breakfast,lunch and dinner. If you were a vegetarian or fussy eater you would find something to eat. It was good quality, well cooked and presented and always plenty to go round. There were queues for hot food but not very long and you are an holiday so whats the hurry? One negative was the juice at breakfast. very weak and watery.
The pools were excellent with a noisy one on one side and a separate quieter one on the other. beautifully designed with palm trees, a bridge and Jacuzzi's, very relaxing.
Unfortunately the hotel is prodominately full of Germans. This was no problem except that inevitably you had to get up early to get a decent sunbed. The hotel has a no sun bed reservation rule which doesn't seen to apply first thing in the morning. But later if a lounger is not used for over an hour the hotel can remove the towel to reception. I saw this enforced several times but in reality it was only when people took the mickey with several beds reserved but not used for long periods.
The animation team were brilliant and the entertainment was varied and good fun. Our teenagers enjoyed the evening shows which varied from full on musicals to karaoke and snake shows. Also interspersed with professional acts. The Chinese acrobats were amazing. We spent most evenings at the hotel, with free drinks and good shows why wouldn't you? To get a good table for the later shows you need to get there early which means watching the mini mini disco!! by the end of the holiday we were all singing' Head shoulders knees and toes' and a very catchy spanish singalong! well, we were on holiday and even the teenagers forgot to be cool!
The rooms are very spacious and clean with a good size balcony and a drying rack for your towels etc. We had been concerned about the lack of air conditioning. But we found that with the curtains shut against the sun and if you left the slidding doors open there is a gentle breeze most of the time so the room temperature remained comfortable. Amazingly there appear to be no mosquito's so you can leave doors open.
The only major negative we found was the noise. Not so much from the entertainment which generally was quiet by 12.15am.. But more from inconsiderate young guests who would make a lot of noise in the coridors when returning from a night out. Any time from 2.00am to 6.00am some would even continue their party with music and shouting on their balcony. After a bad first night We found that the answer was earplugs. But it is surprising how selfish some people can be. This is not the hotels fault but it might be possible for them to tell guests to be more considerate and quiet when returning to their rooms when other guests are clearly trying to sleep. Or to try to keep the young party goers to a separate wing in the hotel from young families and the over forties.
We found the area had a lot to offer for fun excursions, camel rides, aqualand, Sioux city to name a few. Plus the beach which is easily accessed by a free bus from the hotel every hour. Also if you miss the last bus back and don't want to walk the Taxi's are very reasonable.
Overall we were sad to leave and will definitely go back, and I would recommend this hotel to anyone as being excellent value for money and probably deserving more than its three star status.
One Tip, if you like cold drink at night and were considering hiring a fridge. It will cost you €5 per day. If you are all inclusive you will have access to free cold drink all day so no need and at night you can buy cold bottled water for € 1.20 from machines at reception and 2nd floor etc.

Room Tip: If you want quieter evenings ask for a room facing the quiet pool
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lewpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2011

Just got back from a weeks all inclusive and was so impressed I felt compelled to write a review! We are a group of 5 essex lads aged between 21-25 so were a little concerned before we got there that the Buenaventura would either be a) all germans or b) quiet....not the case on either points!!

The all inclusive is all you could really want alcohol wise and the staff literally serve whoever is next in line (whoever said that they only serve non all inclusive must be very meek!)

Maybe just when we stayed but there were atleast 5 groups of young,lively but to be fair all respectful british adults who we had a great laugh with!! Everyones very friendly and after all your on holiday!!

Nightlife is exceptional,'the pit' is full of up for a laugh young people and i did not see one crossed word between any holidaymakers in the entire week! (couldnt say that about magaluf,malia et al' though could you?!)

If young you MUST do the MTV boattrip...best laugh we had all holiday! Met some great people who we will keep in touch with no doubt!!

I can only speak as a young 25 year old brit but I would definitely reccommend this hotel and resort to a similar up for it crowd. For families...not sure,it probably depends on the age of your kids.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank JamesEssex9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2011

Just returned from a week at the Buenaventura, check in quick, rooms large and spacious. Beds undoubtedly hard ! Staff friendly especially the animation team that were great. Shower room provided for late check out free of charge, just ask at reception.
Safe available for 14 Euros per week. which I thought was reasonable.
Restaurant is self service, and food has a good choice, although slightly repetitive. For AI guests dinner can be taken at any time, otherwise you are allocated one of three sittings. There seemed no one in charge of the restaurant and at dinner it could be chaotic, people wandering around looking for a table and one guy serving drinks for the whole restaurant.
AI drinks were not great, to be honest the worst AI drinks I have experienced, watered down, and no bottled water included.
Three lovely swimming pools, towards the end of our stay,the no reserving of sunbeds rule was being enforced, which was a good thing, as some had been reserved early morning and not used until the afternoon!
The hotel was very noisy some nights, people returning at 5,6 am and being VERY loud, and rowdy, running down corridoors, slamming doors,shouting across the balconies. I would be really concerned if I had, had small children asleep.
Overall a good hotel, but more suitable for families out of peak season. As we left the hotel, the wide range of ages and nationalities of the guests was being overtaken by younger larger groups.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank l65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2011

OK here goes, i will try to write a totally truthful review because i count on these when i book hotels, after looking at trip advisor.

But before you read on... we did have a great time, so i may be biased...lol

Firstly this is a big hotel... it has 724 rooms - we asked!
Therefore you have alot of people around, so sunbeds are always a premium, however i found that up til 9.30 you are ok for one in at least one of the pools.

The pools are never too busy, but do have alot of rules... no inflatables, no jumping in etc.... once again, its understandable given the size of the hotel, it could get out of control easily. But our 7 yr old was a bit disapointed about this.

The rooms are a good size and as with the whole hotel, very very clean.Maid was in every day...
Balconies are a decent size, if you are going i would recommend a room at least on the 4th floor as there are a lot of trees in the grounds which would obscure your view.
I found the beds hard, but thats personal choice.
The hotel has quiet sides and noisier sides, so i guess its luck of the draw as far as how quiet it is, we got noise from an adjacent hotel but it stopped at 12pm.
Buy earplugs if you are bothered...

Staff on the whole are pleasant and helpful, there was a couple who appeared less helpful but not rude or anything.

Food is out of this world, excellent choice and different dishes most days. The breakfasts are the same, but lunch and dinner are varied..... you will put on weight.
One thing tho.... the restuarant is a bit of a muddle, we quickly realised it was easier to get the seat, then go up individually for the food. Theres cards on the table to say if you are finished or just away getting more food.

The drinks are perfectly good... try the honey rum, its lovely!

Our child loved the evenings entertainment, therefore we spent most evenings there.Its a good show each night, they try their hearts out and do seem to love their work. Even if the germans dont give them much feed back...lol

The hotel is mostly full of germans, who can be stand-offish, however we never had any bother, plus i can say i never saw a single drunk idiot in the whole week... could i say that if it was a 100% british hotel with a free bar 12hrs a day!

Location is a walk from the beach but theres a free bus bus, plus it was 4 euros for a taxi to the main bit at the beach... so not too bad.

So in conclusion... brilliant food, big hotel, very clean, would love to go back.
Hope this helps

Room Tip: above 4th floor, depending on which side, may be noisier than others
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank johnthehun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2011

So, i was rather hesitant after reading some of the reviews on here, but i thought i'd go for it as i got a pretty good deal, especially for early July.
Have to say there was nothing to worry about! We arrived at the hotel around 1pm, our room wasn't ready but the receptionist was very helpful and polite and allowed us to leave our luggage in the hold room and gave us our all inclusive bands so we could get some food while we waited an hour. The rooms are spotless, can't fault them. I was a bit worried about the prospect of having no air conditioning, but i didn't notice the lack of it at all! The hotel always had plenty to do, my boyfriend and I went to the busier of the two pools, the only downside was having to get up pretty early to get a sun lounger, but thats expected at basically every hotel! Even the gardens and pool area were spotless. The food was lovely, and i am a pretty fussy eater but i always found something! We didn't really explore the area that much, but there are quite a few bars and restaurants, however they were very expensive (6 euros for a bottle of smirnoff ice) and so we mainly stayed in the hotel. The beach is around a 10-15 minute walk, but there is also a shuttle bus to take you there too. I do agree that the hotel is dominated by germans mostly, but that didn't affect our stay!
All in all i would definately go back. The hotel is probably the best i have stayed in, however the area surrounding wasn't as 'buzzing' as i thought it would be, especially as the hotel is located in the main nightlife centre, but no doubt if you explored a bit further you'd find something more! The hotel is suitable for basically anyone, so don't hesitate and book it!

Room Tip: The hotel entertainment goes on quite late into the night, so i wouldn't recommend getting a balcony overlooking the busy pool!
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Lhg2291
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews