We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Condo on the water, lots of birds!”
other travellers have booked this property
View from Deck of Pool, Lagoon & Gulf
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View from Deck of Pool, Lagoon & Gulf
Our condos from across lagoon Rental Prices
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
11 reviews
View from Deck of Pool, Lagoon & Gulf
Our condos from across lagoon
Rental Prices
Living room
Bar and kitchen
Dinning room with view
Master bedroom
Spiral staircase to loft bedroom
Loft bedroom
Bridge to island and pool
Large deck.
Infrared view from the air
Fishing pier 1/2 mile from condos
Sand Dunes
More Dunes
View from sand dunes
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Matagorda, Texas

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
mbtlo
Madison, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Condo on the water, lots of birds!”
Reviewed 19 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015
2
people found this review helpful

My husband and I just got back from staying here. It was beyond wonderful! We are birders and tandem bikers. The birds were incredible...both at the lagoon out the front deck and at the beach. We even saw tons of birds out the bedroom window overlooking other wetlands. My favorite thing was having coffee on the deck, RIGHT ON the water. You just can't get better than this.
The condo was clean and comfy. I would stay there again in a minute. The biking was great. There's a long road with water on both sides and almost no traffic that takes you from the condo to town. We rode that daily and enjoyed seeing herons, spoonbills, tons of shorebirds, egrets, ibises, etc.
Oh, and we bought shrimp from a local place down the road and grilled it on the condo's grill. YUM!
The condo (#2) is really too big for two but we didn't care...we spread out. I could see how you could have a crowd stay there, from grandparents to kids. And I thought the price was reasonable. My husband said Kim was great to work with, too.
Lovely, lovely spot.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Deck on the water
Liked least: A few small things...window didn't stay open, no instructions for tv I'm visually impaired and the wood steps up to the condo were hard to differentiate.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halliez
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
“And awesome place to stay!!”
Reviewed 9 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014

We went on a little family vacation to Matagorda. Kim's condo was in a great location, close to the beach. Very homey. The grand kids had a blast and the adults has just as much fun. Thank you Kim for getting back to us so quickly and making our stay very comfortable. We will talk to you next year.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Msbrit
Houston, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A REALLY great place to stay, away from the madding crowd!”
Reviewed 3 September 2013 for a stay in August 2013
1
person found this review helpful

I spoke to Kim to book for Labor Day Weekend. I have been to Matagorda many times, many years ago and have always wondered what it would like to stay at the "Dunes". I have to say, I WILL stay there again.
We rented condo#1 As soon as we walked into the condo, we found it to be clean and spacious well laid out and fully stocked with whatever you needed for cooking, inside or out and sleeping, even a cooler to use for fishing. The pool was WONDERFULLY clean and cool. The beach is close and bringing our dogs was such a plus for us, as was having the hose to clean them off after a trip to the beach! Even the caretaker of the property a pleasant and helpful guy. Thanks Kim for a very enjoyable weekend away from the madding crowd.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: All the amenities and we could bring our dogs
Liked least: Nothing to complain about other than having to leave
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WI
Reviewed 3 February 2013 for a stay in December 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Texas
Reviewed 28 December 2012 for a stay in December 2012
2
people found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing