We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“clean, new & close to airport”
Review of Airway Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Airway Inn
Ranked #385 of 517 Hotels in Houston
Lafayette, Louisiana
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“clean, new & close to airport”
Reviewed 12 March 2012

Hotel is just minutes from Houston Intercontinental Airport, appears nearly new, extremely clean and quiet, friendly, helpful staff, and reasonable rates. If you are staying in north Houston or need to be close to the airport, this is the best value that I have seen.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glenn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

249 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    49
    61
    44
    63
See reviews for
54
35
47
90
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2012

I had a 22 hour lay over in Houston on my way home. I did not want to spend it on the airport floor so went looking for the most affordable hotel within a few mile radius of the airport. My criteria were simple: warm shower, clean room, comfortable bed, low cost. This hotel was all of the above. I paid less than $50. The bed was very comfortable, the shower was warm and the room was clean. It even had HBO and free WiFi. The staff were pleasant and there was bagels and cereal before the free shuttle to the airport the following morning. There is neither a restaurant nor bar in the hotel and nothing nearby but the gas station/truck stop next door. It is in an industrial area about 4 miles from the airport. The gas station had fresh fruit, pizza and I think chicken. Not fine dining but I also did not starve. I would recommend grabbing a bite at the airport and then heading over there to shower/sleep.

If stuck in Houston I would happily stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Auntbeast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
Reviewed 30 November 2011

Friendly staff, great rooms, free shuttle.
Two big thumbs up!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 October 2011

Very close to the airport yet very quiet. Friendly staff and decent breakfast. Comfortable beds and free wi-fi. Lots of parking.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank missmolly279
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2011

Stayed here when I had an overnight stop at IAH airport. It was my first time in the US so didn't know anything about the brand and to be honest I'd just chosen it because it was cheap. I arrived by taxi- the hotel is not far at all form the airport, perhaps 2 miles- and was greated by the friendly manager who assigned me a room. The room was more than enough for an overnight stop with a large, comfy bed, air conditioning and a decent bathroom. I had a good night's sleep and helped myself to the contintental breakfast the next morning before being taken via the free airport shuttle to the airport. Couldn't find a single fault with the whole experience.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jess O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Houston
6.6 km away
Ramada Houston Intercontinental Airport East
2.5 km away
Red Roof Inn Houston IAH Airport
8.1 km away
Baymont Inn & Suites Houston Intercontinental Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 km away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Houston Bush IAH South
3.0 km away
Holiday Inn Houston Intercontinental Airport
2.5 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Houston Intercontinental Airport South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Airway Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Airway Inn

Property: Airway Inn
Address: 2221 Greens Rd, Houston, TX 77032-1209 (Formerly Howard Johnson Houston)
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #385 of 517 Hotels in Houston
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,269 - ₹ 3,782
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Airway Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Airway Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing