We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice mid-range hotel in Flores” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Casazul

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Casazul
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Flores
Certificate of Excellence
Alabama
Level Contributor
152 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
“Nice mid-range hotel in Flores”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2011

I've stayed here 2 times in the past and do not have any complaints. I would recommend it to others.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mayaruinsonly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

180 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    67
    75
    33
    4
    1
See reviews for
19
85
34
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Giv'atayim, Israel
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2011

On the upside - the place looks good, rooms are quite spacious, and there is a nice view of the lake, 1 minute walk to the lake. there is a nice deck on the second floor with lake view. on the down side - 50$ for night is pricy, and I expected better service for it. the rooms were'nt very clean, and the shower was old and had weak current and bad plumbing.

Room Tip: obviously - get a room with lake view. more expensive but worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marina4885
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
53 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2011

We stayed just one night at Casazul, flying in and out from Belize City with Tropic Air in order to travel to the impressive Tikal Ruins

We managed to get a room on the top balcony floor, including a superb view over the lake. However, the balcony is used jointly by all hotel guests and in the evening is a natural gathering point for drinking and socializing. The nocturnal sound levels, make this floor not the best places for having a good night sleep.

Rooms were quite small and with little light. Plus, very little water came out of the shower. Due to an electrical power outage in the morning hours we could not even take a morning shower before departure. However, WIFI is for free in the lobby and skype worked well. Most important, the ridicoulous price of EUR 36 per night makes you to turn a blind eye to (some of) the inconveniences.

Receptionist were not very polite, at least they helped us to arrange a late Tikal bus transfer.

Hotel is well located in pittoresque Flores and there are lots of restaurants within walking distance, yet both Villa del Chef (German-run) and Terazzo (Italian) restaurants very disappointing.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hons_Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
891 reviews
139 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 485 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2011

This is a wonderful hotel, such a nice place to relax...shame I only had one night to stay there as I would have happily stayed more.
I stayed as part of a GAP tour and we used it as a base to travel to the Tikal Ruins, which was amazing. From the outside this hotel did not look much but boy was it nice when we got inside.
It is immaculately clean, modern and comfortable with air con, TV, enormous rooms and a massive balocny overlooking the lake. I cannot believe how nice it was, the best place I have stayed in Central America by a country mile. None of you reading t his need have ANY worries about staying here. Great location too by the way with nice restaurants nearby and overlooking the lake.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the lake side of the building. Amazing views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bozeman-Dublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2011

Wonderful place. Our large room overlookedthe lake and the shared balcony. We spent many nights on the balcony watching the sun set. The hotel is clean and well maintained. The added quirks of making our towels into animal shapes made it all the more friendly and unique. If you come to flores, you must stay here.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CupcakeTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Flores hotels
0.2 km away
Hotel Casa Amelia
Hotel Casa Amelia
#3 of 17 in Flores
4.0 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Isla de Flores
Hotel Isla de Flores
#2 of 17 in Flores
4.5 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Peten
Hotel Peten
#8 of 17 in Flores
3.5 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Hotel Villa del Lago
Hotel Villa del Lago
#4 of 17 in Flores
3.5 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
0.9 km away
Hotel Casona del Lago
Hotel Casona del Lago
#6 of 17 in Flores
4.0 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
8.4 km away
Las Lagunas Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casazul? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casazul

Property: Hotel Casazul
Address: Calle La Union | Isla de Flores, Flores 17001, Guatemala
Phone Number:
Region: Guatemala > Peten Department > Flores
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Flores
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,210 - ₹ 4,192
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Casazul 2.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Island of Flores on the shores of Lake Peten Itza. A place to rest in the depths of the island. It has 09 rooms with air conditioning, cable television, private bathroom, minibar and free wireless Internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Hotel Casazul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing