We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to have a meal and drinks”
Review of Monarch

Monarch
Reserve a table
2
Fri, 30/09
20:00
Ranked #72 of 8,995 Restaurants in Houston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $35
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighbourhood: The Museum District
Cross street: Main St and Ewing St
Transit: Museum District stop on Houston Metrorail.
Description: Like everything at Hotel ZaZa, the dining room and nightlife space are designed to entice your every sense. Hotel Zaza dares you to lose yourself in the intoxicating aromas, layered flavors and unexpected touches of the “see and be scene” Monarch Restaurant & Lounge. So come, play, revel, and experience dining and entertainment in the Houston area that’s a world apart.
Reviewed 17 August 2022

We enjoyed every meal at the Monarch. The atmosphere is very nice and the decor attractive. The restaurant and bar staff are excellent!

Date of visit: August 2022
Thank Mark_2011_11_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Write a reviewReviews (351)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 351 reviews

Reviewed 2 August 2022 via mobile

Dimas was incredible! He was attentive, funny and knew the menu like the back of his hand.
We will definitely come back, recommend sitting at the bar.

Date of visit: August 2022
Thank Marissa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 2 August 2022 via mobile

Zaza is close to where I work and we know we can always come to the Monarch for good libations and food after work. Highly recommend!

Date of visit: August 2022
Thank Mlbanks75
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 27 July 2022 via mobile

My CoPilot. And I were looking for a good meal after a long day flying. Staying by the Medical Center in Houston we found the Monarch on a quick map search. It had great ratings and the pics showed an inviting environment. Pulling into valet me knew we would be in for a special experience. The Hotel Zara is charming and boutique. Making our way to Monarch we were greeted to a quiet and elegant ambiance. Slightly dim and inviting. We were greeted by Juan the bartender. His smile and friendly demeanor made us feel instantly at home. He was attentive and helpful during the entire experience. The cocktails were generous and tasty. We ordered the spicy jalapeño calamari for an appetizer. It was crispy and spicy if you wanted to dip. I ordered the Salmon, medium rare. The large portion was presented perfectly cooked and delicious. Perfect meal. Dessert of brownie and ice cream followed. Can’t say enough about this restaurant. Juan was amazing. We’ll be back. And compliments to chef. We’ll done.

Date of visit: July 2022
Thank S2383MTtimk
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 24 July 2022

Dined there twice during our last stay. Especially enjoyed the NY Strip Maytag Salad and Calamari. Staff is very attentive and the atmosphere is relaxing, love that "outdoor" area. Would love to sit out there on a stormy night!
Ordered the Club Sandwich ( room service ) on a previous visit, also good.

Date of visit: July 2022
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Reilly F
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Travellers who viewed Monarch also viewed

Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Monarch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing