We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Appalling dinner experience at a fine establishment”
Review of MF Sushi

MF Sushi
Reserve a table
2
Fri, 07/10
20:00
Ranked #344 of 8,992 Restaurants in Houston
Neighbourhood: The Museum District
Restaurant details
Neighbourhood: The Museum District
Reviewed 23 November 2020 via mobile

The experience at MF may satisfy one’s urge for good sushi. Uni from Hokkaido was applaudable. Otoro was cut properly.

Nevertheless, sushi rolls were forgettable and were as horrific as the managers. I was there to celebrate my birthday with a very close friend. Our server Will was a professional but the manager was deplorable. I had booked MF via opentable since I had good sushi experience at MF before.

However tonight, we were forced to move to two different tables on two occasions within 30 min to accommodate the walk-in Caucasian patrons. It was extremely racist and unjust to force us to move table two times during our meal to accommodate walk in Caucasian groups with the assumptions that they will pay more. Other Caucasian patrons were not asked to move at any rate.

We came for a fabulous experience and we left with a bitter pill in our mouth. On a side note, our wallet was not thin and our credit score was on top 1%. Who wanted to relocate to a new table table twice with a sad offer of a round of drinks?

We fully understood that maximizing money during Covid must be everything but reshuffling your very own Asian customers to different smaller tables within 30 min TWICE for milking profit from Caucasian customers is uncalled for.

We will never visit this place again and would recommend you to think twice to visit this deplorable establishment.

Date of visit: November 2020
7  Thank sffred2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Write a reviewReviews (45)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 45 reviews

Reviewed 25 October 2020 via mobile

We thoroughly enjoyed our dinner at this restaurant. Whether was because of the ambience of the restaurant, the excellent preparation and presentation, or the excellent staff—or all of it together—this restaurant stood out among other sushi restaurants we have visited around the world. What’s really unique that their 5 sushi chefs work out in the open on a low open counter so the restaurant clientele can see every step of the sushi making process. The food is pricey, but it’s worth the cost.

Date of visit: October 2020
2  Thank Skibumdude
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 12 February 2020

When you visit a place that has this kind of high end sushi, the mind naturally starts to wander wander and wonder: is this the best sushi in town? While I can't definitively call it #1, it HAS to be in the top 3, and many will consider it the best of the best. If you like sushi, this is an absolute required destination in Houston.

Date of visit: September 2019
1  Thank amarraval
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 22 August 2019

Extra everything. Service you expect for the price, Food quality you expect for the price. They cater to upscale diners. AND they deliver!
Kobe, Wagyu, real crab kane, and Lobster.

Date of visit: August 2019
1  Thank Mark E
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 14 June 2019

Beautiful Modern decor. Busy place but great service. Fantastic scallops as the appetizer and spicy yellowtail sushi! A bit pricey but well worth it!
Recommend!!

Date of visit: June 2019
Thank Armlis
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Travellers who viewed MF Sushi also viewed

Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to MF Sushi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing