We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome service and property” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crowne Plaza Houston River Oaks

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Crowne Plaza Houston River Oaks
Ranked #60 of 501 Hotels in Houston
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
42 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Awesome service and property”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2012 via mobile

I have been staying at this property on Saturday nights from August 2011 to April 2012 while I was working an interim position. I flew in from Dallas most everyu weekend of the month ( not all but close to it).
The rooms are great from standard rooms to the large suites. Most of all David at the front desk is just the best at customer service... When I walked in he knew me by name and had my check- in ready each time. I felt at home. When in Houston this property in the Upper Kirby/ River Oaks area is the place to stay.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Wayne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dhollier, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Houston River Oaks, responded to this review, 28 April 2012
Hello Wayne D,
Thank you for sharing your story! I'm glad you enjoyed our hotel & services for the past 4 months. I will let David know that he was acknowledged in your review & that you had such kind words to say about him. I know that there are many other hotel options so we really appreciate that you chose the Crowne Plaza & we look forward to your return! Have a wonderful day!
Take Care,
Debbie Hollier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,579 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    977
    308
    162
    73
    59
See reviews for
243
183
102
583
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (277)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2012

We have relied on Crowne Plaza River Oaks for many guest visiting from from out of town. Not only are the rates fair, but the service is outstanding. Dimples Boettcher works with our group regularly and goes above and beyond with her team to ensure that our lodging requests are accommodated.

I can attest that the rooms are fabulous, dining is wonderful and the decor is warm and welcoming. Several individuals from my company have had formal meetings, lunch, dinner or breakfast meetings here with no complaint. The location is most convenient, as it is in proximity of the Medical Center, the freeway, Rice University and more. Also, Crowne Plaza River Oaks has a very dependable shuttle service that many of us have used used time and time again.

This is a great place for lodging. I recommend this location regularly.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ExpeditionConsultant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dhollier, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Houston River Oaks, responded to this review, 26 April 2012
Hello expeditionconsultant,
Wow! Your review made my day! Thank you for acknowledging Dimples hard work and the rest of the staff. I loved reading your gracious comments about our location, hotel & services. I am happy to hear that you left completely satisfied & that you will be returning! Have a great day!Take Care,
Debbie Hollier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2012

Our Italian club has used your hotel for several events, Christmas party, Mother's Day luncheon, etc. Jeana Auger has been especially easy to work with and has given us such wonderful experiences. Also, I have personally worked with Dimples Boettcher in connection with Crowne Plaza River Oaks being the Host Hotel of our 34th Houston Italian Festival. This is the second year to have them as our Host Hotel and we are so pleased that our out-of-town guests have been treated with kid gloves. We expect to continue this association for many years to come.

Margie D

Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Margie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dhollier, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Houston River Oaks, responded to this review, 26 April 2012
Hello Margie D,
Thank you so much for recognizing my sales team! I loved reading your comments and I am thrilled that our team takes such great care of you. Our sales team takes great pride in their jobs. We really appreciate your loyalty. We look forward to your next event!
Take Care,
Debbie Hollier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durango, Colorado
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2012

Last fall, I was in charge of booking rooms for several college buddies getting together to see some Astros games. I found the reservation process easy, the rates wonderful, and the help confirming arrangements close to the check-in date was particularly helpful. Dimples and her staff took care of our every need. I found the rooms clean and comfortable. The bar was a great place for us all to catch up with each other. Should I have the opportunity to visit Houston again with a group, the Crown Plaza would be a top choice.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dhollier, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Houston River Oaks, responded to this review, 23 April 2012
Hello Bob T,
Thank you for your comments & for making us your #1 hotel choice in Houston! I am happy to hear that not only did Dimples take great care of you but you enjoyed everything that the hotel has to offer. We appreciate your business & we hope that this season you will come back to visit. Go Astros!
Take Care,
Debbie Hollier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
houston
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2012

Dimples Boettcher was a life saver! She provided excellent service, given the limited amount of time to prepare. She assisted me in making arrangements for a major celebration with over 200 guests. The food was amazing, the setting was elegant and the wait staff very attentive. It all made for a wonderful experience leaving our guests more than satisfied.

Kathy E.

Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank kathy e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dhollier, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Houston River Oaks, responded to this review, 23 April 2012
Hello Kathy e,
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments! I am happy to hear that the entire staff was able to work together to make sure you had a flawless event! Dimples has many years of experience and always does a great job with her attention to detail. The Banquet staff we have here is top notch and we look forward to taking care of your group again!
Take Care,
Debbie Hollier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Houston hotels
Modern B&B
#58 of 501 in Houston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Medical Center
Wyndham Houston - Medical Center Hotel and Suites
Greenway/ Upper Kirby
Courtyard Houston-West University
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Houston River Oaks? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Houston River Oaks

Property: Crowne Plaza Houston River Oaks
Address: 2712 Southwest Fwy, Houston, TX 77098-4607
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#49 Business Hotel in Houston
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,955 - ₹ 11,976
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Houston River Oaks 3.5*
Number of rooms: 354
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and discover the best location in Houston! The Crowne Plaza Houston River Oaks is centrally located in the center of it all! You are a short ride to the Galleria area, the Texas Medical Center, Reliant Park, Toyota Center, Minute Maid Park, the George R. Brown Convention Center and the Central Business District. There are also dozens of restaurants and nightlife in walking distance or take the hotel shuttle anywhere in a 3 mile radius. Guest rooms are very spacious and well appointed with microwaves and micro-fridges in every room. Throughout our hotel, you will encounter eclectic yet elegant design. Comfortably relax in restyled conversation areas and let us take care of you with warm Texas hospitality. To enhance your stay please know that we are prepared to cater to your every need, and we are proud to offer the Sleep Advantage, Quiet Zone & Guaranteed Wake Up Call programs to help ensure you get the best sleep possible and start your day right. For your business needs you can count on complimentary High-Speed Wireless Internet throughout the hotel, a full service business center, complimentary shuttle service to nearby offices and coffee in the lobby. The Crowne Plaza Houston River Oaks is located near Greenway Plaza, Occidental, Koch Industries, Chevron, Fugro, University of Houston, Rice University, TSU, Houston Baptist University to name a few. We look forward to serving you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda and IHG so you can book your Crowne Plaza Houston River Oaks reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Houston River Oaks Hotel Houston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing