We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food.. Excellent Service...Reasonable prices...”
Review of City Cafe

City Cafe
Ranked #7 of 24 Restaurants in Ingleside
Restaurant details
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Have eaten here many times, drive 21 miles to get here. I always get daily specials only $8.00! Had Burritos Verde today. Very meaty, excellent green sauce. Best wait staff anywhere.

Date of visit: August 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank pospiscle
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (12)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 12 reviews

Reviewed 29 June 2021 via mobile

Pros: If your thirsty the lemonade n ice tea servings are huge. They offer homemade corn and flour tortillas. The service was very friendly and attentive.

Cons: They deep fry the bacon. And the potatoes. Scrambled eggs were dry. Our friends thought their breakfasts’ were ‘eh.’ Huevos rancheros is my go-to for a Mexican breakfast. This was the worst I’ve had.

The locals recommended this place. We won’t be returning for breakfast, but based on other reviews maybe we’ll go back for happy hour.

Date of visit: June 2021
Thank NeverStopExplor... X
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 26 May 2021 via mobile

Frustrating with all the to go orders that staff can’t get it right. Ordered burrito supreme and chimichanga. Chimichanga was fine but burrito was supposed to come with lettuce, tomatoes, sour cream and guacamole to be supreme and came completely plain. Hard to go back after you’ve already driven home. Food was mediocre after disappointment of incorrect order.

Date of visit: May 2021
Thank tlrouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 24 November 2019 via mobile

How does this place stay open? We find a booth in the bar area after being told to seat ourselves. The table is sticky. Looking around the signs of neglect are everywhere. Chips and salsa are delivered promptly, so I disregard the little voice in my head that says to run out the door as fast as possible. The bartender comes over to take our order and the food is delivered in good time. That was the good part of this experience. To be fair, the meals are reasonably priced and are large portions, but that can't compensate for Luke warm and poor qualitity ingredients. Beef tacos were greasy and tasted as such. Rice and refried beans were typical commissary ingredients with no flavor or imagination. This could be a great little Mexican restaurant if it tried, but I didnt get the feeling the staff was going for that. It is just slinging hash with no pride in the end product. We had to hunt our bartender waiter down to get our check, he was busy with other staff playing with their phones. Oh well, just another restaurant that will someday face the liquidator.

Date of visit: November 2019
Thank bonesera
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 September 2019

This place became a once of week stple for me The food always great the service was always helpful and the bar was always accommodating Happy hour is decent and make for complimenting a great meal excellent dinning experience for the solo diner

Date of visit: June 2019
Thank Travelingoftenallthe
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travellers who viewed City Cafe also viewed

 

Been to City Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in India. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.