We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Playas del Rey Hotel
Ranked #7 of 36 Hotels in Santa Ponsa
Certificate of Excellence
Argyll Scotland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Superb Hotel”
Reviewed 9 October 2011

We spent a fantastic 10 days at the Playas del Rey. From the moment we arrived until we left we where made more than welcome from the friendly staff (who if you talk to them they are more than willing to spend time with you) So glad we did'nt take into account some of the reviews on here as we would have missed out on a lovely hotel. We would like to clear up some points made on here, the food in the dining room was wonderful and always served with a smile, breakfast was extremely adequate ( if you want a full English go to Blackpool!) and as for the bar prices no more expensive than on the street, you get quality drinks served in beautiful surroundings. The hotel is spotlessly clean and rooms serviced every day. It is ideally situated for the beach and other amenities. I will close by thanking the Playas del Rey and all the staff for a truely memorable stay. Also thank you for the bottle of champagne you left in our room when you found out it was our Anniversary. All the best John & Sandra

Room Tip: Try to get a room at the front of Hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

403 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    229
    107
    33
    21
    13
See reviews for
80
213
21
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2011

Members of staff were very friendly except for 1 member of reception. Have never been humiliated in public by anyone there before, and therefore made my visit feeling upset and angry. I can't repeat some of the things she said. On my last day she said she will be horrible to me today as it is my last! Every time I came to reception I was being verbally abused for half an hour! Last time I ever come here, and will informing Thomson holidays and want compensation!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Will T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mariam02, Gerente at Playas del Rey Hotel, responded to this review, 10 October 2011
Hello Will,
Thanks very much for the review you sent to Trypadvisor!
Your case is a bit hard for me to understand.
Whatever problem our clients may have during their stay in the hotel the first they have to do is inform the hotel management or the Thompsons representative.
I had a meeting with the reception staff cuased by your commentary and no one reported to me conflicts with any of our guests.
We saw each other in number of a occasions in the hotel and I even asked you how you feel and very kindly with a smile on your face answered me that everything was fine, so I am really sorry but can not accept your claim by no means.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2011

We have recently come back from santa ponsa. I decided to book the playas del rey after much review reading and so glad i did. We had a lovely clean, and beutifully decorated room facing over the swimming pool . The hotel reception and restaurant were tastefully decorated and very clean and we always received a pleasant hello from the staff and very helpful information. The cleaners came into our room daily with fresh towels and made the beds. The pool was clean and tidy and the sun terrace was a lovely place to sunbath. Breakfasts were great with lots of choice, toast, cereals, sausages, scrambled egg and bacon, and of course yogurt, cheeses and ham. The evening meal was a set menu each evening. Although as mentioned by other reviewers the choices on the menu were limited but you could not fault the quality and the presentation of the food served to us. You have a choice of one starter perhaps the hotel could reconsider adding a couple of choices to the menu. Both my husband and daughter dont like fish so they didnt eat some of their evening starters. For us the main courses were tasty meat or fish dishes,and lovely deserts. The restaurant staff were great and it was a pleasure to dine. The hotel you could tell has had a lot of money spent on the refurbishment over the winter.
santa ponsa is 20 minutes away on the bus to palma and you can catch a bus from the plaza for 2.95 euros each. We headed of to palma, a beutiful place, one day then went back to palma again to catch an old wooden train from palma to soller a lovely town for about 17.00 euros and later we took a tram to the harbour for 4.oo euros. well worth it a must if you like to explore. the week we arrived in santa ponsa there was a festival going on for two weeks with music and entertainement which gave the place a great atmosphere. Also we took snorkels as we found a point as you turn left out of the playas del ray, a little cove where we could swim and see a multitude of fish and even an octupus. We even walked to the top of some steep steps on one side of the bay which was well worth it for the views. enough said hope this helps you decide.

Room Tip: we had a pool view room which was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank susan c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hatfield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 October 2011

First class hotel which has been tastefully refurbished, with very helpful and friendly staff. We stayed on a B&B basis and the food was of a very high standard, but I must say if you like a full english breakast the nearest you would get would be scambled egg and fried bacon, but saying that we asked for fried eggs most mornings and they cooked them especially for us. Nice pool/pool area even though a little on the small side but there is also the sun terrace. Great location, 5 mins from the beach and on the bus route too. Would certainly recommend to anyone and would also like to return at some stage .

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sheila T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boston
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2011

hotel had changed hands since we had booked the holiday whilst it was very clean and the people were friendly but it lacked atmosphere,not enough sunbeds for the size of the hotel,no music by the pool. when woke up the first morning we had ants near the wardrobe and some inside which i wasn't too happy about but it didn't spoil our hol, would go back to santa ponsa but not to the playas del rey

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steve s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Ponsa hotels
0.9 km away
Holiday Park Apartments
Holiday Park Apartments
#1 of 36 in Santa Ponsa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,421 reviews
0.8 km away
Zafiro Rey don Jaime
Zafiro Rey don Jaime
#4 of 36 in Santa Ponsa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,055 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel Bon Repos
Hotel Bon Repos
#12 of 36 in Santa Ponsa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
H10 Playas de Mallorca
H10 Playas de Mallorca
#18 of 36 in Santa Ponsa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,027 reviews
0.7 km away
Hotel Golf Beach
Hotel Golf Beach
#15 of 36 in Santa Ponsa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
0.7 km away
Globales Verdemar
Globales Verdemar
#9 of 36 in Santa Ponsa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Playas del Rey Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Playas del Rey Hotel

Property: Playas del Rey Hotel
Address: 76 Via Jaime I, 07180 Santa Ponsa, Calvia, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Calvia > Santa Ponsa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Santa Ponsa
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Ponsa
#8 Family Hotel in Santa Ponsa
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,888 - ₹ 13,284
Hotel Class:3 star — Playas del Rey Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Playas del Rey Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Playas Del Rey Santa Ponsa
Playas Del Rey Hotel Santa Ponsa, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing