We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“OK for Leisure, some specifics to consider if business traveler” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Embassy Suites by Hilton Dallas DFW Airport North

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton Dallas DFW Airport North
Ranked #3 of 18 Hotels in Grapevine
Certificate of Excellence
California
Level Contributor
72 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“OK for Leisure, some specifics to consider if business traveler”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2012

I did 2 separate reviews for families and for business travelers.

Things to watch out in the next few months for all travellers:

If you arrive at DFW and are renting a car, beware there is a lot of construction through Sept 2012 with EXTREMELY POOR signage on the highway. Even though hotel is close to the North side of DFW, getting there is very difficult due to the construction, even with GPS.

REVIEW FOR FAMILIES:
For families, hotel is great, close to shopping center and movie theater 5 minutes by car/hotel shuttle.
Rooms are typical Embassy suites SUITES with a bedroom + a private living room area with work desk and sleeper couch. Flat TV's in each, bedroom and living room are rather small.
There is a daily charge to use the internet. You can avoid this charge if you are an ATT DSL customer and remember your login name and password.
Hotel has a small pool and jacuzzi great for kids. There is also an arcade that is not worth even walking into.. Outdated games and not good choices for any kids of any age. the arcade is located across from the elevators before you enter the pool area.

There is a Starbuck in the lobby only open from 7-11AM or similar hours.
Breakfast is standard Embassy suites. Included with room rate, and it is a good deal.

Good steak restaurant next door. Uncle Buck's. Food is great, service is average. There is water in the room for $3 a bottle. For extended stays, bring your own bottled water before checking in and save.

REVIEW OR BUSINESS TRAVELERS:

The business center here is not good. 2 computers and super slow internet or not working. The working desks and furniture in the rooms are vey good and comfortable. Internet in rooms worked great. Again, if you need to print a few items during your stay, this hotel may be a good choice. No Kinko's nor FedEx nor Office Depot nearby.
Hotel has conference meeting space. Beautiful grounds and meeting rooms.
ALL THE STAFF is great, from reception to Housekkeping to Banquet staff.
FREE PARKING!
I took precious time to write this review to help you make a better informed decision before booking your next stay. PLEASE take 3 seconds to indicate if this review was helpful. It would help me to know.

Thanks!

Room Tip: Thi higher floor rooms are better for view and newer furniture in some.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
20 Thank lalotp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

966 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    513
    255
    121
    48
    29
See reviews for
328
106
28
402
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
1,187 reviews
421 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 617 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2012

I stayed here a couple of nights on business in March 2012. I had a mixed experience -- there's a lot to like about the hotel, but it had some downsides too.

So, what did I like? Well, the hotel is pretty -- it's got a dramatic atrium, very nice decor, etc. My room was in good condition, with a reasonably (though not fantastically) comfortable bed, a nice desk with comfortable and adjustable chair, and above-average furnishings. All rooms are suites, of course, and the space is great. I think the rooms themselves are a notch above your average Embassy Suites property.

The location is fine. It's very suburban and very Dallas...but it's near several (mostly chain) restaurants and lots of shopping, etc. in Grapevine. It's reasonably close to DFW. Note, however, that rental car pickup is on the SOUTH side of DFW and this hotel is on the north side. So, if you rent a car, your trip to & from rental car pick-up/return will be longer than you might think for an airport hotel.

What did I not like? The front desk was consistently under-staffed. There was a long line to check-in (only one person was working), another long line to check-out (one person working). I had three packages delivered to the hotel. The front desk staff had to work to find them; once they were located, an agent on the phone told me, "they'll be right up." Well, 20 minutes passed with no package delivery. I called back and was told that "no bellman was available" and that's why I had to wait. Well, one, hire more bellman and two, if that's the case, don't tell me they'll be right up. They came about 15 minutes later.

I didn't have a great room service experience. My food came quickly and as requested, but was very bland.

The other thing isn't necessarily a dislike -- just a thing to be aware of. The hotel is VERY family-oriented. That's great for families -- I see why they like its space and location. As a business traveler, I found it a bit irritating: the fitness center/pool were full of kids (thus it was hard to squeeze in a workout), the business center computers were always occupied with people just surfing the internet, the elevators were full of kids riding up and down, and the complimentary happy hour was a flurry of people reaching for nut mix as if they hadn't eaten for days. That doesn't make this a bad hotel at all, just not perhaps the best choice for a business traveler.

So, average overall -- high quality rooms, service could use improvement, not a great business hotel but good for families.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brmusicman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monica H, Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Dallas DFW Airport North, responded to this review, 21 March 2012
Greetings from the Embassy Suites Grapevine Outdoor World!

We appreciate tremendously your post regarding your accommodations experience on Trip Advisor. We are very proud of our AAA 4 Diamond rating as we have maintained that status for the past 12 years and this is the level of service that we expect all of our guests to encounter.

I’m however saddened to learn that this wasn’t the case for a portion of your stay. It seems that we give you the perception of being understaffed and that wasn’t our intent. I’ve shared your comments with our executive chef regarding the service food appearing bland. I’ve also shared your feedback with our Front Office manager about the delayed on the delivery of boxes.

At our hotel, we strive to provide excellent service and we proudly serve all type of guests; corporate travelers and leisure guests. I can't say we serve more a leisure traveler than our corporate guests. It all depends on holidays, spring break; weather, etc…Our occupancy is totally dictated by our guests demands and we are grateful for it. We love them all.

Again I thank you for choosing our property and if you return to the Grapevine area I would love to have the opportunity to have you stay with us again, to show you that we can provide you with an excellent stay.

Sincerely,

Senior Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
College Station, Texas
Level Contributor
119 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2012

I stayed two nights and really enjoyed this hotel. Everything nicely appointed and food at breakfast was excellent. The evening manager's reception had more than the usual snacks and some healthy stuff too. Rooms are clean and have the usual (two flat screens, desk, etc). I would stay here again. wish American Airlines would offer this hotel more often when my flights get cancelled instead of some of the other options in the area.

Room Tip: West (better) or east views give you take off and landing aircraft from/to DFW in you are into that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CLLtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monica H, Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Dallas DFW Airport North, responded to this review, 20 March 2012
Greetings form the Embassy Suites Grapevine Outdoor World in Grapevine!

Our hotel staff would like to thank you for the kind comments regarding your accommodations experience on Trip Advisor. We hope to service you and your family in the near future!

Thank you for staying with us!

Hotel Senior Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2012

My family took a quick one-night getaway to Grapevine in March of 2012. We stayed in a nonsmoking two double bed suite and were very pleased with our experience. My children loved the indoor pool (it was still much too cold to swim outdoors) and the free breakfast buffet was a great added touch. They had a good selection of just about any basic breakfast item. Suite and bathroom were very clean and very comfortable, and the proximity to shopping and restaurants made it very convenient. Check in staff was quick, friendly and efficient. We asked for a crib after we arrived, and it was delivered to our room within fifteen minutes. If we return to Grapevine at any time other than summer (when my children would want an outdoor pool), we will definitely stay at the Embassy Suites.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TruTexasGrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monica H, Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Dallas DFW Airport North, responded to this review, 20 March 2012
On behalf of the hotel staff at the Embassy Suites Grapevine Outdoor World in Grapevine, we'd like to thank you for the kind comments regarding your accommodations experience on Trip Advisor. We hope to service you and your family in the near future!

Thank you for staying with us!

Hotel Senior Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
51 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2012

We enjoyed our stay at this location. We were visiting our grandchildren and wanted a good location: this worked very well. Great access to both the Grapevine aquarium and Legoland in the mall accross the street. It was spring break, so the hotel was full of children, not good for the business traveler, but great for reasons. We made reservations directly with the hotel, a good idea if you have any special requests. We booked two rooms and both were clean and what we expected.

Every member of the hotel staff did a great job, from the resevationist to check out. Rooms were comfortable and clean. Breakfast was very good, and adult and kid friendly. Nightly reception was very well presented, although we did not truely partake. (Grandkids wan't to swim).

Only one problem during our stay, one of the televsions began to act up, it was resolved by the front desk staff after mentioning it to them. Well done.

I have to tip my hat to the entire staff, we enjoyed our stay and have it on our list for future stays in the area.

Room Tip: Book a corner king, we enjoyed having the extra space, just further from the elevator than we care t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MEGDAVE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monica H, Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Dallas DFW Airport North, responded to this review, 20 March 2012
Greetings from the Embassy Suites Grapevine Outdoor World!

We appreciate you for taking the time out of your busy day to post your accommodations experience on Trip Advisor. We always strive for perfection and it seems we achieve that and more during your stay.

We hope your travels bring you back to our hotel in the near future! Thank you for staying with us!

Senior Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grapevine hotels
0.4 km away
Hilton DFW Lakes Executive Conference Center
0.7 km away
Courtyard Dallas DFW Airport North/Grapevine
0.7 km away
Hampton Inn and Suites Dallas - DFW Airport North / Grapevine
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Hyatt Place Dallas/Grapevine
0.5 km away
Homewood Suites Dallas - DFW Airport N - Grapevine
5.0 km away
Super 8 Grapevine/DFW Airport Northwest
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Dallas DFW Airport North? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Dallas DFW Airport North

Property: Embassy Suites by Hilton Dallas DFW Airport North
Address: 2401 Bass Pro Dr, Grapevine, TX 76051-2043
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Grapevine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Grapevine
#6 Business Hotel in Grapevine
#8 Family Hotel in Grapevine
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,683 - ₹ 20,220
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Dallas DFW Airport North 3.5*
Number of rooms: 329
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Embassy Suites by Hilton - DFW Airport North is located in the heart of the Dallas Fort Worth metropolitan area just 1.5 miles north of the Dallas Fort Worth International Airport. Guests will be treated to sophisticated service in any of our 329 two room suites. With 20,000 square feet of meeting space, groups will experience the AAA 4-diamond hallmark service for which we are known. Nearby historic Grapevine features six wine tasting rooms and antique shopping on Main Street. Connected to the hotel is the world renowned Bass Pro Shop. It's a wonderful and convenient side trip for the outdoor sports enthusiast. Grapevine Mills Mall offers over 200 specialty stores, restaurants and entertainment venues. Tucked between the cities of Dallas and Fort Worth, Grapevine is central to museums, sporting events and landmark venues for leisure guests and large groups. Embassy Suites Outdoor World is a member of Hilton Honors program. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Dallas DFW Airport North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Grapevine
Grapevine Embassy Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing