We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$ 67
US$ 57
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
US$ 113
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Gasthof Erlenhof(Alpirsbach)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
Landgasthof Sonne(Alpirsbach)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Waldblick(Schenkenzell)
US$ 148
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Winterhaldenhof(Schenkenzell)
US$ 149
US$ 146
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 117
US$ 110
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 122/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hotel Traube(Lossburg)
US$ 127
US$ 123
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (15)
Filter reviews
15 results
Traveller rating
1
7
3
3
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1
7
3
3
1
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 15 reviews
Reviewed 26 September 2012

The website mixes information on two separate hotels, which leads to confusion.

First: I confused the prices of this place for those of the more expensive one. I thought I was making a bargain with my Ebay bid, but this was the cheaper place of two, and my bid was way over the price posted at the hotel. Bummer.

The place is a study in minimal staff management - you will be welcomed with a sign on the door asking you to phone for instructions. That presumes you have a cell phone, and I do not. The only staff we met was one at breakfast.The buffet was nice, but the coffee was weak, and the boiled eggs overcooked.

Second: They also said Dogs were welcome, but posted no price ( later, I found a price on the second hotel, not this one), so we felt a bit gouged when hit with a 10 Euros per day fee for a tiny Pooch. Foul play.

Otherwise, the room was clean, and the bed acceptable. We really enjoyed the balcony. The village is tiny and cute and Alpirsbach was a nice discovery. The Monastery/Brewery tour is an amazing value at 6.50 - an hour-long history lesson, then 2 free generous (33cl) samplings, and a free stone mug for free. This is an incredible value. The beer jam at the gift shop, however, tastes mostly of sugar.

* Why do hotels in general let kids stay free, but charge up to 15 Euros per day for a tiny Dog?

Room Tip: Bus service ends in the evening - too early to be useful if you want to spend an evening elsewhere, and you will. This place is really way out there, at the end of a long and winding road. There are no other places to eat. They should include menus for local take-out food.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donald T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2011

When we arrived at the hotel the door was locked, with a note on the door (in German only) advising us to call a phone number to get the code to open the key box so we could get in the door. Not having a cell phone with us we drove to the closest pay phone (although the hotel is listed as being in Alpirsbach, it is actually in a small village near there called Reutin) which did not take coins, only phone cards (and instructions were in German only so we couldn't figure out how to use our credit card) so we had to drive into Alpirsbach to use a coin phone. The person who answered did speak English and gave us the key code and told us our room key would be inside on the piano. After we drove back to the hotel and got into our room we discovered the internet wasn't working. There was no phone in our room, no pay phone anywhere inside or outside the hotel. We had to make two more trips into town to get the internet working (turns out the router was shut off). We had assumed some staff would show up at SOME point who we could ask for info about the area. This never happened. We stayed three nights and the only staff we saw was an attendant who served breakfast (at 8am, even though the sign on the dining room door said breakfast started at 7am) and did not encourage conversation.
The room was good size and clean. The breakfast was adequate but no-frills. The hotel does look just like the picture. What the picture doesn't adequately show is that the hotel is right ON the street -- not two feet away, but ON the street. In fact our room was on the corner of two streets. And even though it is a sleepy little village, the buses and trucks start driving by a little before 6am, and when you have several windows ON the street you will hear them!
Given that we had no cell phone we were just lucky that we didn't need to contact the staff (there are many reasons one might need to -- no hot water, leak, etc.). We did have trouble with the TV but my husband was able to figure it out without driving into town again. We have traveled a lot, and have never before encountered a hotel that never had any office staff working.
I would not recommend staying at this hotel unless you have a working cell phone.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Service
3  Thank RamblingRoses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2010

We stayed in this small hotel in a quiet village 5 minutes from Alpirsbach. We were visiting the abbey in Alpirsbach and arrived the night before. It is the only hotel in a small community where there is no other commerce. A long walk through the surrounding countryside and forest was the perfect end to our day. This is a no-frills place, but quiet, clean and comfortable. There is a bountiful breakfast buffet included in the price.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michele923
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2018 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews