We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could improve”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sensimar Riviera by MedPlaya
Ranked #4 of 45 Hotels in Benalmadena
Certificate of Excellence
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Could improve”
Reviewed 29 July 2012

It is quite a few years since we stayed at this hotel and overall we enjoyed our stay. The room was clean and comfortable but on the side of the hotel that gets the afternoon and evening sun, unfortunately the air con could not keep pace which made getting ready for dinner unpleasant. The food was good, breakfast being really good but the servery is not laid out in a good way being along one wall which meant you could not really see the food on offer because of people in a queue or someone trying the push you out of the way to get what they wanted but this will improve with the refurbishment. We did have one grumble with the dining room at dinner, which they only serve until 9 pm, if you dined late you were treated to the staff preparing for breakfast e.g. bringing in juice machines etc before we had finished eating. Drinks are not too expensive and the bar staff are good with the exception of one or two who need further training in manners and customer service, they could take a few lessons from the bar staff at the Hotel Pez Espada, (also MedPlaya) just down the road. The reception staff were very friendly and efficient, an asset to the hotel. I must also mention our Thomson 'Rep' Gary who is one of the few really good reps I have meet in over 30 years of travel.

Room Tip: Ask for pool view to avoid afternoon sun in your room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank marmite6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Medplaya, Guest Relations at Sensimar Riviera by MedPlaya, responded to this review, 30 July 2012
Dear marmite6,

Thank you for taking the time to write a feedback on your recent stay at the Medplaya Hotel Riviera. We appreciate your constructive comment and are always keen to read them. We are happy to hear you had a positive experience with the hotel. We daily strive to improve our service and meet customer expectations.

Thanks again for your feedback and we look forward to seeing you soon.
Kind regards,

Vanda Lehnerova
Guest Relations, Costa del Sol
Medplaya.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,616 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    809
    566
    175
    43
    23
See reviews for
115
1,223
73
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (743)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Watford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2012

Got a cheap deal so didn't complain but food in the buffet was poor. It was like canteen food: the roast beef was boiled and there were deep fried spam fritters!!!! Breakfast was better when we went earlier.
The shower didn't work and a piece fell off the bath tap causing sand to come out in the bath. The bidet tap leaked black water( maybe hadn't been used in a while)
No kettle or fridge in room. There was a hair dryer.
Pool was satisfactory but very squashed with all the beds around it.
Beer much cheaper in bars nearby. There was a reslly pretty, peaceful square just around the corner (off the promenade) with a selection if Spanish and Irish bars.
No children was nice but an odd atmosphere with mainly elderly people and us being 30 years old.
Would rather pay more and go somewhere else.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gemmador
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Medplaya, Guest Relations at Sensimar Riviera by MedPlaya, responded to this review, 30 July 2012
Dear GemmaJayneStorey,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comment on your recent holiday at the Medplaya Hotel Riviera. We are sorry to hear that the hotel did not meet your expectations. Hotel Riviera has a mainly adult clientele and the peaceful atmosphere allows holidaymakers to enjoy relaxing holidays. Our staff makes every effort to provide the best services therefore we appreciate your comments and we are ready to complete customer requirements.

Thanks again for your feedback and we hope you enjoyed your holiday in Benalmádena.

Kind regards,

Vanda Lehnerova
Guest Relations, Costa del Sol
Medplaya.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Yorkshire
Level Contributor
63 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2012

A very enjoyable week and as others have commented due for the refurbishment this autumn. But super position with a lift down to the beach, the staff are all so helpful, pleasant and always smiling. Do hope they increase the number of sunbed matresses as a definite shortage plus umberellas.
Very attractive dining room overlooking the beach and harbour sorry to not have the same view at home!!
I am sure it will be a lovely hotel to enjoy next year.

Room Tip: A lot of road noise but you can expect this for a position on the beach. Keep your patio door close...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Elloughton39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2012

We had read about the hotel needing a makeover, which it does a little, but in all honesty some of the poor reviews are really exagerated here about the condition of the hotel. Right now it is a very good 3 star and once refurbished you will struggle to get anything it it's league with its open outlook onto the beach. My husband and I are 40 and we were perhaps amongst the youngest there ( which was nice) but I would recommend this adults only hotel every day of the week, absolute relaxation. Room was adequate ( wooden floors so happy). Room was spotless and I know this because I took my own antibacterial wipes and they came up clean!Breakfasts were great and evening meals where adequate ( we ate out 5 nights out of 13). We didn't stay for any enterainment and we would agree it was cabaret and not for us, but folk seemed to really enjoy it. We would go back - absolutely. Lovely staff . Im sure the prices will be sky high next year!!

Room Tip: High floor pool facing rooms are best
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mysmeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2012

Ok so the Hotel needs a "makeover" ! which is planned for this autumn, however the holiday we enjoyed in July was enhanced by the cheerfulness of the staff together with the quality of food served at each meal. The hotel is clean and in an excellent position, locally there are lots of friendly bars and restaurants, try an evening with Mike and Linda at "The Bees Knees" and sample a tasty snack at Angela's opposite the Riviera. Yes most of the clients are of an older age group but on the other hand there are no children running around so you have to decide what you want ! it was nice to relax without the constant coaxing to play darts, water polo etc and no loud music all the time ! We can honestly say we will return soon when the update is completed and the Hotel will be truly 4 star. Enjoy.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sunsandandsurf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Medplaya, Guest Relations at Sensimar Riviera by MedPlaya, responded to this review, 17 July 2012
Dear Sunsandandsurf,

Thank you for sharing your comment with us. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your holiday at the Medplaya Hotel Riviera. Hotel management strives to provide the best service to all our customers therefore we value each comment and feedback we receive.
Regarding a makeover, hotel will undergo a significant refurbishment and will be reopened in May 2013.
We will be looking forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Thank you.
Best regards,

Vanda Lehnerova
Guest Relations, Costa del Sol
Medplaya.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Benalmadena
0.3 km away
Vincci Seleccion Aleysa Hotel Boutique & Spa
1.0 km away
Las Arenas Hotel
Las Arenas Hotel
#2 of 45 in Benalmadena
1,903 reviews
0.9 km away
Hotel Mac Puerto Marina Benalmadena
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Hotel Riu Nautilus
Hotel Riu Nautilus
#3 of 72 in Torremolinos
1,322 reviews
1.7 km away
Hotel & Spa Benalmadena Palace
0.2 km away
Hotel Best Triton
Hotel Best Triton
#13 of 45 in Benalmadena
1,516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sensimar Riviera by MedPlaya? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sensimar Riviera by MedPlaya

Property: Sensimar Riviera by MedPlaya
Address: Avda Antonio Machado 49, 29630, Benalmadena, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Benalmadena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Benalmadena
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Benalmadena
#4 Luxury Hotel in Benalmadena
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,348 - ₹ 19,303
Hotel Class:4 star — Sensimar Riviera by MedPlaya 4*
Number of rooms: 189
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your Sensimar Riviera by MedPlaya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Riviera Benalmadena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing