We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfection !!”
Review of Java Lava Brew

Java Lava Brew
Ranked #1,080 of 8,997 Restaurants in Houston
Neighbourhood: The Museum District
Restaurant details
Neighbourhood: The Museum District
Reviewed 18 August 2019 via mobile

Day off and having a museum district day. Stopped by Java Lava Brew for my first ever visit. Ordered a mojito and chicken salad croissant. The drink was amazing!!!! And the chicken salad was perfection for me!! The waiter was super friendly and helpful. It had just rained so I didnt get to sit outside but loved the outdoor seating I’ll come back for that. Saw other patrons food and drinks and they looked absolutely delicious. Definitely coming back.

Date of visit: August 2019
2  Thank JLGlenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Write a reviewReviews (11)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 11 reviews

Reviewed 13 August 2019

We love this place. It’s has such a relaxing, welcoming vibe, and the food, cocktails, beer, and coffee selections are great. The outdoor and indoor spaces were carefully designed by owner and architect, Su, with input from his wife, Lynne. They have achieved in bringing to Houston, a Hawaiian island-type atmosphere, with the feel of Ohana (family).

The outdoor setting makes you feel as if you are in a tropical, beachy scene, with cool breezes provided by fans during the summer, and the warmth of cozy fire pits taking off the chill during the colder months. The outdoor tv makes this a favorite place to watch football and other sports. The indoors area is also comfortable, upbeat, pleasant, and good for meetings and events. We have attended several there.

Java Lava is also a great place to meet up with friends. Our sports team has adopted Java Lava as our venue for meetings, socializing, and reviewing technique/race strategy (we can hook up a laptop to the outdoor tv).

The owners and staff are genuinely warm and friendly, and definitely “give back” to the community, by hosting events to highlight the work of organizations such as the Galveston Bay Foundation. They also support budding engineers and local artists.

Now the food.... it is unique and unlike other places, is of high quality, and the portions are generous. After a hard workout, our fav is the Loco Moco plate, along with either a microbrew on tap or a passion fruit or pineapple soda. The Hanoi Coffee is perfect pre workout (it has protein, some fat, and carbs if you add sugar).

Everything, including the food and beverage selections, has been carefully thought out to bring island time and tastes of the world to the bustling Houston museum district. The coffee served is even from coffee beans, grown and hand-picked by the owners of Java Lava, Lynne and Su, who have a small coffee farm on Kona-Big Island of Hawaii. Like I said,

Date of visit: August 2019
2  Thank Departure599631
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 20 July 2019 via mobile

Stopped to have a beer walking back from Herman Park. The atmosphere was nice outdoor patio in the city, sufficient that we stayed and had dinner. Had Pulled Pork, tasty and spicy as I like. Service was fast and friendly.

Date of visit: July 2019
1  Thank EricM6603
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 8 June 2019 via mobile

In Houston for a wedding, walked to Java Lava Brew for breakfast. Had excellent mushroom omelet. Would definitely recommend.

Date of visit: June 2019
1  Thank Rose M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 22 April 2019 via mobile

We had breakfast here on a beautiful Saturday morning. Our meals were delicious (spam/egg croissant and Hawaiian pancakes with sausage), but it’d be great if real maple syrup is offered. I’m not a big coffee drinker, but the coffee is very good - not bitter at all. The outdoor seating made me want to lounge for hours. Next time we’ll try lunch or dinner!

Date of visit: April 2019
Thank alostyankee
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Travellers who viewed Java Lava Brew also viewed

Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Java Lava Brew? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing