We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“handy for city centre”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection
Ranked #23 of 517 Hotels in Houston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 March 2012

handy for city centre and the tram system stops outside. parking was just next door

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank merrymac13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,150)
There are newer reviews for Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

907 - 911 of 1,150 reviews

Reviewed 17 February 2012

Stayed two nights in early Feb. Great lobby and dinning area. Staff was very attentive from the tme i stepped out of my car. Rooms are well appointed with seperate whirlpool tub and shower. Hotel is a bit isolated, but the have a great shuttle (suburban) that will run you to local dinning and entertainment. Overall a very good stay

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nuggetshow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2012

I would say this hotel is best for those who like "boutique" hotels with old world decor and ambiance. It's likely not for the business traveler though they do offer a shuttle to downtown business locales. Valet parking only is available on premises and cost about $30/night. My wife and I both arrived in separate cars due to different business obligations so $60/night was quite a penny to pay for parking. Paid lot and and metered parking is available off property but it's not convenient as none allows you to pay for 24-hour increments. If you're not willing to get up at 5 a.m. to pay for the "day parking", you'll get ticketed or booted. I was disappointed that even with utilizing the valet, no one offered to assist with our luggage. Two young strapping guys there just watched as my wife and I struggle to get into the lobby in order to check in.

Room Tip: Corner rooms seem larger.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GoEast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2012

I was puzzled by the positive reviews on Trip advisor for this hotel. Then after reading them again after I stayed here for 5 nights it occured to me that most travelers must be in a very relaxed state of mind when they stay here. When I travel on business I put in 10-12 hrs days regularly. As such quality service and efficiency matter to me. When vacationing I typically have a higher tolerance for poor service, less quality food, and the like. So I will not stay again at this hotel. I'll list my likes and dislikes .
Likes: Architecture is historic. Rooms comfortable and quiet, well equiped. The transportation shuttle service. Excellent offering and a life saver given the seedy character and deserted streets in Downtown (at least when it is after 6 pm.) Rooms are large and the bathroom is fabulous and even larger. Love the tub and shower. Quality ammentities. TV is large and has High definition channels. Maintenance was responsive and professional
Dislikes: Food at restaurant : Unhealthy, over priced, Incredible slow service, servers and bar personnel are more interested in talking with each other than servicing the guests Took 25 min for soup and salad at 9:30 pm. Soup was luke warm --I guess the microwave was not working since it would not pass a kitchen inspection if served this temp. Likely kept in the fridge and microwaved to heat up. If on a diet this is not the place to eat...except for salads Ordered a cucumber and tomatoe salad. Not exagerating 20 min to recieve and Approx 1/4 of a tomato, 1/8 of a cucumber, 3 bits of feta cheese , 1 slice of onion, a couple bits of shredded mint and maybe 20 pepitas . and I added 2 shrimp This very very small salad cost 13 $. 1/2 cup of soup was $7. I'm a lite eater and I left very hungry. Front Desk personnel are inconsistent. Ranged from excellent to disinterested.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MK_Cal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2012

I was only here for one night and, when I checked out , I forgot an item in my room. The Director of Housekeeping went above and beyond to see that it was mailed to me at my home which is quite far from Houston.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Watson571
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Houston hotels
Downtown
JW Marriott Houston Downtown
Downtown
Magnolia Hotel Houston
Magnolia Hotel Houston
#33 of 517 in Houston
2,815 reviews
Downtown
The Lancaster
The Lancaster
#1 of 517 in Houston
1,498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Great Uptown
Hotel Granduca Houston
Hotel Granduca Houston
#2 of 517 in Houston
813 reviews
Downtown
The Whitehall Houston
The Whitehall Houston
#5 of 517 in Houston
467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection

Address: 220 Main St, Houston, TX 77002-1706
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Houston
#16 Romantic Hotel in Houston
#25 Family Hotel in Houston
#33 Business Hotel in Houston
Price Range: ₹ 10,993 - ₹ 22,885 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 135
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Marriott and Expedia so you can book your Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Icon Hotel Houston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing