We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Worthy of The Four Seasons Name”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Four Seasons Hotel Houston
Ranked #22 of 518 Hotels in Houston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 January 2012

Valet Parking only at hotel at a cost of $30.00 per day (Note there is a public parking garage within 100 yards of this hotel and easy walk across the street to hotel)

Also note if you are a hotel guest and have valet parked. Don't use car on a busy night where an event might be occuring at hotel. You do not get priority when you return and hotel's garage is filled up !!!!

Very expensive prices at hotel restaurant Quattro and room service. During Happy Hour for four cost $98.00 (plus tip) for six happy hour drinks and some finger food. Portions were small.

Note on third floor of hotel can take sky bridge to mall across the street where there is a variety of restaurants and take out for very reasonable prices. Also within one block there is a full service grocery store.

Small frig in hotel is stocked w/ hotel "for sale" food and beverage and no room for anything you might want to put in there.

Received confirmation e-mail stating room had been reserved w/ upgrade of room and pool view. Arrived at hotel, checked in and room was a Disability Room w/ view of one of the tallest buildings in Houston across the street and a pool could be seen if you look at another hotel on a diagonal angle across the street.

Room was NOT that clean (carpet and bedding) AND there was absolutely no counter space in bathroom.

Incident happened during stay where a Pro Football team had checked into the hotel. Myself and several other people were on the 3rd floor trying to get to our rooms located on double digit floors. Waited approx FIFTEEN minutes w/ "UP" button push for elevator. We could hear voices in all four elevators as they passed our floor. I called down to the front desk on my cell, identified myself and told desk front attendant what was occurring. I was told "Thanks for Understanding" I asked if elevators had been keyed to go to direct floor of where team was staying? Clerk advised no. (This turned out NOT TO BE TRUE as later I asked members of team and they said YES !!!) Clerks attempt at placate language to my complaint was very annoying as she was offering no solution to my now 25 minute wait.

I pushed down button and elevator finally stopped, we all got on to the elevator went down two floors, doors opened, glared and football players (who did not get on) then finally got lift to our floors.

On check out process when I got the question "How was your stay" I told the clerk of my elevator experience and 25 minute wait where I received a reply that they would make a note of it.............Really, Seriously and what will that note say????? Come on Man.....

Based on prices, false e-mail about booked rooms and hotel staff non-caring attitude about a legit complaint not likely to stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms that face Lamar Street have abosolutely no view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheMayfs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DBurghartz, General Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Houston, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback concerning your recent stay at Four Seasons Houston. I am very disappointed to hear about the service you received and I sincerely apologize.

Our Front Desk Manager will be contacting you shortly to follow up on your stay. I hope when you return to Houston, that you consider giving us another try.

Kind Regards,
Dirk Burghartz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,555)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,361 - 1,365 of 1,555 reviews

Reviewed 5 January 2012

My 10th anniversary fell in the middle of the week so, decided to do a quick "staycation" and booked a suite at the Four Seasons to take advantage of both access to the membership-only Foundation Room at the House of Blues (a VIP package offered on-line) and treatments at the spa. Despite having asked the concierge to make dinner reservations prior to our arrival, discovered they had not been made and, in fact, the Foundation Room was closed for inventory. Kudos to Melissa for immediately recognizing that this was a special night that was about to come apart and making arrangements for us to dine in the private wine cellar of the hotel's wonderful restaurant Quattro - the bottle of champagne and truffles delivered to the room were also a nice touch :-)

Although Melissa was the shining star for us, all of the staff were friendly and very attentive. And the little extra touches like the valet having dog treats and a water bowl at the entrance to the hotel - and bottled water for us humans - made our stay even more enjoyable.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the pool - it's lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spinntx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2012

Location wasn't great, the adjoining mall was very basic and had average shops. Only 5minute walk to Macy's though. Room was stylish and well appointed. Staff very helpful. Hotel atmosphere was nice.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trudy987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2012

We checked in early and because it was Christmas week, the hotel was not heavily occupied. The staff was friendly and greeted us by name. We prepaid for a suite and the room was ready for us with a gift for both of my young kids, along with a personal welcome message for both the children in the room. The staff provided extra robes for the children. The pool was well appointed and so was the gym. I reserved a spa appointment online which they didn't have upon arriving, but the staff provided a new spa appointment for the next day which was acceptable. Overall, a very nice experience.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2011

We checked in early on Friday evening, and we were greeted by everyone we saw. Check-in was quick and easy, and our room was great. We ordered room service and were surprised at how fast the order arrived; the food was hot and tasty, and the pickup for the dirty dishes was only about 5 minutes.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Houston hotels
Downtown
JW Marriott Houston Downtown
Great Uptown
The St. Regis Houston
The St. Regis Houston
#30 of 518 in Houston
663 reviews
Great Uptown
Hotel Granduca Houston
Hotel Granduca Houston
#4 of 518 in Houston
850 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Westin Houston Downtown
Downtown
Hyatt Regency Houston
Hyatt Regency Houston
#34 of 518 in Houston
2,027 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Seasons Hotel Houston? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Hotel Houston

Address: 1300 Lamar St, Houston, TX 77010-3017
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Houston
#5 Spa Hotel in Houston
#10 Business Hotel in Houston
#12 Luxury Hotel in Houston
#16 Family Hotel in Houston
Price Range: ₹ 19,226 - ₹ 38,003 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Hotel Houston 5*
Number of rooms: 404
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of downtown and just steps away from Houston's renowned cultural attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Prestigia so you can book your Four Seasons Hotel Houston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Seasons Hotel Houston
Four Seasons Houston
Houston Four Seasons

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing