We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As an earlier review, be careful re the room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Silence Hotel Hirschen
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Glottertal
Reviewed 29 May 2017 via mobile


Positives
Breakfast was superb.
Great setting in attractive Black Forest villlage
Nice little indoor swimming pool suitably warm with great views over the village and into the forest.
Very easy to find next to main road
Huge car park
Next to the park

Negatives
Our standard double room was in the old building up a very narrow staircase with no lift, a potential problem for the elderly or infirm.
The room was fine except the highest windows had no curtains or blinds so he light came in early in the morning.
Although that is air conditioning in some rooms in the main block, our room had none and we had to shut th windows to keep out the noise of the traffic on the main road. Worse than this was that the room was immediately opposite the local church with very enthusiastic and regular bell ringing from 6am onwards which as we were still accustomed to British time meant 5am. No chance to get back to sleep as the bell ringing continued for at least a couple of hours.

Overall

All in all, a balance of strengths and weaknesses which would be improved by staying in a different room type. However at 140 euros a night bed and breakfast, we would have to say that even with the school excellent breakfast, the standard double is not good value for money.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Adrian_COLCHESTER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (50)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 50 reviews

Reviewed 23 October 2016

We stayed in room 173, in a separate building outside of the main hotel in a very comfortable big room with a two basin bathroom, a double bed, two single beds, a sitting area with two chairs and a coffee table, a fridge, safe, flat screen TV and a balcony looking out to the beautiful mountains. It was really so comfortable and very clean. We enjoyed the heated swimming pool on the third floor of the main hotel with the most glorious views over the Glottertal mountains and vineyards. The swimming pool and the area around it was extremely clean. There was even a water jug filled with mineral water and pieces of oranges for us to quench our thirst! The breakfast was really tasty and nothing was too much trouble for the waiters and/or the chef. The chef even fried me an egg when I asked. Every night we had a four course meal, which again was out of this world. As part of our evening meal, we had a wine tasting from their excellent house wine collection, while on another night we received sparkling wine! WOW, is the only way I can describe our culinary experience. It came as no surprise when we realised that the restaurant had a one star Michelin rating! The staff in the restaurant, in the hotel and the owners were so kind, efficient, friendly and absolutely amazing. Nothing was too much for any of them. Oh yes, and we had complementary Wi-Fi connection as well, free of charge. We also received cake and coffee every afternoon. When we checked out, we received a complementary bottle of our own choice of their self produced wine! This was such a nice finish of a wonderful holiday in the Blackforest! I must add that Glottertal is close to all tourist attractions in the Blackforest. Even Europa - Park, the theme park and resort is only an half hour away. Overall, thanks to all of you in the HOTEL who made this holiday such a special one. We already made the next booking for next year!

Room Tip: ask for any room facing the mountains!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andre G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2016 via mobile

Family run and operated very friendly and professional. The reception was always helpful with answers to our questions. The breakfast offers a large assortment of choices. We had half board with dinner included. Dinners were fabulous and our special dietary needs were met. Rooms are spacious and clean. A very comfortable place to call home while on the road. This was my second stay here. I would return again.

Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank lovestravel20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

A welcomed combination of the rigor in excellence one expects from a classic hotel with a very relaxing atmosphere. Rooms are bigger than anything you will see in Europe, staff is very friendly, the garden is lovely, the pool and sauna (recommended) are very pleasant (with a view to the close by black forest) with no extra costs. The restaurant is renowned, though only had "the small menu" at that particular night. Breakfast is OK. It can only be recommended.

Room Tip: Ask for a garden view --- but do not forget to put down the shades and close the windows to avoid mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eehotel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2013

Standing at the foot of the Black Forest, in the pleasent village of Glottertal, you can find this classic hotel. We stayed in the building opposite to the reception. Rooms were spacious (if not huge by european standards), service was ok (but not excellent, especially by one of the reception employees - for example we were never informed about the Black Forest card giving you some good benefits, although we were staying for 4 nights).

Breakfast was ok, restaurant is very good (check separate review if interested). Moreover I would suggest counting on the pool, especially for the rainy days. Although it is relatively small, we never saw anybody when we visited it - and gave us something to do with our child when it was raining.

Room Tip: Staying on the main building makes it easier to use the pool / sauna
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tryingtobehelpful
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glottertal
0.4 km away
Hotel Schwarzenberg
Hotel Schwarzenberg
#1 of 12 in Glottertal
106 reviews
0.5 km away
Schwarzwaldgasthof Hotel Schlossmuhle
1.0 km away
Landidyll Hotel Zum Kreuz
Landidyll Hotel Zum Kreuz
#2 of 12 in Glottertal
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 km away
Hotel Laube
Hotel Laube
#12 of 12 in Glottertal
52 reviews
0.0 km away
Schwarzwaldgasthof Zum goldenen Engel
6.9 km away
Mercure Hotel Panorama Freiburg
Mercure Hotel Panorama Freiburg
#2 of 56 in Freiburg im Breisgau
626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silence Hotel Hirschen? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silence Hotel Hirschen

Address: Rathausweg 2, 79286 Glottertal, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Region: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Glottertal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Glottertal
Price Range: ₹ 9,171 - ₹ 12,878 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Silence Hotel Hirschen 4*
Number of rooms: 49

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing