We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Probably the best you can expect do in Huntsville”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Huntsville
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Huntsville
Certificate of Excellence
Texas
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Probably the best you can expect do in Huntsville”
Reviewed 14 November 2011

Overall, this is a nice hotel and, from the TripAdvisor reviews, probably the best you can expect do in Huntsville.

Pros: Check-in was quick. The front desk staff were attentive and the rates were correct ($129/night, including tax, with AAA discount). The lobby was bright, clean and the furnishings looked new. There was a "store" in the lobby, actually a little room next to the front desk with a hole in the wall, where you can get canned drinks, frozen dinners and candy- plus they sell Diet Dr Pepper (very rare these days). The elevators both worked. The hallway to rooms 306 and 308 was clean, well-lit and smelled slightly of fresh paint. The rooms were typical of HIE-32" flat screen TV, microwave, refrigerator, desk with lamp and chair, two queen beds with plenty of pillows (firmness stitched on the pillow cases), and firm mattresses, bathroom with granite countertop and three complete sets of towels (also rare). The bathroom actually has an exhaust fan and it doesn't exhaust into the bedroom. The shower head was large and high enough for people over 6' tall. Wireless and wired Internet connections. The rooms smelled clean-no moldy, dusty odor or heavy room deodorizer sprayed over old cigarette smoke odor. The free breakfast looked good, but we didn't partake.

Cons: The hotel is set back from the highway and the entrance is easy to miss. While the location is good, the view leaves much to be desired - with front rooms facing the highway service road and the back parking lot of a fast-food restaurant and the back rooms facing the back of a funeral home. The interior door of one elevator had graffiti scratched into it. There was a single, curly black hair in the bathtub when we arrived. The paint was chipped on the bottom of the bathroom door. The tile around the tub had pink mildew. The parking lot is small and the landscaping is minimal. ALL sounds from the bathroom are easily heard in the bedroom. If these bother you, turn up the volume on the TV. Typical of HIE, noise from the hallway seems to be amplified into the room. We were unfortunate enough to share the same floor with a high school girls volleyball team from Dallas. They spent the latter part of the evening running up and down the hall, slamming doors. It sounded like someone was herding cattle in the hallway and every door slam rattled our door. Cranking up the volume on the TV helped somewhat.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EdRoyOdem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

130 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    50
    13
    14
    6
See reviews for
45
15
7
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2011

Traveled with my husband on a business trip. Checked reviews and looked at the options..not too many to choose from..so called Holiday Inn. I had difficulty making the reservation due to new employees,however, my third call Lori answered the call and took care of my problem. We also had difficulty upon checkout,however, Lori took care of the problem. This is a nice,clean,new hotel. The mattresses are very firm and we were awakend a few times by a heavy footed,door slamming patron on the floor above us. Apparently, this is hotel life!
If you plan to stay here in Huntsville in the near future, talk to Lori..she seems to be the only employee with hotel experience.

Room Tip: Watch for your exit closely. Hotel sits behind the Whataburger and backsup to a funneral home. Don...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravlinTexan55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
1 review
Reviewed 4 September 2011

Beautiful room and very clean. Good breakfast buffet.
MAJOR COMPLAINT: The mattress was hard as a rock! I felt like I was sleeping on a slab of cement! Could not sleep - not a good experience.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarolynADallas_Texas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen F, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Huntsville, responded to this review, 29 September 2011
I do appologize for the inconvenience due to the mattress. We do our best to satisfy all of our as they are so very important to the success of our business.I do appreciate you letting me know about this matter and hope you will come back and stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aledo, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
88 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2011

This is a nice place to stop on the way to somewhere else-you know what I mean. It is a little more expensive than some of the other place on I45, but having stayed at one of the other ones, this one is worth it. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The hotel appears to have been recently remodeled as the paint and furnishings were fresh and smelled clean. The beds were very comfy and not overused. The hotel was pretty quiet too despite a wedding party being nearby. Only once could we hear them, pretty faint too. The hotel has an indoor pool that we didn't use and a very nice common area where they serve a breakfast. About, the breakfast, it was very good-there were many choices and the food was both fresh and appetizing and had a great variety-there was also staff on duty during breakfast to make sure it was resupplied. This is a nice hotel if you find yourself in Huntsville, Texas or passing through.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ranchonodinero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nederland, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 28 August 2011

New hotel. Very nice and the employees were wonderful. Slow down on feeder road approaching entrance because you will pass it up.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeffrey G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Huntsville hotels
0.5 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Huntsville
0.9 km away
Best Western Huntsville Inn & Suites
2.8 km away
Quality Suites
Quality Suites
#7 of 13 in Huntsville
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 km away
Red Roof PLUS+ Huntsville
Red Roof PLUS+ Huntsville
#6 of 13 in Huntsville
42 reviews
0.1 km away
Days Inn & Suites Huntsville
Days Inn & Suites Huntsville
#5 of 13 in Huntsville
253 reviews
0.6 km away
La Quinta Inn Huntsville
La Quinta Inn Huntsville
#11 of 13 in Huntsville
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Huntsville? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Huntsville

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Huntsville
Address: 148 S. I-45, Huntsville, TX 77340
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Huntsville
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Huntsville
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,481 - ₹ 11,867
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Huntsville 2.5*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the new Holiday Inn Express & Suites in one of Texas' oldest cities, Huntsville! We are home to the Sam Houston State University, Walker County Fairgrounds, Huntsville State Park, The Texas Prison Museum and the HEARTS Veterans Museum. While visiting our Huntsville, Texas hotel make sure that you see the Sam Houston Statue. It is referred to as the 'World's Largest Statue of an American Hero'. Located 70 miles north of Houston and 170 miles south of Dallas on I-45, Huntsville, Texas is also the home to Texas Department of Criminal Justice and the Education Service Center, Region VI. You'll find all the comforts of home including our Stay Smart plush bedding, 32' LCD HDTV, and our spacious room accommodations. Enjoy our free high-speed wired or wireless Internet access and our free hot Express Start breakfast bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Huntsville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Huntsville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing