We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Expensive & overrated mixed bag of fun and filth”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Great Wolf Lodge Grapevine
Ranked #7 of 17 Hotels in Grapevine
Dallas
Level Contributor
69 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Expensive & overrated mixed bag of fun and filth”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2012

Decided to do a staycation / birthday celebration for my son at the Great Wolf Lodge, as we had heard that it was so much fun. It's in our city but did feel like we were away while we were there. The decor and attractions are definitely impressive. The rooms and food on the otherhand were overprices and underwhelming. We booked a standard King suite (king bed and a pull out couch bed). The room overall was average and nothing special. Had to make sure to close the door on the bathroom or you would crush your kneecaps on the door. Bad design. The bedding was crunchy and the mattress was stiff - so don't expect much there. The food seemed like warmed up freezer items you would find at Sam's Club. The breakfast buffet was downright scary. The food was deppressing, cold sausage & bacon, undercooked eggs, and the worst pancakes I think I've ever had. Maybe they should hire some ex-army chefs as they don't really have this "cooking for the masses" thing down quite yet. Needless to say, we all had upset stomachs for the day - not fun racing in and out of the bathroom at a waterpark!
The waterpark itself was huge, humid and very clorinated. The rides were a blast and seemed like a kid paradise for sure. That was until the occasional shut down of an exhibit because someone pooped in the pool. This happened 3 times during one day! That's just dirty and wrong.
One day there was enough for us - we did leave exhausted and with a happy kid so thumbs up for that. But also left with a mystery rash, upset stomachs and over $500 in the hole. So I guess it depends on what you are looking for.

Destination vacation spot...hmmmm, I would think twice.
A one time visit (I'll take one for the team to make the kids happy).....ok. But come ready with wallet in hand and visine drops & pepto waiting in the room for you at night.

Room Tip: Don't stay on the first floor or second floors as they are the noisiest with kiddos running arou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank brashsassy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GWL_Management, General Manager at Great Wolf Lodge Grapevine, responded to this review, 7 June 2012
Thank you for the honest review. I am sorry to hear about the issues you experienced during your stay.

Your comments have been noted and shared with our Director of Food & Beverage, Director of Aquatics and Director of Housekeeping.

In regards to price, we do receive a lot of feedback from guests that they find a stay at Great Wolf to be of value because waterpark passes are include with the stay and you have access to the waterpark from 1pm the day of check in until close the day of check out. I am sorry you felt this was not the case for your stay.

Sincerely,
Jack Bateman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

4,005 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,493
    1,097
    763
    383
    269
See reviews for
3,619
23
6
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (459)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
oklahoma city, ok
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2012

My son LOVED great wolf lodge and to be truthful, his Dad and I had a nice time as well. The activities and waterpark were great- plenty to do- and that is what you are paying for.

The rooms are nice and clean, decorated for the kiddos but nice. The beds are VERY uncomfortable. My husband woke up with a pretty severe backache every morning.

The staff is kind and accommodating. They go out of their way to make your child feel special.

Prices for everything are outrageous. Seriously overpriced. Get the Paw Pass for your kid. It will save you about $100 for all the activities your child will want to do.

GO ELSEWHERE TO EAT. The food was bad and once again, overpriced. The breakfast buffet for two people cost just under $40. The food was similar to what you would have gotten at a Holiday Inn continental breakfast.

Also, go in the middle of the week. We had the whole place almost to ourselves until Friday night when the tour buses poured in. It became too crowded at that point to be able to do any of the activities.

Overall, we enjoyed our time and would go back if our kid asked to go again, we would just go in the middle of the week and eat somewhere else.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank soonerangel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bryan, TX
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2012

My husband and I took our 7 year-old niece over the busy Easter weekend and had a blast! If you are 48 inches tall you can ride on all of the slides alone. She was 49 inches tall and so was able to go on every slide. We especially enjoyed the slides where the 3 of us could ride together in one raft. She loved the 1,000 gallon bucket that dumped water. Lifeguards were awesome and very focused on their job. Plenty of towels were available. The cleaning staff did a great job as well.

She loved the MagiQuest game. Unfortunately, we were only able to stay one night so we didn't really have time to get deeply involved with the game, but she loved to wave the wand at the "magical" treasure chests and paintings.

It was pretty noisy until 11 pm so don't plan on falling asleep before then unless you bring earplugs. They really did enforce their posted 11 pm quiet rule so I really can't complain. Our room did not get cool enough for us even with the A/C up full blast.

The hotel was at full capacity during our trip and food services seemed a little overwhelmed. We did pack food for sandwiches and cereal so we ate in our room for most meals since there was a mini-fridge in our room. There was just too much to do and we wanted to eat quickly anyway.

Room Tip: You don't have to wait for the elevators as much if you are on one of the lower floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank carilyn79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2012

Great facilities, large room (which was surprisingly quiet given the number of kids running around). The rooms are expensive but if you consider that you can sleep an entire family in one room and you get access to the water park before you check in and after you check out, it is probably good value.

However, everything else you need (food and drink) and the stuff your kids think you need (magiquest, photos, stuffed wolves, etc, etc) will drain your wallet very quickly. If you arrive with the mindset that at the end of the stay you will be financially poorer but will have enriched your family life, you will be just fine.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms near the elevators. Too many kids playing magiquest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank muckleloon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
madisonville, tx
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2012

Great wolf was great!! We had a blast with our,4 grandchildren ages 6-10. We all had a great time and will do this again. The food was good and not really over priced. Service was also great. A must to go visit.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maxcelia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grapevine hotels
2.2 km away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Dallas DFW Airport North
2.5 km away
Hyatt Place Dallas/Grapevine
2.9 km away
Super 8 Grapevine/DFW Airport Northwest
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 km away
Hilton DFW Lakes Executive Conference Center
2.4 km away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#14 of 17 in Grapevine
4.0 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
1.8 km away
Courtyard Dallas DFW Airport North/Grapevine
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Great Wolf Lodge Grapevine? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great Wolf Lodge Grapevine

Property: Great Wolf Lodge Grapevine
Address: 100 Great Wolf Drive, Grapevine, TX 76051
Region: United States > Texas > Grapevine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Grapevine
Price range (per night): ₹ 16,146 - ₹ 28,367
Hotel Class:3 star — Great Wolf Lodge Grapevine 3*
Number of rooms: 402
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Great Wolf Lodge Grapevine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Great Wolf Hotel Grapevine
Great Wolf Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing