We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious food and a great night spot.”
Review of Sambuca

Sambuca
Reserve with OpenTable
Sambuca is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #253 of 8,288 Restaurants in Houston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 21 - US$ 40
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Romantic, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighbourhood: Downtown
Houston, TX
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
“Delicious food and a great night spot.”
Reviewed 29 December 2011

I have been here on a few different occasions. One time was dinner with the family where I had the seared scallops which were a great size, fresh, and very well prepared.

Another time was for drinks and live music. Lots of fun if you like to dance.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank AimeeinTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

312 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    112
    117
    50
    15
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Scarsdale, NY
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Awesome”
Reviewed 22 December 2011

Ate here with my co-workers and it did not dissappoint. Service was great and the food was even better. They live music every night adds a good vibe to the restaurant as well. The price point for quality of the food is amazing. I had a better steak here than the steak house we went to the day before.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank PECCruiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level 6 Contributor
1,462 reviews
777 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 522 helpful votes
“Great Location For the Houston Theater District”
Reviewed 13 December 2011

Located in the historic Rice Hotel, this restaurant is very convenient to the theater district of Houston. Since we went to an early show performance we got to the restaurant just as it opened and too early for the live music. However, the staff was ready for us and very friendly. We started with the Fried Shrimp bites drizzled with sweet and sour sauce. For our entrees we had the Citrus Salmon, Lobster Enchiladas, and the Filet with port wine bordelaise, topped with Gorgonzola Walnut Butter and asparagus. Also a nice bottle of red wine as suggested by our waiter.
Nice atmosphere and good food will go back and recommend this for anyone going to the theater.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CDM49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NY
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Good food, very nice space”
Reviewed 6 December 2011

The highlight of this restaurant is the space - big but well apportioned and segmented. The server was attentive, mostly. Definitely focused on up-selling. The food rec'd was good - but for example the mac & cheese w/proscuitto was not "to die for" as suggested - in fact, I thought it was a little bland. Everyone seemed to enjoy their meals and they were attractively presented. I would go back in a group where I wanted to make sure there was something for everyone.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
181 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Fun Downtown Experience”
Reviewed 22 November 2011

During a recent trip to Houston, we wandered in to Sambuca's since it was only a block from our hotel. The place looked funky and different from the steakhouses which seem to dominate the downtown dining scene. We weren't disappointed. The drinks were good as were the salads and shrimp cocktail. The pork chops (we split an order) were good and well prepared. Our server (Sharlene) was welcoming and personable. We didn't stay for the music as we had had a long travel day but we've heard it's good. The only criticism we had was that our server didn't seem to understand what gluten free meant and was too quick to recommend items that we knew contained gluten. We had to insist that she actually talk to the chef to clarify some items. In spite of this, we really enjoyed the restaurant and highly recommend it.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank trailman1943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sambuca also viewed

Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Sambuca? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing