We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Wonderful stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection
Ranked #21 of 499 Hotels in Houston
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2012

As someone that enjoys restoration this hotel was outstanding. Well done, wonderful detail. They even upgrades me to a penthouse ( with a great view and amazing bathroom). I will stay here from now on when I travel to the area

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sgtmp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

972 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    558
    265
    81
    38
    30
See reviews for
98
332
68
329
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
43 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2012

I stayed at Hotel Icon last weekend. It is a nice boutique hotel. Personally, I like the rooms at Alden better. The rooms are styled reminiscent of how rooms would look at an old 1900s manor. The bathroom is nice and spacious. The free shuttle service is outstanding and will take you anywhere within 3 miles of the hotel. Location is excellent. Service is excellent. The only "non-positive" I have is that I forgot my toothpaste and at any other hotel I have been to they will give me a small trial size or 1 use toothpaste, but they said it cost 1.50. The have a 24 hour gym in the basement which was not crowded when I went to work out. Very nice, quiet hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jabesta123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
177 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2012

Spent 4 nights here when in Houston on business. Handy to downtown, handy to restaurants, handy to bars on Main Street, handy to the Sunday morning drunks released from the City Jail looking for bus fare.

Boutique hotel with a cow theme. Or they could be bulls. Nice spacious rooms, free wifi and sizeable and functioning bathroom. Big TV. Quite limited breakfast menu but soemthing for everyone.

Found front desk staff very helpful.

Not significantly different to the Lancaster where I stayed last time in Houston.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SandDragon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthews, North Carolina
Level Contributor
126 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2012

I'm generally not a huge fan of the old-fashioned boutique-style hotel; if I wanted a five-star experience, I'd go with a modern hotel, but that doesn't take away from rating Hotel Icon as five stars. My king room was very large and clean, and the bathroom with both shower and sunken tub was equally large. While I'm normally a stickler for updated decor, all the older decor in the room matched the style of the hotel perfectly. The building itself is gorgeous, and the front desk staff was very helpful (I was staying on a Friends & Family rate, but they treated me as if I was paying a full rate, which would have been $250+ per night). I ate breakfast at the hotel for two mornings, and was pleasantly surprised by the food quality - the pancakes specifically were delicious (and weren't too overpriced given the hotel). It isn't as centrally located downtown as other hotels and there aren't too many restaurants in the immediate couple blocks if that's important to you - but it's still a great hotel in its own right.

Room Tip: Ensure you're not in the rooms right by the elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Doug H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria VA
Level Contributor
77 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2012

Very nice and well decorated. Clean and nice towels, sheets. The bathroom was great- huge tub and separate shower. The shuttle to local spots was super too. The front desk staff not that helpful but overall would recommend hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alexandriava
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Houston hotels
Downtown
Magnolia Hotel Houston
Magnolia Hotel Houston
#20 of 499 in Houston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,739 reviews
Downtown
The Lancaster
The Lancaster
#1 of 499 in Houston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,290 reviews
Hotel ZaZa Houston
#6 of 499 in Houston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
JW Marriott Houston Downtown
Downtown
The Whitehall Houston
The Whitehall Houston
#3 of 499 in Houston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
Great Uptown
Hotel Granduca Houston
Hotel Granduca Houston
#2 of 499 in Houston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 700 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection

Property: Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection
Address: 220 Main St, Houston, TX 77002-1706
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Houston
#16 Romantic Hotel in Houston
#25 Family Hotel in Houston
#33 Business Hotel in Houston
Price range (per night): ₹ 11,329 - ₹ 22,523
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 135
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Icon Hotel Houston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing