We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Relax or Socialise or Sunbathe or Sports ... all are possibilities !

The right balance of a peaceful beach with a good swimming sea and here the waves have a greater... read more

Reviewed 4 days ago
AdilioBrasX
,
London, United Kingdom
Nice little beach close to our hotel

Nice little beach about a 20 min walk from our hotel. Not too crowded. Mostly sand, but a little... read more

Reviewed 11 October 2018
Rob D
Read all 160 reviews
  
Reviews (160)
Filter reviews
160 results
Traveller rating
79
62
15
3
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
79
62
15
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lovely beach clean beach beach restaurant nice stroll sea view lovely place diggers bars restaurants promenade shore apartment
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 160 reviews
Reviewed 25 July 2018 via mobile

It's a beach we enjoyed, to some extent (better than others in the area, I admit)... still, far from being a great beach. The sand is not very soft, there are stones as you enter in the water. The water was extremely cold (19 degrees at the end of July). And there were jellyfishes, making us stay very close to the shore and keep our swimming session very short.

Date of experience: July 2018
1  Thank diapunctc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2018 via mobile

The beach have fantastic facilities. A wooden ramp is built for handicap and disabled people. There is facilities to help handicapped into the water. Toilets for handicaps.

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank joernbilde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2018

Carvajal beach is a good hour stroll from Fuengirola centre .. but is well worth the effort not to take a taxi. This quiet beach comes to a stop in a loop at the end of a very long, clean and smooth promenade and is perfect for skaters, joggers, cyclists and wheelchairs. However, if you hop over the end wall, the beach carries on for another several hundred metres but you will have to be quick because the cafe and bar at the top of this stretch is having to make way for a 5-star hotel complete with private beach and amenities. It will be a sister to the Doubletrees Hilton that overlooks Carvajal from the mountains which, itself is going to undergo its own 5-star transformation. The beaches here are cleaner and the sand more fine than that on the front at Fuengirola - though the entire stretch of beach from the west end of Fuengirola all the way to the east beach of Carvajal is so much cleaner now than I remember is 20 years ago. The City Council clean the roads of Fuengirola and along the length of the coast to Carvajal every night at 3am and the beaches are trawled clean early each morning. Both the residents and holiday-makers appear to want to keep this beach very clean because everyone appears to take away all their rubbish. The Carvajal strip houses several award-winning restaurants and has little or no night life other than the late-opening restaurants. My wife and I felt very safe here and often strolled through to the late hours chatting and meeting many of the friendly Spanish people that make up this warm area at the end of Fuengirola. We love it so much that we have put a deposit down on a new build apartment and aim to make it our home. Lastly - what a bonus for Carvajal to be half way along the quiet electric railway line that starts from the Centre of Fuengirola and runs to the Airport at Malaga ... and for a mere €2.10!! On this trip we did not use taxis or hire any form of transport - relying on a 1 minute walk from the airport to the train and then 30 minutes into Fuengirola centre, stopping at Carvajal. Such a lovely place.

Date of experience: June 2018
3  Thank bishee2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2018

Nice way to spend a sunny warm day walking the beach & ducking in & out of bars, restaurants & shops

Date of experience: February 2018
1  Thank Carol M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2018

Maybe I shouldn't share this well-kept secret, but we have been coming to this beach for years. We always felt safe here with our young children as this beach is secluded. We always have a meal at Kalifato. Highly recommend.

Date of experience: December 2017
4  Thank Maria R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews