We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great hotel but a little overpriced.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Golden Sun Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Golden Sun Hotel
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Glyfada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great hotel but a little overpriced.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2011

Just a typical 4star hotel of the 80s. Good in general but definately not value for money. I mean its located right by the sea closed to all the famous night clubs of athens and only 30 minutes drive from the airport and 2 minutes from the center of glyfada. Easy to access. But i dont think that what you pay is what you get. Had to pay for 180€ for a 4 bed room and i think that you could find a luxurious hotel at the same price.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gregory1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

161 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    73
    27
    7
    8
See reviews for
26
50
11
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2011

We stayed here for 3 nights & the staff could not have been more friendly & helpful especially Tatania.
It's on the bus route from the Airport & 2 mins from the tram to central Athens & a fantastic beach bar. We had a clean spacious room with a powerful shower although the beds were a bit firm for me.
Breakfast was limited but staff were happy to serve us even though we turned up at 2 mins past 10am.

Room Tip: Avoid balconies facing the busy main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Aliclements
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2010

We stayed here on recommendation, but were so disappointed. There was building work going on and it was constantly noisy, not their fault I guess. The toilet and plumbing stank foul, they said the waterboard were working and that was the problem, but it made it an unpleasant stay. The breakfast was greasy, buffet, but you felt embarrassed to take anything with the staff guarding everything, and offering nothing! If you came in late, there was no chance of ordering a coffee, and no facilities in the room.

the 2* BLue Sky is a much better bet, cheaper, cleaner, friendlier better service.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bj-sailaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
195 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2009

We had an unplanned stay here as Olympic Airlines booked us in after a flight disruption. If we had not already been "grumpy" we may have enjoyed it more. It seemed like a very nice part of town but we were not up to exploring! The rooms were biggish and quite clean. The dinner was super boring and the pool looked very nice.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NZMike57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2009

Stayed one night and the staff especially Thao could not have
been more helpful. I recommend this hotel based on the happy friendly
vibe and the great breakfast with a great view to compliment it

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank McFlyoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glyfada hotels
1.5 km away
Palmyra Beach Hotel
Palmyra Beach Hotel
#2 of 16 in Glyfada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
0.3 km away
Brasil Suites Hotel Apartments
0.2 km away
Sea View Hotel
Sea View Hotel
#6 of 16 in Glyfada
3.5 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Blue Sky Hotel
Blue Sky Hotel
#5 of 16 in Glyfada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
2.1 km away
London Hotel
London Hotel
#3 of 16 in Glyfada
3.5 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
1.8 km away
Emmantina Hotel
Emmantina Hotel
#4 of 16 in Glyfada
3.5 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Sun Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Sun Hotel

Property: Golden Sun Hotel
Address: 72 Dimarchou Angelou Metaxa Street & Kritis Square, Glyfada, Athens 166 74, Greece
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Glyfada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Glyfada
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,563 - ₹ 9,485
Hotel Class:3 star — Golden Sun Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Glyfada, the capital of the southern Athenian suburbs, the Golden Sun is awaiting, a welcoming smile introducing that help is always at hand! Enjoy the comfort offered in our rooms as well as the magical effects of the cosmopolitan area where we are situated. Relax at the cool flowering garden enjoying a drink at the sparkling waters of the swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Golden Sun Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing