We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Guest beware....they charge for what should be complimentary.”
Review of The Houstonian

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Houstonian
Ranked #15 of 518 Hotels in Houston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 March 2012

Being that I work for a boutique hotel in Houston myself, small items such as toothpaste or pepto bismol should be complimentary. At least at my hotel they are. The Houstonian? $2.00! Not only that, but the front desk agent didn't seem willing to credit my bill as a one time courtesy. Outside of that, the hotel was wonderful. Concierge was very attentive as was the rest of the staff. My wife and I celebrated our first year anniversary last night, and would certainly return there again, but as a precaution, you will pay for simple toiletries that should be free.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank txtraveler1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (788)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

596 - 600 of 788 reviews

Reviewed 10 March 2012

I stayed at the Houstonian while in town visiting relatives. I enjoyed the quiet nature of my stay. The room was nice but was surprised with the small size of the bathroom. It was fine , just much smaller than I expected. The pools ( 3) were clean and well staffed. I also used the fitness center and the spa and they were both exceptional. This property , while in the middle of everything and near the galleria area, was in a parkland setting. I will stay here again. Also the staff was always helpful.

Room Tip: backside on concierge floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sck1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2012

My mom and I stayed here for a family wedding and had a mostly positive experience. If you love to swim, this is the hotel for you! Mom and I both loved the 3 gigantic swimming pools, which were heated in February to a comfy 88 degrees. The gym (in a separate building) has everything you could possibly want - awesome locker rooms, indoor and outdoor tracks, climbing wall, fitness classes, complimentary earphones for the machines, free water with lemon (and coffee and iced tea) - list is long! The spa is in a separate building that feels like a Houston version of the Petite Trianon. I had a massage from a friendly but not expert masseuse. Again, there was a lovely float pool in the spa. The hotel itself is in a 1980s-style black glass building surrounded by a very pretty garden and small woods. The black glass, hunting lodge decor and dark wood paneling make the place feel very masculine and Republican. George Bush Sr. and Barbara used to live here part-time. However Mom and I are Democrats and no one seemed to mind. Ask for a room that looks out the back of the hotel to the woods. Our room faced a courtyard (and a parking garage) and felt very dark. Beds were comfy and the housekeeping staff seemed to clean the room every time we left it. Breakfast in the restaurant was excellent (the waiter was particularly nice). There was a plumbing glitch that left us with no hot water for about an hour on Saturday afternoon. This was resolved, and the hotel agreed to credit us with free parking to make up for the inconvenience. I would happily return here.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the woods.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Celia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2012

My wife and I just left the Houstonian yesterday. We stayed there about 25 years ago but I don't really remember much about that stay. What I can say is everything looked new to us. I like the homey feel of the lobby. The beds were very comfortable and there was good HDTV reception. The free WiFi was very fast. I did a speed test and had a signal of 19-20 MPS in our room. That is the fastest I have received in any hotel. The service was excellent. The only reason I did not give it a 5 star rating was the food was good but not great. We drove there and I parked my own car which they allow. The only problem is that the parking garage is very tight. It would be very easy to scratch a fender so you have to take the curves at 1-2 miles an hour. Still you will not be disappointed if you stay here.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TexasWD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2012

nice rooms, friendly staff, but too expensive for what you get, there are a couple other options in the galleria for the equivalent amount of money and much nicer... the two restaurants are excellent, but again there are tons of restaurants in the area..
I don't think I will stay there again.

1  Thank mauriciotorey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Houston hotels
Great Uptown
Hotel Granduca Houston
Hotel Granduca Houston
#3 of 518 in Houston
829 reviews
Downtown
JW Marriott Houston Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Houston
Downtown
The Whitehall Houston
The Whitehall Houston
#6 of 518 in Houston
498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Houstonian? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Houstonian

Address: 111 N Post Oak Ln, Houston, TX 77024-7703
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston > Great Uptown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Houston
#9 Luxury Hotel in Houston
#11 Family Hotel in Houston
#12 Romantic Hotel in Houston
#21 Business Hotel in Houston
Price Range: ₹ 12,622 - ₹ 25,115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Houstonian 4.5*
Number of rooms: 291
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of Houston’s historic gems, this property is known for its grace, comfort and unparalleled guest experience. Located in the heart of Houston, The Houstonian Hotel, Club & Spa is a Forbes Travel Guide Four-Star, 18-acre retreat that defines authentic Texas luxury. The floor-to-ceiling wooded views envelop guests in a natural environment while offering the modern amenities and luxuries of home. Local areas of interest such as Downtown Houston, Memorial Park and The Galleria are just minutes away, offering guests the opportunity to escape into the city – not from it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Houstonian reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Houstonian Hotel Houston
Houstonian Hotel Houston
Houstonian Resort Houston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing