We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“First experience of a catered chalet, now there's no going back!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chalet Trolles

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Macot-la-Plagne
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Chalet Trolles
Ranked #15 of 29 Hotels in Macot-la-Plagne
Helston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“First experience of a catered chalet, now there's no going back!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2012

Having been on a few self-catering ski holidays before we decided to go for a catered chalet this year and will never look back! The chalet itself was lovely, rooms a bit unusual with the stairs up to bed but still just added some character and you get used to them. The living area was nice and spacious, comfy sofas and use of the kitchen was really handy for packed lunches. Was a bit strange that we were told to ask if we wanted our rooms cleaned and fresh towels wouldn't have gone amiss, but as a group in our mid-20s we weren't too fussy as it's basically just a place to sleep at the end of the day!

Plagne 1800 itself is small, couple of bars and restaurants, went to La Mine a few times and Bobsleigh for the cheaper drinks, but we weren't really there for massive nightlife so that suited us just fine. Ideal location, just a short walk to the slopes and the shuttle bus was a great way to get around, very efficient. Stupidly a couple of us didn't sort out hire beforehand and went to skiset. Even with 20% discount it was soo overpriced and it's actually cheaper to buy poles than hire them for the week. MADNESS! Snow was perfect, and there is so much ground to cover. Kept finding new runs everyday and went over to Les Arcs one day which was ace but not really neccessary as there is plenty to do around La Plagne, Champany etc.

Thought the evening meals were brilliant! Good portions and Caz and Brad quite often offered seconds if you were still peckish. The menu wasn't revealed until you sat down that evening but I can see why as it's unrealistic to have to chop and change for people who 'don't like' some foods when there are 17 of you. There was a vegetarian in our group and the fussiest-eater of all time so for us all to really enjoy the meals was a miracle, which they succeeded. The cooked breakfast option however were on the small side to say the least, especially for the lads. Unlimited bread, jams, cereal, juice etc but some croissants or pastries would have been nice.

For the price we paid (£415) we couldn't have asked for better. Caz and Brad were lovely hosts, would have been nice to see them more really! And Didier the rep was great. Would happily go back tomorrow!!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lauraaaa_87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200

47 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    15
    7
    6
    0
See reviews for
11
9
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Huddersfield
Level Contributor
99 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

Ever heard this one: “If you want your rooms cleaning or beds making, just ask us”? Er, no, that’s not how it works.
Boot dryer not worked for years apparently.
Sauna – well, never offered actually.
“Roaring log fire” – completely odourless fireplace, can’t see it having been lit this season.
As usual with French chalets and hotels, very badly lit and about 25% of the light bulbs blown.
TV inoperative, though for me this was a positive.
Beds on mezzanine floors are a death trap. Beds I found quite comfortable.
Front door has to be slammed as hard as physically possible to get it shut – how difficult can it be to fix this?
Food ok/average, if erratic in portions. No realistic alternatives offered though, eg lamb substituted by potato & spinach cakes (with mashed potatoes and peas….)
Wine poor, even by chalet standards.
Hard lines if you’re in room 8- they’ve lost the key.
The staff encouraged us to make our sandwiches in the kitchen, and use the fridge, which was good of them. Wish I’d not left £20 of Beaufort in it though!
Just got the impression the whole plot’s run on a shoestring. I reckon the two reviews below must be from Brad or Caz’s families. The impression was they are personable enough but have no taste for hard work. Having said that, comments to my wife at the end of the holiday point towards Ski France not being the best company to work for.
Overall rating, slightly below average for £550pp.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RichardaHuddersfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2012

We arrived in La plagne after one of the snowiest periods in the french alps for some years, for a week of blue sky boarding.

This was our first trip to a chalet in France having previously stayed in hotels in Italy. following this trip however we are totally converted! The chalet is perfectly located for the slopes, with probably a 2 minute walk to the nursery area and the lifts up to plagne centre or plagne aimie. Plus the free bus stops pretty much outside which get you up to belcotte.

The Hosts, Brad and Caz were legends, they could not have done any more to improve our stay. Breakfast freshly cooked when you got up (with in reason!), huge yummy cakes and three course dinners in the evening. I am a fussy vegetarian and my plate was clean everynight after about 3 minutes which tells you how good the food was! Brad even spent his day off showing us a few 'local powder bowls on the mountain.

The only thing to be aware of is the steps up to the second flor in the bedrooms, but you get used to them - just don't drink to much wine! One of the best features of the chaslet is the sauna - hidden, but worth finding. We got it up to 85 degrees one night !

Plagne 1800 is quiet so don't arrive expecting huge apre ski. but if you want to ride hard all day and flake out early after some good grub and wine then this is the place for you

Overall, the chalet is great, the pub next dor is quirky , the resort is awsome (the off piste areas are the best I have ridden and so expansive) Brad and Caz are legendary,and the rep Didier is amazingly helpfull. So book this place with confidence and if your a border, buy Brad a couple of beers and he may just show some of his 'secret spots';-)

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nic_J_34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2012

Excellent hotels...fab chalet hands....best holiday ever.
This chalet is in an excellent location i went with my dad and some friends and it was a 1 minuite walk to the skii rental shop and the nearst lift, we really couldn't have asked for a better placed chalet. The skiing is absolutley fantastic and you are in an ideal place because it is so easy to ski to places such as belle-plagne and bellecote. The bedrooms although being on 2 floors are great kept relly clean and have a nice big bathroom and toilet. The food couldnt have been better an there are cooked breakfast and cakes and bread available in the afternoon. Cz and Brad are the two chalet hands and they couldn't have been better they really made the holiday fun. The rep (didier) is also great and is willing to set up ny trips for you such as husky riding, i reccomend the bobsleigh ride it is fantastic. Overall a great skiing holiday!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank molly r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2011

14 of us stayed in this chalet last week and had a great time (apart from my poor mum who broke her leg out on the slopes). The lounge and eating area is great, nice and spacious with comfy chairs. Ash always put a nice log fire on in the afternoon and had yummy cakes(lemon drizzle, chocolate, banana, etc) every afternoon with a constant supply of tea, coffee and hot chocolate. Food was served at 7.30pm (you could choose a different time if you liked). We had a three course meal every night with red and white wine (not the best wine in the world but it went down ok!). We had a vegan in our group and the food Lucy and Ash made for him was fantastic and made a real effort. The food for the rest of us was really nice too. For breakfast there were basic cereals (corn flakes and corn puffs) however, after a little moan we were bought musesli. Had endless amounts of french bread and also a cooked option-usually either bacon, egg and mushrooms or sausage, egg and tomatoes or mushrooms. The only thing that would have been nice was yoghurts and fruit at breakfast.

The path up to the chalet from the road was lethal because of the ice. The manager did come and put grit on it but unfortunately that only lasted a few days and then got quite icy again. Once it snows out there I'm sure it will be fine as will cover the ice. As for location, it is really good. The ski hire place is about a 3-4 min walk, the bus stop (free bus to Plagne Centre and Bellecote) is 1-2 mins away and the slope with a chairlift straight up to Plagne Centre is about a 4 min walk around the corner up a slight hill.
If you like a drink after skiing there is a pub (small) directly in front of the chalet with live music. Happy hour makes it farily reasonable. You can't really hear the noise late at night from the chalet so that's good.

Besdrooms-the only downside really. Each room is split over two floors. The ground floor has one room with a shower and sink (have to say the shower was amazing though!!) and and a separate toilet. There's a small hanging area and shelf there too. Then the beds are up above. The route up to these is a very steep wooden staircase-it's harder coming down the stairs than up. To be fair by the end of the week we got used to them and nobody fell but just be aware!! Also you had one pillow which was very flat. Although Lucy gave us some extra pillowcases so that we could use a cushion from the lounge area which then made it better. The bedside lights in our room were a bit rubbish as fine for one bed but the other light just shone in a corner away from the other bed so that one had no light (although diff rooms had diff layouts).

Need to make a special mention to Warren (manager) as he was brilliant with my mum when she broke her leg--took her to the medical centre, sat and had a drink with her whilst we were all out skiing.
Also Lucy and Ash-both really friendly, kept the place tidy, provided great food and really helpful. They were heading off to work at another chalet in Plagne 1800 this week so will no longer be there.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LondonLondongirl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Macot-la-Plagne
0.1 km away
Hotel Le Cocoon
Hotel Le Cocoon
#10 of 29 in Macot-la-Plagne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
0.7 km away
Belambra Clubs Le Terra Nova
Belambra Clubs Le Terra Nova
#12 of 29 in Macot-la-Plagne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3 reviews
0.8 km away
Pierre & Vacances Premium Residence Les Hauts Bois
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 km away
Hotel Les Balcons Village
Hotel Les Balcons Village
#6 of 29 in Macot-la-Plagne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
0.9 km away
Hotel Le Vancouver - LVH Vacances
Hotel Le Vancouver - LVH Vacance...
#8 of 29 in Macot-la-Plagne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
2.4 km away
Pierre & Vacances Residence Le Quartz
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chalet Trolles? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalet Trolles

Property: Chalet Trolles
Address: Plagne 1800, Macot-la-Plagne, Aime, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Aime > Macot-la-Plagne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 29 Hotels in Macot-la-Plagne
Number of rooms: 20
Also Known As:
Chalet Trolles Hotel Macot-La-Plagne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing