We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“medical check up at m. d. anderson”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Carefree Inn Houston Medical Center
Ranked #336 of 506 Hotels in Houston
denison tx
1 review
“medical check up at m. d. anderson”
Reviewed 21 February 2012

I have stayed at Care Free for the last years, they are very friendly and I traval by my self and I have beened scared to stay at care free. They pick me up at the bus station., which I know it is hard for them sometimes, but this is the only way I can get to the motel on my budget I live on the ok and tx line and it takes all day to get to Houston. My hunsband and I wont stay any where else. thanks marga skipworth

Room Tip: good location and several restauarts near by
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marga s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Latehours, General Manager at Carefree Inn Houston Medical Center, responded to this review, 21 February 2012
Thank you for taking the time to communicate about your stay on Trip Advisor. We appreciate all of the feedback we receive from our guests and are grateful for your words.

Thank you again for your comments. Your business is valued and we hope your future travel plans will continue with us. Home way from Home

At Your Service,

Sophia Serrano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

211 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    95
    47
    23
    16
    30
See reviews for
49
26
35
68
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
savannah,ga
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2012

This is an awesome little motel. It is conveniently located within 3 miles of the medical district. They have 2 shuttles that run several times per day and twice a day on wkends. The motel itself not brand new but has clean rooms, hot water, and free breakfast (cold cereal, waffles, donuts, toast, fruit, juice and coffee). Management is currently in process of replacing the mattresses. Yes, you can get to the lobby without getting wet. There is a restaurant located on premises for your lunch and dinner needs. There is a kitchen that is equipped with almost everything you need to prepare your own meals (yes, you do need to clean up after yourself when done cooking). The hotel is located in a safe neighborhood. My wife and I walk everywhere and never feel unsafe. If you are looking for a spa, pool, mints on your pillows, this is not the hotel for you. If you want a nice, clean, safe, fun, motel where management (Sophia) really cares about you and your stay....then this is definitely where you want to be. I am currently in the middle of a 3 month stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank carribbeanwinds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Latehours, General Manager at Carefree Inn Houston Medical Center, responded to this review, 17 February 2012
Dear Orr Family,

We are speechless for the acknowledgement you have give us. We are home away from home for many guest that travel to Texas Medical Center & we are truly blessed.

We care about our guest safety and comfort. Thank you so much for sharing your beautiful thoughts.

We love you both,,, hope you get better and better with your treatment. You and your family in our prayers always

Thank you,

Sophia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2012

My wife and I are 53 years old and travel extensively. We stayed at the hotel because of great advertising and price. Unfortunately, it was far from what we expected. Among those things you may want to consider before booking are: 1) there is no access from the hallways to the lobby without getting wet if it's a rainy day (which was our case), 2) The steps to the second floor are way too steep, 3) The parking lot is so uneven that under rain, you will walk in puddles to get to your car, 4) the curtains were hanging by bobby pins, 5) finally, unbelievable but true, there is a sign in the breakfast area that requests that you wash your own dishes. Isn't that part of the reason we love staying at a hotel...to get away from the daily chores at home? Think twice before booking!

Room Tip: Think twice before booking!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank George C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Latehours, General Manager at Carefree Inn Houston Medical Center, responded to this review, 15 February 2012
Dear Sir,
This is home away from away for many Guest travel to Texas Medical Center !!

We apologies for the all the misunderstanding about the hotel services and property condition.

As we spoke to day 02/15/12 @ 10 am, we have explained you all the details with conveying our apology.

As far as covered lobby entry we have three and they are all covered.
The stair case is what the city of Houston permits us to have, it is been here since this property has been operated,1945. We can not change that. This was the first complain we received. Your review will help us to request City Of Houston to help us construct changes to the building and getting approval.

About the dish washing issue, we have long term guest stay due to medical reason, the kitchen we remodel is for their use, despite our breakfast every morning. This helps many of our guest to save money by cooking their own meal. Using all our hotel given amenities.
We put up sign in that manner, so after their cooking they can wash their dishes in our provided sink with dish washing soap.

As for guest having breakfast we do the cleaning ourselves. Also when we have free time we help our guest to clean up. We have been so blessed property because our guest in house help us even in cleaning up. We are like a big happy family.

We want you to return back and enjoy the services again... We know will change your mind about our hotel. Here at Care Free Inn we believe in equality and safe sharing of services to your guest. Looking forward to hear from you again.

Blessing,

Thank you for the feed back, we promise to maintain our property clean and problem free.

Sophia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pharr
1 review
Reviewed 13 February 2012

Have stayed here several times and the rooms are simple but clean and houskeeping service and front desk are great....but the beds are HORRIBLE!!!! Medical patients need a good bed to come back to, not ones with huge holes in the middle, worn out and slide across the floor. I had to buy an eggcrate mattress to put on the bed so I could stay a few additional nights due to inablility to return home per MD orders. Dreaded going to sleep because I knew I would wake up so sore from the mattress.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KristeJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Latehours, Manager at Carefree Inn Houston Medical Center, responded to this review, 14 February 2012
Dear Kristi,

We care about your comfort. We have been replacing mattress in our hotel. We will look into the room you stayed this past week. We apologies for this sleeping discomfort.
Next visit of your we will make sure you get the best mattress to sleep inn and make you feel like home.

Wish you would have report during your stay, we would have replaced or moved you to another room to make you comfortable.

Thank you,

Management!!! Blessing !!!! we will be waiting for your return to make you comfortable with our new mattress.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annona, TX
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 February 2012

Clean rooms, good location, friendly people, lots of smiles.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patrick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Latehours, General Manager at Carefree Inn Houston Medical Center, responded to this review, 10 February 2012
Dear Patric,

Care Free Inn Team and management sending big hug and love from Houston.

It was a great pleasure meeting you and your family member. Your words of acknowledgement made our day.
We appreciate you choosing our hotel for your medical visit.

Blessing,

Sophia Serrano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Houston hotels
0.2 km away
Palace Inn Medical Center
Palace Inn Medical Center
#287 of 506 in Houston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
0.1 km away
Candlewood Suites Houston Medical Center
0.3 km away
Motel 6 Houston Medical Center - Reliant Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Houston SW-Medical Ctr Area
1.3 km away
Quality Inn & Suites Reliant Park/Medical Center
3.4 km away
Scottish Inn & Suites Reliant Park/Six Flags
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carefree Inn Houston Medical Center? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carefree Inn Houston Medical Center

Property: Carefree Inn Houston Medical Center
Address: 10015 Main St, 610 S. Loop and South Main, Houston, TX 77025-5209 (Formerly Carefree Inn Medical Center)
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #336 of 506 Hotels in Houston
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,620 - ₹ 4,202
Hotel Class:2 star — Carefree Inn Houston Medical Center 2*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Houston Medical Center Lodging.CareFree Inn is the best kept secret in Houston, TX. Our staff and service is top of the line and we offer comfortable and affordable accommodations. Our hotel is uniquely designed to embody an exotic place with a magical concept that represents the State of Texas. CareFree Inn is one of the leading hotels near Reliant Stadium and offers a family rate, group booking rate, government rate, Corp rate, student rate, AAA rate, AARP rate and TMC Texas Medical Center rate.Medical Patient Rate Hotels.When seeking accommodations near the Houston Medical Center, CareFree Inn provides recovering guests with a number of valuable amenities and services not found at many hotels. In addition to comfortable accommodations featuring a full continental breakfast, our guests will find they have access to a number of shopping and recreational opportunities. CareFree Inn is central to Reliant Stadium, shopping, dining and entertainment in Houston, TX.Houston Medical Center Lodging.Whether traveling to Houston, TX for business, medical treatment or vacation, CareFree Inn offers a friendly team of employees who make certain our guests have an enjoyable visit. As one of the leading Houston Medical Center hotels, our pledge is to provide customers with comfortable and affordable lodging. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld and Booking.com so you can book your Carefree Inn Houston Medical Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carefree Inn Medical Hotel Houston
Carefree Hotel Houston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing