We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“horrible place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Apartamentos Catalonia Gardens
Ranked #51 of 69 Speciality Lodging in Salou
Reviewed 27 August 2017

I cannot believe that these apartments are still going, I stayed here with my daughter & we paid around £800 through Thomas cook, & judging by the more recent reviews it hasn't improved at all. The toilet was filthy, 3 cleaners came one day, 2 stood in the doorway & one just used the toilet brush.
There wasn't any oven racks in the oven so couldn't even use the cooker, no kettle, no microwave & no toaster if you wanted these you had to hire them, improvised by using the electric hob plates to make toast & pans for water but had to eat out rest of the day.
Residential above the apartments & stories of people having things stolen from their rooms. Complained to rep but he didn't want to know.The worst holiday I have ever had.

Room Tip: Dont bother booking here. Avoid
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Tracy501965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (152)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 152 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2017 via mobile

Horrible rooms, no air con, very very dated, check in at 5pm but can't go in hotel until that time so have to hang about with cases, only accessed room at 7pm, broken taps and table, never again !!!!!!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank louisetate79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2017

This hotel was absolutely disgusting.

We arrived late at night with no idea where to go and had to wonder around at midnight with vases and a 4 year old to try and find the sister hotel which was not close by to get our keys and enter the hotel.

Once we had done this we were appalled at the state of our room. It looked nothing like the picture for a start- there were cracked and holes in the doors, the balcony doors did not lock, there was mould in the bedroom and bath room. One of the 4 beds (for 4 people) was broken the lats were all snapped and digging through the mattress. 2 of the mattresses had wholes in and all 4 were stained. And the appartment had insects and bugs everywhere!

My husband returned to the sister hotel to complain as the living conditions were in fit and there was no one on duty at the hotel. He was able to find a security guard from another hotel to ring staff from our hotel and we were moved rooms for that night then that rm was booked out the next day so we were moved to a different hotel.

The pool is also empty and derelict so we were lied to by the travel agent who assured us there was a pool for our little girl to sleep in.

Luckily for us the new hotel (apparentments) we were moved to were nice - basic but clean and nice (Mediterranean suites)

Room Tip: Don't book here
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KGrantini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2016 via mobile

We were due to stay at the catalonia gardens apartments and we were concerned after reading the reviews, anyway when we arrived the entrance was daunting as it's a large steel gate. The salou suite sister hotel is back down the hill to the main road cross over to the red box and walk a couple of hundred yards and there's an amusement arcade on the corner turn left it's just on the left hand side.
When we checked in the lady on reception said it's not really suitable for families as it's mainly singles or all male parties, she said she could move us to Atalaya-mar which is just up from Catalonia gardens but is mainly privately owned apartments. The apartment was clean but basic. There was an oven but it didn't work but to be honest we were just happy to be in different accommodation after reading the other reviews. The apartment had 2 bedrooms and sofa bed in the lounge, one bathroom with jack and Jill doors, a balcony looking over the pool which was kept immaculate. I can't comment on catalonia gardens but I can hopefully add some pointers for a better stay.
The water park Aqoupolis is worth a visit but you don't have to pay extortionate prices, i Googled the place and bought tickets online a family of 5 for €89,printed them at salou suite hotel reception, we then bought T10 tickets €1.20 per journey so €12 + a charge of €3.50 for the card which can be recharged. Bus tickets which are available from the red boxes or the plana bus touts who are everywhere. Catch the bus from the red box and the driver even told us when we arrived at our stop. Barcelona can be reached by train again saving money but it was fully booked so we had no alternative but to use the plana buses it was about €90 euro for 5 people which wasn't bad. That was a drop off in the centre and providing you are willing to walk a few miles nearly all of the attractions can be reached by foot except the football stadium which is quite far out. We went right out of the beaten track and didn't feel threatened. Tarragona is a must to visit and is the original Barcelona which has a ramblas and roman amphitheatre, old Spanish town squares full of cafe's and restaurants and can be reached by bus again using T10 tickets. The bus terminal is in the centre and a good 25 minutes walk to the amphitheatre. Lots of food places to eat in salou we found a very good restaurant called cheers in the old town but quite a walk. Temple Bar for live music but tend to play the same every night so gets monotonous.The red lion for quiz, pool and friendly staff. The beach we used was up the hill from catalonia gardens turn left at the flamenco restaurant and walk to the end of the road cross over and down the steps be aware it's quite steep but worth a visit. Hopefully these are some useful pointers for your holiday.!

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
2  Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2016

it was a 2 star apartment read all reviews before I went and was bit concerned . took grandkids away on a quick school holiday break . Room was ok basic but clean had all I needed . pool open at 11am with lifeguard on duty . pool was ok could have done with few more sunbeds . loads of reviews said it was residential I got talking to lad from Ireland and lots of apartments have been bought for holiday home by Spanish French and English nothing wrong with that . Place was secure needed keys to get in lifts clean and corridors clean . To be frank lots of the reviews I read what do they expect and you don't spend that much time in your room anyway . Nice big balcony had corner apartment . Had booked a one bed but was given a two bed . When we got their had to collect key from the Salou Suit just round the corner the security guard walked round with me to show me the way . Clean room once a week pretty normal for an apartment . We had good time and I did not expect luxury for 2 star bargain holiday and rooms ok no worse that others I have stayed for a quick cheap break .

Room Tip: get corner apartment as you get real good size balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GrahamTraveller50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salou hotels
1.4 km away
Les Dalies Apartmentos
Les Dalies Apartmentos
#44 of 93 in Salou
287 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Apartmentos Priorat
1.7 km away
Sol Costa Daurada
Sol Costa Daurada
#23 of 93 in Salou
2,104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 km away
Ona Jardines Paraisol
Ona Jardines Paraisol
#43 of 93 in Salou
260 reviews
1.7 km away
Siesta Dorada Apartments
1.1 km away
Ibersol Spa Aqquaria
Ibersol Spa Aqquaria
#7 of 69 in Salou
374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apartamentos Catalonia Gardens? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apartamentos Catalonia Gardens

Address: Calle Vendrell, 18, 43840 Salou, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Tarragona > Costa Dorada > Salou
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 69 Speciality Lodging in Salou
Price Range: ₹ 17,977 - ₹ 22,992 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Apartamentos Catalonia Gardens 2.5*
Number of rooms: 400
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Apartamentos Catalonia Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apartamentos Catalonia Gardens Hotel Salou
Catalonia Gardens Hotel Salou
Apartamentos Catalonia Gardens Salou, Costa Dorada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing