We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small space, great ambiance, amazing food!”
Review of Lucille's

Lucille's
Get food delivered
Ranked #57 of 9,026 Restaurants in Houston
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Neighbourhood: The Museum District
Reviewed 7 March 2019 via mobile

Every dish was perfectly cooked and delicious. The space was warm and inviting without too much pretension. It was a perfect Helen of class and casual. I got the fish fry (red snapper) which was amazing. Also had the ribeye which was delicious as well. We had the fried green tomatoes, scallops, and squash. All were ok honestly perfect and the aioli sauce on the fried green tomatoes was a perfect combination.

Highly recommend this little gem for a more local dining experience.

Date of visit: March 2019
1  Thank ILikeCheckingBags
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviews (286)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

58 - 62 of 286 reviews

Reviewed 27 February 2019

We had a long and pleasant lunch at Lucille's in Houston's Museum District. Chili bischits were very tasty. Fried oysters were excellent. Also, the chicken. We would happily return.

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank Arthur H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 14 January 2019

Our lunch there on Thursday (1/10) prompted us to come back that evening for dinner. Both experiences were outstanding. Very pleasing interior. Lovely server whom we had for both meals. Southern-inspired cuisine - were recommended the chili biscuits and the fried green tomatoes as signature dishes of the house - lived up to billing. Had a fried oyster BLT for lunch with a green salad - the greens were perfectly dressed and worked very well not only with the sandwich (which itself was unbelievably good) but they also were great as a foil to the tomatoes and chili biscuits.

Dinner - had a wonderful cocktail (the Aftershift) - like a Manhattan, but even better - and the scallop appetizer was the best scallop dish I think I've ever had. PERFECTLY TURNED OUT. Entree was Yard Bird - the fried chicken with mashed potatoes and greens - chicken came with a thyme glaze - Dessert was lemon icebox pie with a toasted meringue topping. It, too, was all it needed to be and more. The place had a wonderful vibe of neighborhood, of history, of family, and it turned out marvelous and inspired food for us. Cannot recommend highly enough. Worth seeking out and finding.

Date of visit: January 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank bryand548
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 21 December 2018 via mobile

So glad we chose Lucille’s for an early dinner! The food and service were both outstanding. From the famous chili biscuits, to the fried chicken with mashed potatoes and braised collard greens, to the shrimp and grits with andouille and sherry tomato broth - it was all so good! Definitely make time to go here for lunch or dinner if you are visiting the museum district or the zoo. It’s a “must do.”

Date of visit: December 2018
1  Thank InnTraveler_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 17 December 2018 via mobile

Good southern cooking. They accommodated our party of eight for Sunday brunch. The server was knowledgeable about the menu and very helpful. The shrimp and grits where wonderful. The appetizers of fried oysters, fried tomatoes and chili biscuits were delicious. Other foods that were ordered was the chicken fried steak, croissant French toast, cajun special, and standard scrambled eggs and bacon. Will definitely keep it in mind for next family outing.

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank jacktn13
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Travellers who viewed Lucille's also viewed

Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Lucille's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing