We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Allergic people beware” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Doubletree Hotel Houston Downtown

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Doubletree Hotel Houston Downtown
Ranked #86 of 499 Hotels in Houston
San Francisco
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Allergic people beware”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2012

I am highly allergic to down and feathers (I have a set of symptoms I only get from an exposure), and I requested a room that was free of them. Pillows from a regular room were removed but it appeared they missed something as I got sick. My room was changed, but the new room was still clearly not down free and as a result I got acutely ill which snowballed to serious repercussions to my health. This is an older hotel that has not been updated and the windows do not open so the rooms has recirculated air. I travel frequently and hotels usually have designated rooms for this all too common allergy, they do not.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aahlife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,032 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    339
    344
    192
    96
    61
See reviews for
143
223
78
461
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2012

The bad first.....

It smelled like a sewer outside my room in the hall. Like a bit o' pee and a bit o' poo.

I don't like Houston. The city shuts down at night. There's nothing to do or eat (see my review of the Hard Rock!) Now, that's not the Doubletree's doing, nor does that affect my review. I just thought I would throw that in there.

The good...

Good value for the money. Room was clean. Smell from the hall never made it as far as the interior of the room.

Nice staff. Good location in the loop. Nice lobby.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bingbangboing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toya B, Manager at Doubletree Hotel Houston Downtown, responded to this review, 19 April 2012
Thank you for taking the time to send us feedback on your stay with us. We will look into the order smell as well. We hope you choose us on your return visit to Houston!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
florida
Level Contributor
100 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2012

Location is not great for restaurants and attractions, but they offer a nice shuttle. Front desk and breakfast staff were very friendly. And helpful. Rooms are ok but I was on the Hh floor and surprised by how much noise traveled between rooms.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank xanthoxylum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toya B, Manager at Doubletree Hotel Houston Downtown, responded to this review, 18 April 2012
Thank you for choosing DoubleTree by Hilton Houston Downtown for your stay while visiting Houston! We appreciate your feedback and I hope we are the top of your list when you return to Houston!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Garland, Texas
Level Contributor
93 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2012

Hotel staff was very friendly upon registration and we were up in our room WITH the delicious cookies they offer at checkin within minutes. Our room was very nice, huge bathroom for a change. The bath tub was unusually big so I quickly set up a bubble bath to relax after being on my feet all day. Wonderful. I LOVE the Evelyn and Crabtree soaps/shampoo/cond that they offer so much that I am searching out a store to purchase some. I was so tired and my bed was so comfortable I barely was up to check out timely! Nice. Quiet. Comfortable. A real winner in my book!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Haywhitmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toya B, Manager at Doubletree Hotel Houston Downtown, responded to this review, 13 April 2012
Thank you for your feedback! We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay at DoubleTree by Hilton Houston Downtown! Please keep us in mind on your return visit to Houston.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kemah, Texas
Level Contributor
54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2012

I was there for an all-day meeting yesterday. First off they wouldn't valet park my car because I wasn't there for photo fest even though I was there for a big meeting. It was a major rainy daybin Houston. So, I parked about 4 buildings away so I could use the walkways to get to the hotel. I get to the front and they tell me the meeting is canceled. I walk all the way back to my car only to have my office tell me it is not canceled. I go back to the front desk and they told me they made a mistake. The rest of the day went ok but needless to say I won't be scheduling anymore meetings there. FYI tripadvisor made me rate the rooms and value. I didn't stay in the room so I gave it a good rating to be fair.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Roxanne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Houston hotels
Downtown
Club Quarters Hotel in Houston
Downtown
Hyatt Regency Houston
Hyatt Regency Houston
#35 of 499 in Houston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,677 reviews
Downtown
The Whitehall Houston
The Whitehall Houston
#3 of 499 in Houston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
SpringHill Suites Houston Downtown/Convention Center
Downtown
Homewood Suites by Hilton Houston Downtown
Downtown
Holiday Inn Houston Downtown
Holiday Inn Houston Downtown
#105 of 499 in Houston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree Hotel Houston Downtown? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree Hotel Houston Downtown

Property: Doubletree Hotel Houston Downtown
Address: 400 Dallas St, Houston, TX 77002-4777
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#43 Romantic Hotel in Houston
#111 Business Hotel in Houston
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,446 - ₹ 22,203
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Doubletree Hotel Houston Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 350
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct and Agoda so you can book your Doubletree Hotel Houston Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Houston
Houston Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing