We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very fine house, and at a modest price.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
HI-Houston: The Morty Rich Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 9 January 2012

This hostel is in a fine old house between the Museum District and downtown Houston. We enjoyed a private room in the old carriage house, and breakfast with a variety of world travelers. Beautiful grounds, swimming pool, gazebo, hammock. And a charming hostess. Plus the use of several large rooms on the main floor. All for $75 a night. Why doesn't everybody use hostels? I don't know, but it's a great way to travel and make memories.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank suemap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (121)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

100 - 104 of 121 reviews

Reviewed 5 January 2012

A beautiful place with an outdoor swimming pool, hammock, biscuits, nutella, peanut butter and jelly. Everything is clean and comfortable, locked rooms, private or shared. I stayed here for a business trip. I love the company a hostel has to offer, since I travel alone. The staff is extremely firendly. Houston hotel taxes are extremely high at around 17%

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lpaigeh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2011

Having visited multiple times for work, I have been in different rooms every time, from the townhouses to the pool house to the main building, and I can honestly say they are all very high standard. The owners are very polite and considerate and gave me advice on where to eat, rent cars, visit etc.

I usually stay for 2 weeks at a time and as such renting a car is unnecessary as my office is literally over the road from the Lovett Inn, this however, isn't a problem as there is a fantastic bus route just outside which goes quite regularly to the Galleria and all the way back to downtown for $1.25 a journey.

There are a handful of restaurants nearby of varying quality, and a wallgreens very close if you want to grab a snack or last minute toiletries etc.

All in all I really like this place, it's not lifeless and sterile like a lot of hotels I've stayed in, and is perfectly equidistant to the food court and shopping, and downtown night life.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WolfyManUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2011

This property is being renovated for use as a hostel in the Hostelling International network, and will continue to have private rooms with ensuite bathroom available, and will serve a continental breakfast. Scheduled re-opening is late August. hiusa.org/newhoustonhostel for details. I am an uncompensated volunteer with the local HI group.

Stayed: July 2011, travelled solo
1  Thank TexasDouglas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 漫遊者
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Houston hotels
Quality Inn & Suites North
#366 of 518 in Houston
62 reviews
Modern B&B
#76 of 518 in Houston
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Whitehall Houston
The Whitehall Houston
#6 of 518 in Houston
498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HI-Houston: The Morty Rich Hostel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HI-Houston: The Morty Rich Hostel

Address: 501 Lovett Blvd, Houston, TX 77006-4020 (Formerly Lovett Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 53 Speciality Lodging in Houston
Price Range: ₹ 2,076 - ₹ 4,605 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — HI-Houston: The Morty Rich Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the best hostel in Houston! HI-Houston: The Morty Rich Hostel is the only hostel to offer 24 check-in, outdoor swimming pool and a full-sized pool table. We also offer free WIFI, computers with free internet access, onsite laundry, free parking, 24 hour access to all common areas and the fully equipped kitchen and an extra special complimentary breakfast every morning from 7:30-10:00am!! HI-Houston is located on a beautiful tree lined boulevard in the diverse and funky neighborhood of Montrose. We are surrounded by some of the most popular restaurants, bars and coffee shops in Houston! We are also conveniently located just 2 blocks away from a 24 hour Walgreens and a 24 hour grocery store. Coming to Houston for a conference at the George R. Brown Convention Center. We are 1 block away from #81 & #82 bus lines that will drop you off in front of the convention center. Want to come shopping at the Galleria or get a visa in the Post Oak area, we are located just one block away from the buses that will get you there! HI-Houston is also conveniently located just 1 mile away from the famous Menil Collection and Rothko Chapel and just 2 miles away from Houston's amazing Museum District and Hermann Park! Whether you are coming to Houston to work, play or just relax...HI-Houston is the place for you! Never stayed at a hostel before! Hostels mainly consist of dormitory style rooms, where you will have the opportunity to interact with guests from all over the world. Hostels are a great place to make new friends and save a little money while your traveling. Come and try us out!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your HI-Houston: The Morty Rich Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing