We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Very average hotel” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Westin Galleria Houston Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Westin Galleria Houston Hotel
Ranked #94 of 497 Hotels in Houston
Calgary
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very average hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2012

Accompanied by husband on a business trip and was advised to stay at the Westin Galleria as the location was ideal for shopping. The hotel is located right in the mall and was definitely steps away from the mall. The rooms however are very very plain and somewhat dated. Had to call to have my room cleaned 2 out of 4 days as it was past 3:00p.m. and needed clean towels etc. Overall, service was poor. Expected better from the Westin!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Annette55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

920 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    278
    315
    198
    87
    42
See reviews for
174
121
50
456
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Holland, Michigan
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2012

I am a Preferred Guest. When I checked in they offered me an extra 500 points per day to forgo having my room cleaned (their green effort). They told me I could call the front desk whenever I needed the room cleaned. It took two calls to make that happen. When I stopped at the front desk (I was at a conference) to ask them id they could check to see if the room had been cleaned they told me it would be faster if I just checked myself. I wasn't too plased with that, but eventually they cleaned the room while I sat in the lobby and waited. Their service was very disappointing but the hotel itself was very nice.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris42310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

Stayed for three nights from the 16th to the 20th of feb 2012. I have stayed here five times previously. The conceirge is e same that has been there since I have commenced staying one year ago and is unhelpful and does not assist with bags or any other help, ie bookings for resturaunts.
Problems;
Pubic hair on the back of the toilet on first day, cleared up after compliant.
Asked the conceirge to make booking at oceanaire around the corner. Nor call to confirm. I asked the conceirge an hour before the booking is there a confirmation of the booking. Note conceirge said if it is done it is done. Of course when we got there, no booking.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Rohner68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
westin_oaks, Guest Relations Coordinator at Westin Galleria Houston Hotel, responded to this review, 23 February 2012
Rohner68, Thanks for taking a moment to share your experience with us on TripAdvisor! We are delighted you enjoyed our convenient location; however, we would like to offer our sincere apologies for the service failures and issues with the cleanliness of your guest room. This is certainly not the type of experience anyone should have in our hotel and we empathize with you. We appreciate your loyalty and we do hope you give us an opportunity to make a better impression in the future. If there is anything I can do to ensure your next stay is memorable, please do not hesitate in reaching out to me directly via email at Galle@westin.com. Be Well, Danny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Woodlands, Texas
Level Contributor
191 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2012

This stay was a deal off Hotwire. It was the only 4 star with a 90 percent customer rating, not bad for less than $120 per night.

There are extras, valet at $29 per night and NO free Internet in your room.

Walk to the Galleria from the front door was a definite boost. You just can't beat the location.

Room service was outstanding, catered by the Daily Grill. No bar in the hotel, you have to walk outside to the Grill.

First run movies in your room,pricey but worth it and the beds are over the top.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank steveberry2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
westin_oaks, Guest Relations Coordinator at Westin Galleria Houston Hotel, responded to this review, 23 February 2012
Steveberry2020, we’re glad you took advantage of the great deals offered on Hotwire for our hotel, the Westin Galleria, Houston. It’s really nice to know you enjoyed our convenient location, heavenly bed and room service. With regards to parking, our guests have two options. As you noted in your review, you can valet park for $29 or you can actually self park for free in the Galleria Mall parking garages (preferably the one located next to our hotel). We also offer free internet access in our lobby for our guests. Thanks again for your review and we look forward to your return. Be Well, Danny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
68 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2012

If you like shopping, this is the place to stay. It is on top of the Galleria Shopping Centre - the entrance to the mall is just 10 yards from the hotels elevators. It is a very upscale shopping centre too with the like of Macys, Nordstrom, Saks, Abercrombie + fitch, Hollister, Gap, Aldo, Apple, Sony, Gucci, Burberry, etc etc etc. The hotel itself is very good too. The rooms are big and very comfortable, nicely (but a bit plainly) decorated but very well maintained. The bed is definitely worth a mention - very comfortable. Like many US hotels, the toilet is a bit of a let down. Wired internet worked straightaway (which is not always the case in many hotels which insist on wifi but wifi signal is not very strong). Conceirge is helpful, reception is efficient. The hotel's restaurant is the Daily Grill - access to which is via the shopping mall - and its pretty good too, There are other options in the shopping mall itself - the Oceanaire seafood restaurant is very very good (and I had lunch and a dinner there), there is a steak house, and a food court. Will certainly stay here again when I come to Houston again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChiFT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
westin_oaks, Guest Relations Coordinator at Westin Galleria Houston Hotel, responded to this review, 14 February 2012
ChiFT, we truly appreciate you taking a moment to share your story with us on TripAdvisor! We are so happy you enjoyed our amazing service, location, room accommodations, heavenly bed and restaurant. Thanks again for your insightful review and we look forward to your return for another excellent experience. Be Well, Danny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Houston hotels
Great Uptown
Hyatt Regency Houston/Galleria
Great Uptown
JW Marriott Houston
JW Marriott Houston
#30 of 497 in Houston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 771 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Great Uptown
Sheraton Suites Houston Near The Galleria
Great Uptown
Hyatt Place Houston/Galleria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westin Galleria Houston Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin Galleria Houston Hotel

Property: Westin Galleria Houston Hotel
Address: 5060 W Alabama St, Houston, TX 77056-5801
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston > Great Uptown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Luxury Hotel in Houston
#125 Business Hotel in Houston
Price range (per night): ₹ 10,103 - ₹ 22,868
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin Galleria Houston Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 487
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Expect a warm welcome when you arrive at The Westin Galleria Houston. Connected to The Galleria Shopping Center it is the only place to stay for ultimate leisure, entertainment and recreation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Starwood, Expedia, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Westin Galleria Houston Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Houston
Houston Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing