We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Wonderful Step Back in Time”
Review of Oakwood Cemetery

Oakwood Cemetery
Ranked #4 of 24 things to do in Jefferson
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Fort Worth, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A Wonderful Step Back in Time”
Reviewed 3 March 2012

The history of the cemetery can be read in books, right down to the types of ironwork used in the fences. Each marker has a story. Very, very old markers, but names you will recognize. I just love this cemetery. I go there every time I visit Jefferson.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank YYTex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    19
    5
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lindale, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“Beautiful”
Reviewed 28 February 2012

We went here to see Diamond Bessie's grave the cemetery is beautiful

Visited May 2011
Helpful?
Thank Kimlee88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Worth, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Oakwood Cemetery”
Reviewed 31 January 2012

Learned more about who established and settled in Jefferson, TX. Very interesting!!!!

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank vgtinsley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Worth, Texas, United States
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“Love exploring history”
Reviewed 27 October 2011

My husband and I have been to Oakwood several times. Before our first visit we purchased the book "Angels of Oakwood: Jefferson's Historic Cemetery" by Mitchel Whitington. We found it to be a great companion on our visit! It is such a beautiful area and it was fun exploring and learning about the history of the persons buried there.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank ToriFPDD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilow Park, TX
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Old Oakwood Cemetery”
Reviewed 18 October 2011

Interesting history connected to this cememtery. Wish we had purchased the book prior to our visit in order to find more graves. Will next visit!

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank BeckieMoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Oakwood Cemetery also viewed

 

Been to Oakwood Cemetery? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing