We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Strange things happened, woooo!”
Review of The Grove

The Grove
Ranked #2 of 24 things to do in Jefferson
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A one-hour tour of one of Jefferson's most historic - and haunted - locations. The Grove is an 1861 home that uniquely mirrors the history of the riverport city... and the ghost stories there go back over 100 years. The history of the home is fascinating; it is listed on the National Register of Historic Places, and is a Recorded Texas Historic Landmark. Along with the history, though, you'll hear ghost stories from the owners and find out just what it's like to live in a haunted home. Come visit The Grove for a peek into Jefferson's past... and a few residents who may still be hanging around!
Mansfield, Texas
Level Contributor
65 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Strange things happened, woooo!”
Reviewed 18 March 2012

Great host, interesting history. For some reason the spirits would not let me film the tour... O, well....

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank danielcbush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

125 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    110
    12
    3
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A Great History Lesson”
Reviewed 3 March 2012

I have been on the tour of the Grove several times. I never get tired of hearing Mitchel tell the stories of the house, and the town. The home is beautiful!! I havnt encountered a ghost there (yet), but do have a problem with my camera batteries rapidly draining as soon as I enter the house. Mitchel also has his books there for sale and he will sign them for you. His books are entertaining and educational. This is a great tour of a wonderful old home in quaint Jefferson Texas.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank YYTex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
heart of Texas
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A must Do!”
Reviewed 2 March 2012

There are several house tours in Jefferson now, all unique and interesting, but The Grove is the one to do if you only have a short time to visit Jefferson. This was my 5th trip to Jefferson, but only the first time I actually had time to visit The Grove. I wish I'd made the time before now. So welcoming, Mitchel (and Tami in the background making things tidy) sounds more like a friend telling you about his home than some other "tour operators" who sound more like a barker at a theme park attraction. Though he must have said his "speech" on the history of this house hundreds of times, you'd never know it. He speaks every word from the heart and makes you feel like you're the only person that tour. The amazing history (and current history) of the house speaks for itself. I'm very glad I finally made the time to check it out at my last Jefferson visit.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank AntTQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katy, Texas
Level Contributor
113 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Interesting even if you don't see a ghost”
Reviewed 2 March 2012

The tour guide is the guy who actually lives in the home. His knowledge of the area and the home are very obvious. The Grove is considered one of (if not THE0 most haunted places in Jefferson. The ghost stories are part of the tour. Not scary Hollywood-type stories but entertaining none-the-less.

The tour itself consist of walking from room to room in the house and learning about the history of the previous occupants.

Fun time and worth the visit when in Jefferson.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank JJtraveler65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lufkin, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful to tour!”
Reviewed 1 March 2012

Whether you're a paranormal enthusiast or your interest lies in the history of older homes, Mitchel Whitington certainly delivers a rich story that weaves between both sides. You can feel the love that he and his wife hold for this home. Ghost investigators, feel free to bring your recorders and cameras. Pictures with interesting additions have been caught during tours.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank Heather M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to The Grove? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing