We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Natalie L

Wonderful Birthday Trip

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 6 Apr 2023
This was our second time to stay at the B&B. It was so great to see David and Melissa again. They are truly wonderful hosts and the breakfasts are still fantastic! Melissa's avocado toast with homemade bread was to die for! Thanks so much for the warm welcome back and thanks so much for the surprise birthday cake waiting for us when we got back from dinner! Looking forward to our third stay.
Date of stay: March 2023
Room Tip: All rooms are upstairs so be prepared to climb a few stairs
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Melissa Reitz, Owner at Blue Heron Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review
Responded 11 Apr 2023
It was so good to get time to visit with you both again! We love having you out and truly enjoy your company. It is a blessing to get the opportunity to serve. We look forward to seeing you both again soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
Exterior
₹14,840
  • Hilton Garden Inn
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
1.2 km from Blue Heron Bed and Breakfast
Free Wifi
Free parking
₹11,702
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Wyndham
    ₹11,702
2.4 km from Blue Heron Bed and Breakfast
Free Wifi
Free parking
₹10,348
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Comfort Suites
    ₹10,347
2.5 km from Blue Heron Bed and Breakfast
Free Wifi
Free parking
₹7,299
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Wyndham
    ₹7,299
2.1 km from Blue Heron Bed and Breakfast
Free Wifi
Free parking
₹7,455
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
2.5 km from Blue Heron Bed and Breakfast
Free Wifi
Free parking
₹19,880
₹18,685
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Skyscanner.com
1.2 km from Blue Heron Bed and Breakfast
Free Wifi
Free parking
₹16,515
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    ₹16,515
  • Skyscanner.com
0.7 km from Blue Heron Bed and Breakfast
Free Wifi
Restaurant
₹11,544
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • HIExpress.com
    ₹11,543
2.8 km from Blue Heron Bed and Breakfast
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • Official Site
    ₹27,368
  • Priceline
0.4 km from Blue Heron Bed and Breakfast
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • Choice Hotels
    ₹8,094
  • Priceline
2.4 km from Blue Heron Bed and Breakfast
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Granbury
Reviews (25)
Filter reviews
25 results
Traveller rating
25
0
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
25
0
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews breakfast was amazing birthday weekend old house spent one night location was perfect wonderful hosts get away lake granbury next morning melissa gazebo frisbee lakeview property celebration
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 25 reviews
Reviewed 11 February 2023

We stayed in the Lakeview room for a quick one night getaway for an early Valentines’s Day retreat. The en-suite room was as beautiful as the web pictures. The room had a connecting balcony overlooking Lake Granbury and the beautiful backyard and gazebo. The room was warm and comfortable. The furnishings were as comfortable as they were beautiful. Everything in the room was thoughtfully placed for us as guests. In the morning, Melissa and Dave made us a sumptuous, gourmet breakfast that we enjoyed thoroughly. We will definitely stay there again whenever we go to Granbury!

Date of stay: February 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Judypoolhoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Melissa Reitz, Owner at Blue Heron Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2023

Thank you for your kind words! We try to make every stay 5 stars! Are gardens are all started so we will be doing farm-to-table again soon. Fresh is the best. We look forward to you next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2023 via mobile

Arrived late on Friday. Greeted by hosts at 8pm helped with luggage and getting us in our room.
Room is up 3 flights of stairs but very nice and worth the hike. The house is so unique and cozy. The sitting areas are like being at home. The property around it is beautiful with view of lake and plenty of room to walk off breakfast or throw Frisbee to dogs.
We slept well and the breakfast the next morning was terrific and 5 star along with the service.
They kept snacks out like candied pecans, ginger cake and oatmeal chocolate cookies with lemon water.

I wouldn't hesitate to come back for a special event.

Thanks David and Melissa

Room tip: Bring an appetite and have fun.
Date of stay: January 2023
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank hhowler
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Melissa Reitz, Owner at Blue Heron Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2023

Thank you for your kind words! It was such a pleasure getting to know you both better and the opportunity to serve. We look forward to having you out again. Many blessings, Melissa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2022

This was a great getaway with my wife. We had so much fun. The couple who oversees the property is wonderful and warm. We will definitely come back. Beautiful area. Many places to shop and walk. Lovely destination

Date of stay: December 2022
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank AdamWade10
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Melissa Reitz, Owner at Blue Heron Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2022

Thank you so much1 It was a blessing to serve you both!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2022 via mobile

David and Melissa were outstanding hosts. This was our first stay in a B & B and it was a super getaway. Kinda like staying with relatives you hadn’t seen for awhile only much more relaxing.
The property sits right on lake Granbury and a lot of TLC has gone into making the 100+ year old house a comfortable stay. It sits on approximately 2 acres of well kept grounds with several outdoor areas to sit and just relax. Our second day included a break in the Texas summer heat and we greatly enjoyed the sitting area by the lake at sundown as well as our private patio in the morning with coffee. Overall a very enjoyable experience and we look forward to a future stay.

Room tip: Lots of places to eat and things to keep you busy. Unfortunately, lots of places are closed early in the week, particularly on Mondays.
Date of stay: September 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Kerry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Melissa Reitz, Owner at Blue Heron Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2023

We enjoyed having you out. It is fun meeting new people all the time. Maybe next time we can walk to the square with you - it is nice being that close!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2022

We wish our time at the Blue Heron B&B could have been longer, but even just an afternoon check-in, overnight and next day 11 am check out, we felt truly rested and pampered so much it felt like several days of vacation! Hosts Melissa and David were delightful, welcoming and expressing their interest in making our stay just right. When asked, they openly shared about their special get-away and the vision of how they continue to keep the property a special place for guests as well as their own family. Breakfast was amazing with homemade quiche, coffee or tea, fruit and side vegetables, some from their garden. We felt fortunate to have booked mid-week when they weren't totally full and get to share breakfast with them along at the table. Rooms are comfortably appointed and practical with all the right touches of personal and boutique-like care. We wished we'd had more time to just sit on the deck over the lake and watch the turtles, fish and other nature around us. It was such a lovely setting and we have already recommended it to some of our relatives as the perfect getaway. Treat yourself to the quiet of their neighborhood and wonderful setting away from the hustle and bustle.

Room tip: There are tubs with showers in 2 of the 3 rooms available. Only Lakeview is a shower-only but has king bed & balcony.
Date of stay: August 2022
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jerene W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Melissa Reitz, Owner at Blue Heron Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2022

Thank you so much! We love spoiling our guests and making them feel at home. Thankful you were able to get much needed rest, even for one day. We look forward to having you back. Many blessings, Melissa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews