We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Restaurant Week Delicious” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Brennan's of Houston

Brennan's of Houston
Reserve with OpenTable
Brennan's of Houston is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #10 of 8,115 Restaurants in Houston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 25 - US$ 100
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Bar Scene, Child-friendly, Romantic, Groups
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighbourhood: Midtown
Cross street: Stuart
Description: Since our 1967 opening as a sister restaurant to the world-famous Commander's Palace in New Orleans, Brennan's of Houston has evolved into the city's premier destination for memorable dining served with true Southern hospitality. From the reservationist to the waiters, chefs and every associate behind the scenes, our team is focused on the highest standard of excellence and equally dedicated to creating enduring memories of snapshots in time: the sealing of business deals, wedding proposals, joyful celebrations, and the marking of significant milestones along life's way. And the proof is in the (bread) pudding, with loyal patrons returning time and again to create new memories.Reflecting the same warmth as our friendly greeting, each farewell concludes with Brennan's signature lagniappe: an abundance of unforgettably fresh pecan pralines.
Mill Creek, Washington
Level Contributor
107 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Restaurant Week Delicious”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2012

We dined with a large group last year for Restaurant Week. The ambiance of the restaurant was terrific. The lighting was intriguing. The food was fantastic. Terrific spot for a special night out.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Karyn_D680
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

771 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    550
    145
    56
    14
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Windsor, CT
Level Contributor
328 reviews
202 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Elegance Near the Interstate”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2012

Great food, great menu, quiet interior. Service was a bit slow.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Dr_Bill_Corcoran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
311 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
“Great Seafood”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2012

This is the same Brennan's as in New Orleans, which means everything on the menu is great. The menu focuses almost entirely on seafood, and while the selection is relatively small compared to a lot of seafood restaurants, the emphasis is on the quality of the dishes rather than the quantity of items on the menu. My blackened fish served over green beans was delicious. The desserts are amazing. Bananas foster is cooked tableside. Be sure to look for the complimentary pecan pralines on a stand near the hostess station. They are as good as anything on the menu, and you will wish you had taken two.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Wedgewood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hattiesburg,
Level Contributor
77 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Enjoyed the food!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2012

Service is a bit slow since they like to give you time between appetizers, entrees, etc. So make sure that you have time to spare!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sg2011523
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston
Level Contributor
42 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“One of the best Anywhere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2012

My wife, daughter and I revisited Brennan's after a 15 year absence. We have lived in Houston for 27 years and for the first 12 Brennan's was our favorite for special occasions and entertaining guests. A disagreement with a management member (not the owner)over a business matter ; not the food or service caused us to stop going. That individual is long gone and we returned to have my daughter consider the site for her wedding reception. The food, service, ambiance, and hospitality were as we remembered; if not better. My daughter had a tenderloin, my wife had fish, and I had crab cakes. Each could not have been better. The turtle soup is a specialty and recommended if you enjoy mildly spicy foods. We have dined throughout North America, Europe, and Asia. Brennan's is hard to beat, anywhere. It is expensive, but you can spend a lot more without the same assurance of consistently excellent food and service.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Equiluck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Brennan's of Houston also viewed

Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Brennan's of Houston? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing